JLT Reve De Sivola Long Walk Hurdle
Grade 1, Ascot 14:25
£100,000 added,
4yo plus,
3m 1f 110y, Class 1  
Saturday 23rd December 2017

William Hill Offer Club

Mar 31 Ascot Racecourse has announced that this year's Grade One Long Walk Hurdle, to be run on December 23rd, will be run as the JLT Reve De Sivola Long Walk Hurdle.

Reve De Sivola
© Racehorse Photos

Reve De Sivola
Reve De Sivola won the Long Walk three times; in 2012, 2013 and 2014.

He was a familiar and much loved staple of the Christmas racing calendar and ran in the Long Walk on five occasions, latterly last December.

Guy Henderson, Chief Executive at Ascot, said:

"It was tragic to hear that we had lost Reve De Sivola at Kelso last weekend. Horses like him are the backbone of the jumping game, appearing year after year, and Reve De Sivola will always be remembered as a jumping legend here at Ascot. Under sad circumstances we, and sponsors JLT, are delighted to be naming the Long Walk in his memory this year. We will also carry a tribute in this Sunday's racecard and of course in December, when we will re-live his triumphs on Ascot TV."

Paul Duffy co - owner of Paul Duffy Diamond Partnership, welcomed the news:

"The messages and tributes received over the last week have shown to the owners how much Reve meant to the racing public. Combined with the sadness of loss is the reminder of fortune at owning such a brave and determined competitor. Thank you, Ascot, and the sponsors, JLT, for the honour of letting Reve be remembered by sharing the stage once more at his favourite racecourse."

JLT Long Walk Hurdle 2016
£100,000 added, 4yo plus, 3m 97y, Class 1
11 ran
Going: Good to Soft

Pos D Horse SP Jockey Weight Trainer Age
1st Unowhatimeanharry 6/5f B J Geraghty
H Fry 8
2nd Lil Rockerfeller (USA) 8/1 N D Fehily
N B King 5
3rd 14 Un Temps Pour Tout (IRE) 16/1 T Scudamore
D Pipe 7
4th Ptit Zig (FR) 8/1 Sam Twiston-Davies
P F Nicholls 7
5th 2 Alex De Larredya (FR) 5/1 D A Jacob
F Nicolle 6
6th 16 Reve De Sivola (FR) 33/1 D J Mullins
Nick Williams 11
7th ½ Zarkandar (IRE) 20/1 Sean Bowen
P F Nicholls 9
8th 3 Shelford (IRE) 66/1 Harry Skelton
D Skelton 7
9th 21 Surtee Du Berlais (IRE) 66/1 L P Aspell
O Sherwood 6
F Ballyoptic (IRE) 8/1 R Johnson
N A Twiston-Davies 6
UR West Approach 40/1 T J O'Brien
C L Tizzard 6

Race run as a handicap prior to 1971
(run at Newbury in 2009, Chepstow in 2005 and Windsor in 2004)

Year Winner Age/Wt Owner Trainer Jockey SP

2011 BIG BUCK’S 8-11-07 The Stewart Family Paul Nicholls AP McCoy 3/10F
2010 BIG BUCK’S 7-11-07 The Stewart Family Paul Nicholls AP McCoy 2/13F
2009 BIG BUCK’S 6-11-07 The Stewart Family Paul Nicholls Ruby Walsh 1/2F
2008 PUNCHESTOWNS 5-11-07 Judy Wilson Nicky Henderson Barry Geraghty 3/1F
2007 LOUGH DERG 7-11-07 W Frewen David Pipe Tom Scudamore 14/1
2006 MIGHTY MAN 6-11-07 Joss Hanbury Henry Daly Richard Johnson 11/8F
2005 MY WAY DE SOLZEN 5-11-07 B Windfield, A Longman, J Wright, C Fenton; Alan King Robert Thornton 12/1
2004 BARACOUDA 9-11-07 J P McManus Francois Doumen FR Tony McCoy 8/13F
2003 BARACOUDA 8-11-07 J P McManus Francois Doumen FR Thierry Doumen 2/7F
2002 DEANO’S BEENO 10-11-07 Axom Martin Pipe Tony McCoy 14/1
2001 BARACOUDA 6-11-07 J P McManus Francois Doumen FR Thierry Doumen 2/5F
2000 BARACOUDA 5-11-07 Roger Barby Francois Doumen FR Thierry Doumen 11/4
1999 ANZUM 8-11-07 Old Foresters P’ship Alan King Richard Johnson 4/1
1998 PRINCEFUL 7-11-07 Robert Hitchins Jenny Pitman Richard Dunwoody 11/4F
1997 PADDY’S RETURN 5-11-07 Paddy O’Donnell Ferdy Murphy Norman Williamson 8/1
1996 OCEAN HAWK 4-11-07 Matt Archer/Jean Broadhurst Nigel Twiston-Davies Carl Llewellyn 7/1
1995 SILVER WEDGE 4-11-07 Shirley & Bill Robins Oliver Sherwood Jamie Osborne 7/1
1994 HEBRIDEAN 7-11-07 Peter Deal David Nicholson Adrian Maguire 100/30
1993 SWEET DUKE 6-11-07 Andy Mavrou Nigel Twiston-Davies Carl Llewellyn 7/2
1992 VAGOG 7-11-07 M A Swift Martin Pipe Martin Foster 15/2
1991 Abandoned due to frost
1990 FLOYD 10-11-07 Mike Walsh David Elsworth Graham Bradley 10/1
1989 ROYAL ATHLETE 6-10-08 Gary Johnson Jenny Pitman Dean Gallagher 33/1
1988 FRENCH GOBLIN 5-11-01 Maurice Pinto Josh Gifford Peter Hobbs 3/1
1987 BLUFF COVE 5-10-08 Dickins Ltd Reg Hollinshead Richard Dunwoody 14/1
1986 OUT OF THE GLOOM 5-10-08 Paul Green Reg Hollinshead Peter Scudamore 4/1
1985 MISTY DALE 7-10-08 David Rose Jenny Pitman Phil Tuck 9/4F
1984 KRISTENSON 7-10-08 Ursula Fantasia Roger Fisher Michael Williams 7/2
1983 CRIMSON EMBERS 8-10-11 Pam Smart Fulke Walwyn Stuart Shilston 14/1
1982 MAYOTTE 7-10-11 B Davies Richard Holder Paul Richards 15/8F
1981 Abandoned due to snow
1980 DERRING ROSE 5-11-11 Peter Savill Fred Winter John Francome 7/1
1979 JOHN CHERRY 8-10-11 Milton Ritzenberg Tom Jones Steve Smith Eccles 6/1
1978 KELSO CHANT 6-11-07 Mrs M Richardson Jumbo Wilkinson Steve Charlton 10/1
1977 JOHN CHERRY 6-10-11 Milton Ritzenberg Tom Jones Steve Smith Eccles 11/8F
1976 Abandoned due to frost
1975 LANZAROTE 7-12-05 Lord Howard de Walden Fred Winter John Francome 4/9F
1974 GO BINGO 5-11-12 Guy Reed Sam Hall David Munro 9/4
1973 SOLONING 8-11-08 Mrs C Thornton Fred Winter Richard Pitman 9/2
1972 HIGHLAND ABBE 6-11-12 Mrs K Hankey Les Kennard Mr R Smith 11/1
1971 ST PATRICK’S BLUE 6-11-12 P Aunger David Tatlow Bill Smith 7/2F
1970 ROUGE AUTUMN 6-10-05 Bryan Jenks Fred Rimell Ken White 9/2F
1969 CANDID CAMERA 6-10-06 R F P Ross Ted Goddard Joe Guest 100/8
1968 Abandoned due to waterlogging
1967 Abandoned due to foot and mouth epidemic
1966 SIR EDWARD 6-10-09 R Heaton Ryan Price Josh Gifford 7/2F
1965 MINUTE GUN 8-10-04 Bill Shand Kydd Bill Shand Kydd Richard Pitman 100/8