The Prestbury Cup

Tuesday 10th - Friday 13th March 2020


The standings at the end of Day 4:

Great Britain 11, Ireland 16, France 1
Mullins takes home the Paddy Power Prestbury Cup for Ireland
Trainer Willie Mullins accepted the Paddy Power Prestbury Cup, the annual trophy for the winning most country, between Britain and Ireland at The Festival™ presented by Magners, after the running of the fifth race, the St James's Place Foxhunter Chase
Mullins commented: "Well it had to won by someone, it couldn't be a draw with the French winning on Wednesday. I am very happy and delighted to bring it back to Ireland in a year when we have had so many winners."


The Irish Independent Leading Trainer Award - 
Trainer                                                1st                2nd             3rd
WILLIE MULLINS IRE                        7                  7                  6
Gordon Elliott IRE                              7                  7                  4
Nicky Henderson                                4                  1                   1
Henry de Bromhead IRE                    2                  2                  1
Harry Whittington                              1                   1                   1
Paul Nicholls                                       1                   1                   -
Kim Bailey                                          1                   -                   -
David Bridgwater                               1                   -                   -
David Cottin FR                                 1                   -                   -
Rebecca Curtis                                   1                   -                   -
Eugene O'Sullivan IRE                       1                   -                   -
Paul Webber                                       1                   -                   -
Joseph O'Brien IRE                            -                   1                   2
Paul Nolan IRE                                    -                   1                   1
Philip Hobbs                                       -                   1                   -
Richard Hobson                                 -                   1                   -
Kerry Lee                                            -                   1                   -
Henry Oliver                                       -                   1                   -
Ben Pauling                                        -                   1                   -
David Pipe                                          -                   1                   -
Matthew Smith IRE                            -                   1                   -
Mick Channon                                     -                   -                   2
Colin Tizzard                                      -                   -                   2
Charles Byrnes IRE                             -                   -                   1
Gavin Cromwell IRE                           -                   -                   1
Tom George                                       -                   -                   1
Warren Greatrex                                -                   -                   1
Phil Kirby                                            -                   -                   1
Rose Loxton                                       -                   -                   1
Noel Meade IRE                                  -                   -                   1
Dan Skelton                                        -                   -                   1

Trainers Quotes

Named after the nearest village to Cheltenham Racecourse, the Paddy Power Prestbury Cup will be presented to jockeys and trainers from Ireland or Britain once the winning country is confirmed. The Cup itself sealed with some hallowed Cheltenham turf, so the winning country will be taking a little bit of Cheltenham with them.
The trophy was first awarded in 2014, when Great Britain came out on top. Great Britain was again on top in 2015 but this was followed by three consecutive victories for Ireland, including a comprehensive 19 to 9 success in 2017. Last year saw the first tie, with 14 wins for each country. 
The Paddy Power Prestbury Cup - Irish-trained successes at The Festival 
2019-14 (28 races) Draw
2018-17 (28 races) Ireland win
2017-19 (28 races) Ireland win
2016-15 (28 races) Ireland win
2015-13 (27 races) Great Britain win
2014-12 (27 races) Great Britain win
Paul Mallon, Paddy Power's head of brand marketing for horse racing and Ireland, said: "Given the firm but friendly rivalry between Great Britain and Ireland at The Festival and Paddy Power's longstanding relationship with Cheltenham Racecourse, sponsoring the Prestbury Cup was a very easy decision for us to make. 
"It sits perfectly our Paddy Power Stayers' Hurdle sponsorship and further cements our partnership with the Home of Jump Racing."
Paul Binfield, racecourse ambassador for Paddy Power, said: "Day one ended with a narrow advantage for Great Britain but with three days of The Festival remaining, there is still all to play for in the Paddy Power Prestbury Cup. 
"May the best team come out on top."
Carey Weeks, regional head of partnerships for Jockey Club Racecourses South West, added: "The return of Paddy Power to sponsorship at Cheltenham in 2020 has been very welcome. 
"The Prestbury Cup sponsorship will ensure that the Paddy Power brand gains further exposure during The Festival and perfectly complements the company's s backing of the G1 Paddy Power Stayers' Hurdle on Thursday."
Paddy Power, previously long-term backer of the Paddy Power Gold Cup at The November Meeting, returned to sponsorship at the Home of Jump Racing at the start of 2020 by sponsoring races on New Year's Day and again on Festival Trials Day, when the G2 Paddy Power Cotswold Chase was won by leading Magners Cheltenham Gold Cup candidate Santini. 
The company sponsors at The Festival for the first time on Thursday, 12 March by supporting the £325,000 G1 Paddy Power Stayers' Hurdle.

Free Racing Tips