Investec Derby Entries - 2017

Betting Gods - Professional Sports Tipsters And Betting Experts

Saturday 3rd June 2017

416 entries for £1.5 million Investec Derby in 2017

Dec 09 The 2017 Investec Derby, with increased prize money of £1.5 million, has attracted 416 yearling entries.

The 2017 renewal of the Investec Derby will be the 238th running of the world's most famous Flat race and Britain's premier Classic.

The great race, for three-year-old colts and fillies, takes place at Epsom Downs Racecourse on Saturday, June 3, 2017.

The yearling entry stage is one of three ways in which to enter a horse for the Investec Derby. Horses can also come in at the second entry stage on April 7, 2017 (costing £9,000) and at the supplementary entry stage on May 29, 2017 (costing £85,000). The fee for a yearling entry for the 2017 Investec Derby was £560.

Three of the last four Investec Derby winners have been owned by Coolmore syndicates involving Sue Magnier, Michael Tabor and Derrick Smith - Camelot (2012), Ruler Of The World (2013) and Australia (2014).

2013 winner Ruler Of The World
© Racehorse Photos
Ruler Of The World

There are 59 entries with Coolmore connections for the 2017 Investec Derby including a full-brother to Ruler Of The World, as well as a son of Japanese superstar Deep Impact. High-priced yearlings purchased this autumn also feature among the Coolmore contingent including a 1.25 million guineas Galileo colt out of Alluring Park, a full-brother to 2012 Investec Oaks heroine Was, and a US$900,000 War Front colt purchased at Keeneland.

Godolphin, responsible for the 1995 Derby winner Lammtarra, has 54 entries split among trainers in Britain, France and Ireland, including a 2.6 million euro colt by Dubawi out of Group Three winner Pacifique, who is in training with Andre Fabre.

Other owners previously successful in the Investec Derby with entries include Hamdan Al Maktoum (32 entries), Khalid Abdullah (17 entries), the Aga Khan (15 entries), Ballymacoll Stud (5 entries), Saleh Al Homaizi & Imad Al Sagar (3 entries) and the Royal Ascot Racing Club (1 entry).

Qatar Racing Limited has made 13 entries, including a 1.2 million guineas colt out of 2010 1000 Guineas runner-up Jacqueline Quest and a 1.2 million euro Galileo colt out of Sent From Heaven.

The Investec Derby is the only British Classic that Her Majesty The Queen has not tasted victory in. There are two Royal entries for the 2017 renewal, a Galileo colt out of Group Two winner Memory named Call To Mind and a Shamardal colt named Frontispiece.

Investec co-founder and managing director Bernard Kantor is responsible for four entries, three of whom are owned in partnership with Markus Jooste.

Frankel may not have run in the Investec Derby but he features prominently as a stallion with 24 yearlings from his first crop appearing among the entries, including a 750,000 yearling colt out of dual Group One winner Dar Re Mi, who is one of 13 entries for Al Shaqab Racing and a 700,000 yearling colt out of Group One-producing dam Tariysha, who is owned by Hamdan Al Maktoum.

Galileo, the 2001 Derby winner who has sired three Investec Derby winners, is the most-represented stallion with 63 entries, followed by Dubawi (33 entries), Shamardal (26), Frankel (24), New Approach (2008 Derby winner, 22), Nathaniel (20), Dansili (17), Sea The Stars (2009 Derby winner, 15), High Chaparral (2002 Derby winner 14) Teofilo (14) and Cape Cross (12).

Other previous Investec Derby winners with progeny entered are the 2006 hero Sir Percy (4), 2011 victor Pour Moi (3) and Sinndar (3), who took the honours in 2000. Look Here, who captured the 2008 Oaks, is represented by a Dansili colt for her owner-breeder Julian Richmond-Watson.

Local Epsom interest is provided by trainer Simon Dow, who has two entries, a colt by Australian stallion Lonhro and another by 2008 Investec Derby winner New Approach. The last Epsom-trained horse to win a Derby staged at Epsom Downs was April The Fifth in 1932, although Straight Deal, also trained in Epsom, won a wartime substitute race at Newmarket in 1943.

There is one filly among the entries, by four-time Ascot Gold Cup hero Yeats. It is over a century since a filly was successful in the Epsom Derby, while the last to be placed was Nobiliary, runner-up to Grundy in 1975.

Andrew Cooper, Jockey Club Racecourses' London Region Head of Racing and Clerk of the Course at Epsom Downs Racecourse, commented: "The level of yearling entries for the 2017 Investec Derby has passed the 400-mark, which is our annual target.

"The 2017 Investec Derby will have increased prize money of £1.5 million (up from £1.325 million) and we are grateful for the continued support of owners, both large and small, for the yearling entry stage.

"Epsom Downs Racecourse, owned by The Jockey Club, has made a serious commitment to maintaining the Investec Derby as Britain's richest race and it is satisfying to see so many regally-bred yearlings among the entries for the 2017 renewal."

The yearling entry numbers for the Investec Derby in recent years have been as follows:

Click here for a full list of entries for the 2017 Investec Derby

Breakdown of entries by selected owners with past successes in the Investec Derby

59 entries
Coolmore (Sue Magnier, Derek Smith, Evie Stockwell, Michael Tabor & partnerships) - 2001 Galileo, 2002 High Chaparral, 2012 Camelot, 2013 Ruler Of The World, 2014 Australia

54 entries
Godolphin - 1995 Lammtarra

32 entries
Hamdan Al Maktoum - 1989 Nashwan, 1994 Erhaab

17 entries
Khalid Abdullah - 1990 Quest For Fame, 1993 Commander In Chief, 2010 Workforce

15 entries
H H Aga Khan - 1981 Shergar, 1986 Shahrastani, 1988 Kahyasi, 2000 Sinndar

14 entries
Niarchos Family/Flaxman Stables Ireland Ltd

13 entries
Al Shaqab Racing
Qatar Racing Limited

9 entries
Highclere Thoroughbred Racing/Bermuda Thoroughbred Racing

5 entries
Ballymacoll Stud Farm (2004 North Light)

4 entries
Moyglare Stud Farm
George Strawbridge
Bernard Kantor (three owned in partnership with Markus Jooste)

3 entries
Saleh Al Homaizi & Imad Al Sagar (2007 Authorized)
Lady Bamford
Bjorn Nielsen
Ken & Sarah Ramsey

2 entries
Her Majesty The Queen

1 Entry
China Horse Club
The Royal Ascot Racing Club (2005 Motivator)

Free Racing Tips