Investec Derby Entries - 2011 

home Epsom Derby

Free Racing Tips

[an error occurred while processing this directive] epsom derby 2011 /


Carlton House Heads 13 for Investec Derby

Carlton House has been declared for the Investec Derby at Epsom on Saturday.

Carlton House
© Racehorse Photos

Carlton House

The Queen's colt has been the long-time favourite for the premier Classic, but doubts over his participation arose after he developed swelling in his near-fore leg.

Sir Michael Stoute's Dante Stakes winner suffered the setback during a work-out on Monday. However, he remains in contention for the mile-and-a-half Flat highlight after cantering on Thursday morning and has been drawn in stall 13.

Thirteen horses have been declared, with Andre Fabre's Prix Greffulhe winner Pour Moi having also stood his ground.

Aidan O'Brien saddled Galileo (2001) and High Chaparral (2002) to win successive renewals of the Derby and again has a typically strong hand.

Ballydoyle's two major hopes are Dante runner-up Seville and Derrinstown Stud Derby Trial winner Recital. O'Brien also saddles Memphis Tennessee and Treasure Beach.

Native Khan, Ed Dunlop's 2000 Guineas third, steps up in distance and will be ridden for the first time by Johnny Murtagh.

Ocean War
© Racehorse Photos

Ocean War

Godolphin rely on Mahmood Al Zarooni's Ocean War, while Alain de Royer-Dupre's Vadamar was beaten into third by Pour Moi at Saint-Cloud but renews rivalry at Epsom. Dante third Pisco Sour, Castlemorris King, Marhaba Malyoon and Masked Marvel complete the field.

There were no surprises among the four withdrawals, with Casamento, Genius Beast and Roderic O'Connor poised to run in Sunday's French Derby. Nathaniel has also been scratched after John Gosden warned conditions are likely to have been too fast.




Class 1, Group 1, £1,250,000 Total Prize Fund, 4.00pm, Epsom Downs, Saturday, June 4, 2011. For three-year-olds only, entire colts & fillies, one mile, four furlongs and 10 yards. Entries closed December 1, 2009 (444 entries). First scratchings deadline noon, March 1, 2011 (125 remained), £8,000 secondary entry stage noon, April 5, 2011 (12 extra entries received), second scratchings deadline noon, May 19, 2011 (22 remain), £75,000 supplementary entry & five-day confirmation stage, noon, May 30, 2011, final declaration stage 10am, June 2, 2011. Form figures supplied by Weatherbys and are correct up to and including the racing of Wednesday, May 18 , 2011. May not include some overseas form.

Form Horse Owner Trainer

21-1 CARLTON HOUSE (USA) The Queen Sir Michael Stoute

0560-5 CASTLEMORRIS KING C O'Connell Michael Attwater

1-6 MARHABA MALYOON (IRE) Ahmad Al Shaikh David Simcock

16-51 MASKED MARVEL Bjorn Nielsen John Gosden

5(1)-2 MEMPHIS TENNESSEE (IRE) Sue Magnier, Michael Tabor & Derrick Smith Aidan O’Brien IRE

114-13 NATIVE KHAN (FR) Vefa Ibrahim Araci Ed Dunlop

5-11 OCEAN WAR Godolphin Mahmood Al Zarooni

0(1)120-3 PISCO SOUR (USA) Michael Kerr-Dineen Hughie Morrison

01-31 POUR MOI (IRE) Sue Magnier, Michael Tabor, Derrick Smith Andre Fabre FR

11-31 RECITAL (FR) Sue Magnier/Michael Tabor/Derrick Smith/Eduard Mordukhovich Aidan O’Brien IRE

212-2 SEVILLE (GER) Michael Tabor, Derrick Smith & Sue Magnier Aidan O’Brien IRE

21123-1 TREASURE BEACH Derrick Smith, Sue Magnier, Michael Tabor Aidan O’Brien IRE

61-13 VADAMAR (FR) H H Aga Khan Alain de Royer Dupre FR


13 entries remain at June 2nd final declaration stage

tumpline internet home | associations | bloodstock agents | bookmakers | links | information | jockeys | portals | racecourses | race horse trainers | sales | studs | syndicates | submit site
© • 91 Tribune Drive • Carlisle • CA3 0LE