racing news  

rss feed racing news /


Seven Up for Ayr Racecourse

Magnificent seven! Ayr Racecourse has been voted Racecourse of the Year 2010 for Scotland and the North East by The Racegoers Club for an incredible seventh consecutive year.

© Grossick Racing Photography

Ayr finishing post

Ayr's great run began back in 2004 the first full year current owners Alan Macdonald and Richard Johnstone were in charge and Scotland's premier track has won the award every year since.

Huge improvements have taken place at the track over the past seven years including the new £4.5 million Ayrshire Suite, the introduction on new fine dining restaurants including the Roman Warrior and the Chancellor Carvery. And there's also been huge changes made to the Parade Ring and Winners Enclosure plus the creation of the Champagne Lawn and Gardens the perfect place to be on a hot summer's day !

The honour from The Racegoers Club is highly valued by the team at Ayr as it comes from a Club whose 6,500 members are all active racegoers . Ayr has now won the award 17 times since 1990.

Lindsey Smith, Sales and Marketing Manager at Ayr Racecourse, said: “We are so pleased to have won this award which underlines our status as one of the top racecourses in the UK.

“To have won the award seven times is a great feather in our cap and we thank everyone at the Racegoer's Club for voting for us.”

To find out more about racing at Ayr you can visit or call 01292-264179.

tumpline internet home | associations | bloodstock agents | bookmakers | information | horses | jockeys | links | overseas | portals | racecourses | race horse trainers | sales | studs | syndicates | submit site email
© • 91 Tribune Drive • Carlisle • CA3 0LE