Grand National 2016 Fact Files
Crabbie's Grand National

Ballycasey (IRE) 9-10-06


Owner: Susannah Ricci

Grand National Record:
2011 The Midnight Club (6th)
2012 The Midnight Club (11th)
2014 Vesper Bell (13th)
2015 Ballycasey (HMP & UR 8th)

© Caroline Norris

Trainer: Willie Mullins

Grand National Record:
2000 Micko’s Dream (FELL 1st)
2002 Alexander Banquet (UR 6th)
2004 Alexander Banquet (FELL 18th), Hedgehunter (FELL 30th)
2006 Hedgehunter (2nd)
2007 Hedgehunter (9th), Homer Wells (PU 22nd), Bothar Na (PU 29th), Livingstonebramble (UR 6th)
2008 Snowy Morning (3rd), Hedgehunter (13th)
2009 Snowy Morning (9th), Irish Invader (11th)
2010 Snowy Morning (6th), Arbor Supreme (UR 15th)
2011 The Midnight Club (6th), Dooney’s Gate (Fell 6th), Arbor Supreme (FELL 28th)
2012 The Midnight Club (11th), Quiscover Fontaine (FELL 17th), On His Own (FELL 22nd)
2013 Quiscover Fontaine (16th), Quel Esprit (PU 24th), On His Own (FELL 25th)
2014 Vesper Bell (13th), Prince De Beauchene (16th)
2015 Ballycasey (HMP & UR 8th)


Ballycasey was brought down at the Canal Turn when in midfield on the first circuit in 2015 Crabbie’s Grand National when a 25/1 chance.

His career highlight came when beating this year’s Timico Cheltenham Gold Cup hero Don Cossack by four lengths in the Grade 1 Dr P J Moriarty Novice Chase at Leopardstown in February 2014. Ballycasey’s sole victory since came in a 2m 4f chase at Gowran Park in November, 2014.

His dam is out of a half-sister to 1995 Grand National winner Royal Athlete. Ballycasey is yet to win beyond 2m 6f, but has been placed over 3m on several occasions.

Last seen out when a staying-on fifth in the Grade 3 Brown Advisory & Merriebelle Stable Plate over 2m 5f at the Cheltenham Festival on March 17th, 2016.

The most recent of three greys to win was Neptune Collonges in 2012. Before that were Nicolaus Silver (1961) and The Lamb (1868 & 1871).

Race record
Ballycasey has won a third of his 18 starts, being placed on four further occasions.

Starts: 18
Wins: 6
2nd: 1
3rd: 3
Total win and place prize money: £132,774