Home Races
Martin Pipe Handicap Hurdle
Betway Horse Racing UK EN £  banner
(Conditional Jockeys)
Cheltenham 16:50
£65,000 added, 4yo plus,
2m 4f 110y, Class 2
Friday 16th March 2018

There’s a great deal of uncertainty about which horses will actually start this race, with several also holding entries for other contests such as the County Hurdle. Therefore, it is definitely one to look for value in with our ‘Non Runner No Bet’ offer.

The race was established in 2009 and honours the career of Martin Pipe Senior, who retired in 2006 after a long and glittering career as a trainer. It is restricted to conditional jockeys and is a race that Willie Mullins has had plenty of success in. He’s saddled 3 of the 9 winners – Sir Des Champs (2011), Don Poli (2014) and Killultagh Vic (2015).

Hunters Call is likely to head straight to the Cheltenham Festival after the eight-year-old made a winning debut for trainer Olly Murphy in a big Ascot handicap before Christmas and the Wilmcote handler is now favouring skipping the February 10 contest in order to arrive fresh for the Festival in March. 

Hunters Call
© Racehorse Photos
Hunters Call

Murphy said: "All being well, Hunters Call will head straight to the Cheltenham Festival. He will have an entry in the Betfair Hurdle, but he has gone up another 9lb and it is not easy to win two big handicaps, let alone three, and while the Betfair has great prize money, there is only one Cheltenham Festival." 

He went on: "I just feel if he ran well at Newbury and went up another 5lb or 6lb, it would hinder our chances of having a horse with a live chance at the Cheltenham Festival 

"He will have entries in the Coral Cup, Martin Pipe and County Hurdle and we will make a plan nearer the time.

"I would certainly not be worried about stepping him up in trip. As soon as Jack Kennedy got off him at Ascot, he said the Coral Cup is the race he would go for.

"There are lots of options at Cheltenham and I will sit down with the owners and discuss things over the next six weeks."

Only 5 and 6-year-olds have won the Martin Pipe, so far. In terms of the Festival as a whole, it is definitely one of the lower-key encounters but some very good horses sit at the top of our ante-post market. They include Jenkins, Maestro Royal, Ben Dundee, Poli Roi, Minella Awards, Coole Cody and Coeur De Lion.

Top Pick: Poli Roi – 20/1 Non-Runner No Bet!

Martin Pipe Conditional Jockeys' Handicap Hurdle 2017
£65,000 added, 4yo plus, 2m 4f 110y, Class 2
23 ran
Going: Good

Pos D Horse SP Jockey Weight Trainer Age
1st Champagne Classic (IRE) 12/1 J J Slevin
G Elliott 6
2nd Verni (FR) 25/1 Thomas Cheesman
P J Hobbs 8
3rd Runfordave (IRE) 9/1 D Meyler
G Elliott 5
4th ½ Coo Star Sivola (FR) 13/2 Lizzie Kelly
Nick Williams 5
5th nk Thomas Campbell 20/1 Ned Curtis
N J Henderson 5
6th Born Survivor (IRE) 33/1 Bridget Andrews
D Skelton 6
7th 6 No Comment 15/2 C Gethings
P J Hobbs 6
8th 3 Battleford 9/2f A W Short (5)
W P Mullins 6
9th Dadsintrouble (IRE) 14/1 Harry Cobden
Tim Vaughan 7
10th hd Castello Sforza (IRE) 11/1 Jonathan Moore
W P Mullins 6
11th Tommy Silver (FR) 20/1 Stan Sheppard
P F Nicholls 5
12th 6 Taglietelle 20/1 Cian Collins (3)
G Elliott 8
13th ¾ Doesyourdogbite (IRE) 33/1 Killian Moore
Jonjo O'Neill 5
14th s.h Massini's Trap (IRE) 100/1 Kieron Edgar
J Nash 8
15th ½ Remiluc (FR) (ex5) 50/1 Harry Reed (3)
C Gordon 8
16th Lac Fontana (FR) 20/1 Jack Sherwood
P F Nicholls 8
17th hd Pain Au Chocolat (FR) 100/1 Lewis Gordon (5)
D Skelton 6
18th 13 Dell' Arca (IRE) 33/1 David Noonan
D Pipe 8
19th s.h Ballyhill (FR) 80/1 Jamie Bargary
N A Twiston-Davies 6
20th 48 Catamaran Du Seuil (FR) 33/1 Charlie Hammond (5)
Dr R D P Newland 5
PU I Shot The Sheriff (IRE) 20/1 S A Shortall
A J Martin 10
F Gibralfaro (IRE) 50/1 Thomas Bellamy
A King 5
UR Rather Be (IRE) 10/1 Charlie Deutsch
N J Henderson 6
NR Protek Des Flos (FR) 20/1 Jack Savage (5)
N J Henderson 5

Martin Pipe Conditional Jockeys’ Handicap Hurdle Previous Results

2016-WINNER-IBIS DU RHEU 5-11-07 Owner-John Hales; Trainer-Paul Nicholls; Jockey-Jack Sherwood; SP-14/1
2ND-Flying Angel 5-11-06 Owner-R J Renton; Trainer-Nigel Twiston-Davies; Jockey-Ryan Hatch; SP-8/1
3RD-Sky Khan 7-11-03 Owner-The Ormello Way; Trainer-Lucinda Russell; Jockey-Derek Fox; SP-50/1
4TH-Tully East 6-11-08 Owner-Barry Connell; Trainer-Alan Fleming IRE; Jockey-Shane Shortall; SP-50/1
24 ran, Time-4m 51.70s; Dist-1¼, 1¼, 6 9/4 Fav Squouateur (7th)

2015-WINNER-KILLULTAGH VIC 6-11-01 Owner-Rose Boyd/B Anderson/Mrs M Armstrong; Trainer-Willie Mullins IRE; Jockey-Luke
Dempsey; SP-7/1
2ND-Noble Endeavour 6-11-06 Owner-Chris Jones; Trainer-Gordon Elliott IRE; Jockey-Kevin Sexton; SP-14/1
3RD-Roi Des Francs 6-11-05 Owner-Gigginstown House Stud; Trainer-Willie Mullins IRE; Jockey-David Mullins; SP-3/1 Fav
4TH-Kauto Grand Mogol 7-11-01 Owner-J C Delamere/D McCorkell/H Catherwood; Trainer-Liz Doyle IRE; Jockey-Jody McGarvey; SP-33/1
21 ran, Time-5m 3.10s; Dist-hd, 4½, 6

2014-WINNER-DON POLI 5-11-05 Owner-Gigginstown House Stud; Trainer-Willie Mullins IRE; Jockey-Mikey Fogarty; SP-12/1
2ND-Thomas Crapper 7-10-05 Owner-apis.uk.com; Trainer-Robin Dickin; Jockey-Joseph Palmowski; SP-10/1
3RD-Caid Du Berlais 5-11-05 Owner-Donlon, Doyle, MacDonald & C Barber; Trainer-Paul Nicholls; Jockey-Harry Derham; SP-9/1
4TH-Urbain De Sivola 6-10-06 Owner-Chris Giles; Trainer-Paul Nicholls; Jockey-Andrias Guerin; SP-33/1
24 ran, Time-4m 48.58s, Dist-4½, 1¼, 1¾ 9/2 Fav Full Shift (11th)

2013-WINNER-SALUBRIOUS 6-11-05 Owner-The Johnson & Stewart Families; Trainer-Paul Nicholls; Jockey-Harry Derham; SP-16/1
2ND-Nagpur 7-11-00 Owner-Miss S Douglas-Pennant; Trainer-Venetia Williams; Jockey-Tom Cannon; SP-33/1
3RD-Double Ross 7-11-06 Owner-Options O Syndicate; Trainer-Nigel Twiston-Davies; Jockey-Adam Wedge; SP-14/1
4TH-Make Your Mark 6-10-08 Owner-Gigginstown House Stud; Trainer-Willie Mullins IRE; Jockey-Declan Lavery; SP-8/1
23 ran, Time-5m 18.60s, Dist-7, 1, 3¾ 9/4 Fav Gevrey Chambertin (PU)

2012-WINNER-ATTAGLANCE 6-11-03 Owner-H Young, G Eifert, R Snyder; Trainer-Malcolm Jefferson; Jockey-Harry Haynes; SP-20/1
2ND-Toner D’Oudairies 5-11-01 Owner-Gigginstown House Stud; Trainer-Gordon Elliott IRE; Jockey-Keith Donoghue; SP-7/1
3RD-Oscar Nominee 5-10-13 Owner-Michael Buckley; Trainer-Nicky Henderson; Jockey-David Bass; SP-10/1
4TH-Make A Track 6-10-12 Owner-Gigginstown House Stud; Trainer-Charlie Swan IRE; Jockey-Ben Dalton
24 ran, Time-4m 51.6s, Dist-nk, nk, 1½ 9/2 Fav Bourne (9th)

2011-WINNER-SIR DES CHAMPS 5-11-03 Owner-Gigginstown House Stud; Trainer-Willie Mullins IRE; Jocket-Emmet Mullins; SP-9/2 Fav
2ND-Son Of Flicka 7-11-06 Owner-Twenty Four Seven Recruitment; Trainer-Donald McCain; Jockey-Henry Brooke; SP-28/1
3RD-First Point 8-11-07 Owner-The Third Pheasant Inn Partnership; Trainer-Nicky Henderson; Jockey-David Bass; SP-20/1
4TH-Indian Daudaie 4-11-03 Owner-Timeform Betfair Racing Club & Clive Smith; Trainer-Paul Nicholls; Jockey- James Cowley; SP-25/1
23 ran, Time-4m 55.22s; Dist- ½, 2, 4

2010-WINNER-PAUSE AND CLAUSE 6-11-10 Owner-Robert Cohen; Trainer-Emma Lavelle; Jockey-Johnny Farrelly; SP-14/1
2ND-Radium 5-11-04 Owner-Simon Munir; Trainer-Nicky Henderson; Jockey-Harry Skelton; SP-14/1
3RD-Clova Island 7-11-00 Owner-Mrs Peter Prowting; Trainer-Philip Hobbs; Jockey-Giles Hawkins; SP-14/1
4TH-Peveril 6-11-03 Owner-Trevor Hemmings; Trainer-Nicky Henderson; Jockey-David Bass; SP-5/1 24 ran, Time-5m 5.25s; Dist-3¼, 1¼, 2¾ 9/2 Fav Ashkazar (7th)

2009-WINNER-ANDYTOWN 6-11-02 Owner-Richard & Lizzie Kelvin Hughes; Trainer-Nicky Henderson; Jockey-Felix de Giles; SP-25/1
2ND-Midnight Chase 7-11-00 Owner-Lady Clarke; Trainer-Neil Mulholland; Jockey-Michael O’Connor; SP-100/1
3RD-Big Eared Fran 6-11-02 Owner-Thomas Barr; Trainer-David Pipe; Jockey-Johnny Farrelly; SP-7/2 Fav
4TH-Font 6-10-11 Owner-Mr & Mrs R Nevison & Mr & Mrs Ged Mason; Trainer-Paul Nicholls; Jockey-Harry Skelton; SP-14/1 23 ran, Time-4m 58.52s; Dist-9, 7, 2

Free Racing Tips