Cheltenham Festival News
Wednesday 19th February 2014
Boodles Leading Jockey Award

This year’s Leading Jockey Award at The Festival will be sponsored by the London jeweller Boodles. The award, which recognises the jockey with the most wins across the four days of The Festival, will be presented during the meeting, once the winner of the award is so far ahead that they cannot be overtaken.

Ruby Walsh has won the Leading Jockey Award seven times in the last ten years
© Caroline Norris

Ruby Walsh

Michael Wainwright, Managing Director of the British family-owned fine jeweller, commented: “Boodles are delighted to be involved with The Festival for the first time.

“We have a long relationship with horseracing, having sponsored the three days of the Chester May meeting for some years and we have also created the Grand National trophies for many years.

“Although my own racehorse, trained by Tom Symonds, is not quite up to Festival class, I am passionate about Jump racing. We also know that many of our clients who buy Boodles fine jewellery are very keen racegoers and, for me, The Festival is the pinnacle of all UK horseracing Flat or Jump.

“We hope that the Leading Jockey Award will be fiercely-contested by all the top names in the game.”

Carey Buckler, Regional Sponsorship Manager for the South West region of Jockey Club Racecourses, added: “I am delighted that Boodles are partnering with the Leading Jockey Award for this year. Although they are previous sponsors within racing, they have not partnered with Cheltenham before and I’m sure that they will find it very rewarding.

“This year’s Boodles Leading Jockey Award will provide an interesting narrative throughout the week.”

Horses 468x60 Jpg

Previous winners of the Leading Jockey Award are:

2013 Ruby Walsh (4)
2012 Barry Geraghty (5)
2011 Ruby Walsh (5)
2010 Ruby Walsh (3)
2009 Ruby Walsh (7)
2008 Ruby Walsh (3)
2007 Robert Thornton (4)
2006 Ruby Walsh (3)
2005 Graham Lee (3)
2004 Ruby Walsh (3)
2003 Barry Geraghty (5)
2002 Richard Johnson (2)
2000 Mick Fitzgerald (4)
1999 Mick Fitzgerald (4)
1998 Tony McCoy (5)
1997 Tony McCoy (3)
1996 Richard Dunwoody (2)
1995 Norman Williamson (4)
1994 Charlie Swan (3)
1993 Charlie Swan (4)