Marsh Chase
horse racing tipster
Grade 1, Aintree 15:30
£250,000 guaranteed,
5yo plus,
2m 3f 200y, Class 1   
Friday 14th April 2023

1 Pic D'Orhy 4/1
2 Fakir D'Oudairies 15/8F
3 Minella Drama 14/1
7 ran Distances: 4¼l, 2¾l, 19l
Time: 5m 2.41s (slow by 10.41s)

Champion trainer Paul Nicholls posted his first winner of this year’s Grand National meeting at Aintree with an assured display from Pic D’Orhy.

Twice a winner at Grade Two level earlier in the season, the eight-year-old was last seen chasing home Thursday’s Aintree Bowl hero Shishkin in the Ascot Chase in February.

Nicholls deliberately sidestepped last month’s Cheltenham Festival to keep his charge fresh for Aintree and was handsomely rewarded as Pic D’Orhy secured his first Grade One success.

Always moving powerfully behind the pacesetting Minella Drama Harry Cobden’s mount moved to the front between the final two obstacles and soon put clear daylight between himself and his rivals.

Fakir D’Oudairies, bidding for a record third victory in the two-and-a-half-mile contest, briefly threatened to throw down a serious challenge approaching the last fence, but Pic D’Orhy showed no signs of stopping and was ultimately good value for the winning margin of four and a quarter lengths.

Marsh Melling Chase
£250,000 guaranteed, 5yo plus, 2m 3f 200y, Class 1
7 ran
Going: Soft

1    Pic D'Orhy 8 11-10 Paul Nicholls Harry Cobden 4/1
Fakir D'Oudairies 8 11-10 Joseph O'Brien Mark Walsh 15/8F
Minella Drama 8 11-10 Donald McCain Brian Hughes 14/1
19 French Dynamite 8 11-10 M F Morris Darragh O'Keeffe 7/1
Fugitif 8 11-10 Richard Hobson Sean Bowen 11/1
31 Hitman 7 11-10 Paul Nicholls Lorcan Williams 6/1
PU Millers Bank 9 11-10 Alex Hales Kielan Woods 13/2

Horses 468x60 Jpg

Melling Chase - Previous Winners

2022 Fakir D'Oudairies
2021 Fakir D'Oudairies
ABANDONED due to Covid-19
2019 Min
2018 Politologue
Fox Norton
God's Own
2015 Don Cossack
2014 Boston Bob
2013 Sprinter Sacre
Caroline Mould Nicky Henderson 07-11-10 Barry Geraghty 1/3F
2012 Finian’s Rainbow Michael Buckley Nicky Henderson 09-11-10 Barry Geraghty 13/8F
2011 Master Minded Clive Smith Paul Nicholls 08-11-10 Ruby Walsh 11/2

Free Racing Tips