Tanya Stevenson
Tanya Stevenson's Racing UK Blog
Wednesday 19th August 2015

Racing UK

The time has come to have your say

Many column inches and much airtime will be afforded to York’s Juddmonte International

Instead of adding to the huge throng of admirers of the race, I’ve decided to divert the attention to the newly formed Horserace Bettors Forum. 

The racing industry thrives on differing and varied opinions and here’s a massive chance to voice yours. 

Previous incarnations of the BHA would never have entertained the idea of possibly the most important and relevant faction of the racing and betting industry having a say. 

Too long has the racing industry presumed what the customer and punters want. Instead we have been force fed with a “take or leave it” scenario, and in fairness for the most part the morsels are attractive and worth the place in the “take it” pigeonhole. 

At this point I feel very fortunate to be considered, let alone sit on the panel, however in the full understanding that I’m the conduit for your frustrations, feedback, constructive criticisms, praise, ideas and solutions, there is no longer an excuse to say “if only”. 

This is your chance and not one to squander, plus I am minded not to underestimate the responsibility of the Forum. Please post your comments and suggestions below!

Over the years when I was a production secretary for Channel 4 Racing I fielded thousands of emails on a variety of subjects and take that knowledge and experience with me, along with all the conversations and discussions I’ve had from standing up on a pitch in the 1980s to the turn of the millennium and then reporting from the betting ring. 

Please continue to approach as every piece of feedback is invaluable.  There are other methods of contact for the forum, there is an email address (BettingForum@britishhorseracing.com) to send in your ideas in addition to a Twitter handle.

5/1 Golden Horn
or Money Back if You Lose + up to £100 in Free Bets
Betfair New Customer Exclusive

Others on the Forum have been proactive on social media and are duly respected for their thoughts, diplomacy, and are plugged into the feelings of the vast diversity of punters. 

The cynics and sceptics need to be disproved, and that is as much down to the BHA as it is the Forum to make sure the voice will not only be heard but acted upon when and where deemed relevant and appropriate. 

There are sure to be tricky subjects broached, which are ordinarily taboo or misunderstood.  But perhaps the inability to acknowledge there are issues and problems that have to be conquered will be the first small victory.  

I’ll say it again. There is a need for the customer, punter, Racing UK member, to have a voice and when you do its up to the authorities to listen.

For the present all roads lead to York and may the Juddmonte International live up to expectations and unravel into the race we all crave despite the rain up here!

sports.betway.com/en/horse-racing-betting-site Welcome Bonus Offer Betway

Tanya Stevenson's Wednesday Ebor Festival tip:

3.05 York: Tashaar


Tanya Stevenson's Wednesday pointers:

York has never been Mark Johnston’s lucky course. In 2012 he only had one winner from 45 runners and 2013 was no different. Of his 50 runners at the Knavesmire only one won. Last year he tripled his tally to three from 48 and so far this year he has had five winners from 26. The tide may be turning.

1.55 York - Symphony Group Handicap

Kevin Ryan is hoping for his third straight win in the race.

Four of the six winners ran at the Dante Meeting at York.

Four of the six winners ran at Glorious Goodwood; three in the Stewards’ Cup and Tax Free ran in the Stewards’ Sprint.

There have been no three-year-old winners.

All six winners carried over 9-0

2.30 York - Tattersalls Acomb Stakes:

The last 20 runnings have seen some racing greats compete: Grand Lodge third in 1993, Pentire third 1994, King’s Best won in 1999, Rule Of Law won, Araafa second in 2005 and The Grey Gatsby second in 2014

Celestial Halo finished fifth in the 2006.

Fifteen of the last 20 winners won on their most recent start.

Six of the last ten winners came into the race unbeaten.

Sixteen of the last 20 winners came into the race having finished no worse than third in their career

Sixteen of the last 20 winners came from the first two in the betting.

3.05 York - Betway Great Voltigeur Stakes:

Frankie Dettori has won the race five times; 1992 Bonny Scott, 1997, Stowaway, 1998 Sea Wave, 2004 Rule Of Law and 2010 Rewilding. Today he rides Tashaar.

Since Powerscourt won for Aidan O’Brien in 2003, the trainer has had 16 runners in the race including two favourites (10 below 10-1) and all have been beaten.

Only six of the last 20 winners had run in the Derby. This year attempting to defy the record Storm The Stars and Giovanni Canaletto 

Eight of the last 20 St Leger winners ran in the Great Voltigeur (1997 Silver Patriach second, Mutafaweq fourth in 1999, Milan won in 2001, Bollin Eric was third in 2002, Brian Boru second in 2003, Rule Of Law won in 2004, Lucarno won in 2007 and Encke was third in 2012) 

Five of the last 10 winners took in Royal Ascot.

3.40 York - Juddmonte International:

Aidan O’Brien has won the race on five occasions: 2000 Giant’s Causeway, 2008 Duke Of Marmalade, 2010 Rip Van Winkle, 2013 Declaration Of War and last year Australia.

Aidan O’Brien has had 29 runners in the Juddmonte International with five winners and three seconds. 

Aidan has had the favourite in the Juddmonte seven times winning with four of them.

Frankie Dettori has won the Juddmonte International on five occasions: 1996 Halling, 1997 Singspiel, 2001 Sakhee, 2004 Sulamani, 2007 Authorized. This year he rides Golden Horn

Six three-year-olds have won the Juddmonte International in the last 30 years: 1990 In The Groove, 1992 Rodrigo de Triano, 2000 Giant’s Causeway, 2007 Authorized, 2009 Sea The Stars and 2014 Australia.

Since 1993 ten Coral-Eclipse winners have come on to run in the Juddmonte International and six have won: 2009 Sea The Stars, 2003 Falbrav, 2000 Giant’s Causeway, 1996 & 1995 Halling, 1994 Ezzoud.

Seventeen of the last 20 winners of the Juddmonte International have come from the first three in the betting, 12 were favourite.

Seventeen of the last 20 winners of the Juddmonte International had won a Group One (2006 Notnowcato, 2001 Sakhee, 1998 One So Wonderful had yet to claim a Group 1) (13 winners had won at least Two Group Ones)

Eighteen of the last 20 winners of the Juddmonte International had won over at least ten furlongs previously (2010 Rip Van Winkle and 2012 Frankel claimed their first victory at the trip)

Sixteen of the last 20 winners of the Juddmonte International finished no worse than third on their most recent start.

Seven of the last ten winners had run in either the Prince Of Wales’s of Queen Anne Stakes at Royal Ascot en route to York – Golden Horn and his pacemaker Dick Doughtywylie have swerved Royal Ascot.

Over the last 20 years only four horses have won having raced in a previous Juddmonte: 1994 Ezzoud, 1996 Halling, 2008 Duke Of Marmalade & 2011 Twice Over – The Grey Gatsby is bidding to add his name to the list.