Investec Derby Trial
Conditions Race, Epsom 14:45
£50,000 added,
3yo only,
1m 2f 18y, Class 2   
Wednesday 26th April 2017

Free Racing Tips

1 Cracksman 4/6F
2 Permian 11/2
3 Bay Of Poets 14/1
8 ran Distances: shd, 1¾l, 3½l
Time: 2m 10.73s (slow by 5.73s)

© Racehorse Photos

Cracksman just got up on the line to take his unbeaten record to two in the Investec Derby Trial at Epsom.

The highly-touted Frankel colt, trained by John Gosden, would have been an unlucky loser as he had to be switched by Frankie Dettori to make his challenge as Permian went for broke.

Franny Norton set sail for home on Mark Johnston's charge and it looked like the son of Teofilo would prevail, but Dettori did not give up on Cracksman.

Improving with every stride, he whittled away at the deficit and the 4-6 favourite was finally in front where it mattered as he got the verdict by a short head.

Bay Of Poets was third, another length and three-quarters away.

Gosden was winning a third consecutive renewal of the Derby Trial, having struck with Christophermarlowe in 2015 and So Mi Dar last season. 

Cracksman carries the black and white silks made famous by Golden Horn, the 2015 Derby and Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe hero. He is trading at around odds of 12-1 about winning the premier Classic back at Epsom on June 3.

BC GAME is currently one of the most prominent Bitcoin casinos, having launched in 2017, they are excited to announce that they are now the primary sponsors of Leicester City Football Club.

Investec Derby Trial (Conditions Race)
£50,000 added, 3yo only, 1m 2f 18y, Class 2
7 ran
Going: Good, Good to Firm in places

Pos Dr D Horse Jockey Weight Trainer Age
1st (3) So Mi Dar 3/1 L Dettori
J H M Gosden 3
2nd (1) nk Humphrey Bogart (IRE) 12/1 S M Levey
R Hannon 3
3rd (8) Viren's Army (IRE) 10/1 P J Dobbs
R Hannon 3
4th (2) Claudio Monteverdi (IRE) 5/6f R L Moore
A P O'Brien 3
5th (4) ¾ Percy Street 25/1 D C Costello
K R Burke 3
6th (6) Beaverbrook 16/1 James Doyle
M Johnston 3
7th (9) 2 Top Beak (IRE) 10/1 J Fortune
H Morrison 3
NR (5) Kingston Kurrajong 33/1 David Probert
A M Balding 3
NR (7) Prince Of Arran 25/1 Non Runner
C Fellowes 3