AES Champion 4yo Hurdle
Grade 1, Punchestown 16:25
€100,000 added,
4yo, 2m, Class 1  
Saturday 30th April 2016

1 Apple's Jade 8/13F
2 Let's Dance 9/2
3 Ivanovich Gorbatov 3/1
NR: Jer's Girl (IRE)
5 ran Distances: 9l, hd, 14l
TIME 3m 59.80s (slow by 14.80s)

Apple's Jade makes all to comprehensively land the Four Year Old Hurdle

Apple’s Jade
© Racehorse Photos

Apple’s Jade
Apple's Jade, a 41-length winner at Aintree on her previous start, again looked an outstanding mare when capturing the Grade 1 AES Champion Four Year Old Hurdle by nine lengths.

"She won at Leopardstown over Christmas and then I wasn't really able to train her between then and Cheltenham," said winning trainer Willie Mullins. "I'd say Cheltenham put her just right for Aintree but I wasn't sure she could recover from that win at Aintree. She set a good pace, we weren't going to mess around with her. She could go to France next and she will stay hurdling next season. We've got a good team for next year!"

Owner Michael O'Leary admitted his preference for racing geldings and added: "I've not much time for fillies, apart from the one I'm married to, I prefer the geldings but I'm very happy to have one nice filly!"

Winning rider Bryan Cooper said: "She is very smart. It wasn't ideal to make the running - I know she stays well but she is only a four-year-old filly and it's hard to make it for the older horses. She was very impressive. We went a good gallop and she quickened twice - she quickened off the bend down to the fourth last and again off the bend into the straight. She is smart and one to look forward to next year."

AES Champion Four Year Old Hurdle (Grade 1)
€100,000 added, 4yo only, 2m, Class 1
5 ran
Going: Good to Yielding

Pos D Horse SP Jockey Weight Trainer Age
1st Apple's Jade (FR) 8/13f B J Cooper
W P Mullins 4
2nd 9 Let's Dance (FR) 9/2 R Walsh
W P Mullins 4
3rd hd Ivanovich Gorbatov (IRE) 3/1 B J Geraghty
A P O'Brien 4
4th 14 Tocororo (IRE) 33/1 J W Kennedy
G Elliott 4
5th 18 Cap d'Aubois (FR) 16/1 P Townend
W P Mullins 4
NR Jer's Girl (IRE) 10/1 M P Walsh
G P Cromwell 4

Year Horse Age/Wt Owner Trainer Jockey SP
2015 Petite Parisienne 4-10-07 Gigginstown House Stud Willie Mullins Bryan Cooper 11/4 Fav
2014 Abbyssial 4-11-00 Mrs Violet O’Leary Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 15/2
2013 Diakali 4-11-00 Wicklow Bloodstock Ltd Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh Evs Fav
2012 Hisaabaat 4-11-00 Dr Ronan Lambe Dermot Weld IRE Andrew Lynch 4/1
2011 Grandouet 4-11-00 Simon Munir Nicky Henderson GB Barry Geraghty 5/2
2010 Barizan 4-11-00 Peter Conway Evan Williams GB Jason Maguire 4/1
2009 Jumbo Rio 4-11-00 Patrick Wilmott Edward O’Grady Andrew McNamara 5/2
2008 Won In The Dark 4-11-00 Gerard Crehan Sabrina Harty Davy Russell 4/1
2007 Punjabi 4-11-00 Raymond Tooth Nicky Henderson GB Mick Fitzgerald 6/4 Fav
2006 Quatre Heures 4-11-00 John Mc’s Winchester Synd. Willie Mullins Mick Fitzgerald 9/2
2005 United 4-10-09 R B Holt Lucy Wadham GB Leighton Aspell 6/1
2004 Cherub 4-11-00 Atlantic Joinery Ltd Jonjo O’Neill GB Tony Dobbin 14/1
2003 Sporazene 4-11-00 Ged Mason/David Jackson Paul Nicholls GB Ruby Walsh 7/1
2002 Quazar 4-11-00 David Carr Jonjo O’Neill GB Tony Dobbin 9/2 Fav
*2001 Holy Orders 4-11-00 John J Brennan Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 7/1
2000 Topacio 4-11-00 Pearse Racing Club Pat Hughes Charlie Swan 10/1
1999 Katarino 4-11-00 Robert Waley-Cohen Nicky Henderson GB Mick Fitzgerald 7/4 Fav
1998 Zafarabad 4-11-00 Elaine Baines David Nicholson GB Richard Johnson 2/1 Fav
1997 Grimes 4-11-00 J P McManus Christy Roche Conor O’Dwyer 5/2
1996 Shaunies Lady 4-10-09 D Coughlan Aidan O’Brien A P McCoy 10/1
1995 Shaihar 4-11-00 Des Sharkey Michael O’Brien Kevin O’Brien 16/1
1994 Glenstal Flagship 4-11-00 Joe Crowley Aidan O’Brien Charlie Swan 6/1
1993 Shawiya 4-10-09 Miss G Maher Michael O’Brien Charlie Swan 11/4
1992 Staunch Friend 4-11-09 Benny Schmidt-Bodner Mark Tompkins GB Steve Smith Eccles 6/1
1991 Mounamara 4-11-04 David Brennan Paddy Mullins Tommy Carmody 6/1
1990 Orbis 4-11-06 Mrs C Shubotham Jim Bolger Tommy Carmody 7/4 Fav
1989 Royal Derbi 4-11-09 J Lockhart Neville Callaghan GB Graham McCourt 7/1
1988 Allen’s Mistake 4-11-03 Allen Paulson Dermot Weld Brendan Sheridan 5/2
1987 Grabel 4-11-00 P Kehoe Paddy Mullins Tony Mullins 8/1
1986 Derrymore Boy 4-11-03 N Grant Paddy Mullins Tony Mullins 9/2
1985 Atherstone 4-11-03 G Blair Noel Meade Paul Leech 25/1
1984 Clarinbridge 4-11-06 P Barrett Jim Bolger B Nolan 9/2 Jt Fav
1983 Grateful Heir 4-11-00 Mrs J O’Brien Liam Browne Mr Dermot Browne 20/1
1982 Bustineto 4-11-08 Timothy Kinsella Mick O’Toole Niall Madden 4/6 Fav
1981 Tie Anchor 4-11-01 Daniel Hale Paddy Prendergast Tom Morgan 3/1
1980 Pearlstone 4-10-13 William W Brainard Jun. Paddy Mullins Sean Treacy 11/2
*Run at Fairyhouse

Free Racing Tips