Sodexho Silver Cup

Listed Handicap Chase, Ascot 15:00
£100,000 added,
4yo plus,
3m, Class 1  
Saturday 19th December 2015

1 Wakanda 8/1
2 Virak 14/1
3 Fingal Bay 6/1
NR: Seefood (IRE)
13 ran Distances: 1l, ¾l, 1½l
TIME 6m 7.70s (slow by 24.70s)

Gritty Wakanda grinds out Silver Cup success

© Racehorse Photos

Sue Smith celebrated her 1,000th winner as a trainer after Wakanda completed a hat-trick in the Sodexo Silver Cup at Ascot.

The improving six-year-old followed up victories at Wetherby and in the Rehearsal Chase at Newcastle with another hard-fought success in the three-mile Listed prize.

Having been at the head of affairs from flag-fall, the 8-1 chance looked set to be swallowed up by a host of rivals on the run down to the penultimate fence.

Not one for relenting, Wakanda continued to find extra in reserves to hold off the fast-finishing Virak by a length, with Hennessy fourth Fingal Bay a further three-quarters of a length away in third.

Smith said: "We are delighted with him.

"The horse has improved so much. He is a very economical jumper and him and Danny Cook are like coffee and cream.

"He is a very tough, game little horse. He is going to have a break now as he as run three times and won three times.

"He will probably come back in February time but there is nothing mapped out for him.

"He does need soft ground, though."


Sodexo Silver Cup Handicap Chase (Listed)
£100,000 added, 4yo plus, 2m 7f 180y, Class 1
13 ran
Going: Good to Soft, Soft in places

Pos D Horse SP Jockey Weight Trainer Age
1st Wakanda (IRE) 8/1 Danny Cook
Mrs S J Smith 6
2nd 1 Virak (FR) 14/1 Harry Cobden (7)
P F Nicholls 6
3rd ¾ Fingal Bay (IRE) 6/1 R Johnson
P J Hobbs 9
4th The Young Master 8/1 Mr S Waley-Cohen (3)
N P Mulholland 6
5th 7 Pendra (IRE) 9/2f B J Geraghty
C E Longsdon 7
6th Salubrious (IRE) 13/2 Sam Twiston-Davies
P F Nicholls 8
7th 5 Gullinbursti (IRE) 14/1 L P Aspell
Miss E C Lavelle 9
8th ½ Houblon Des Obeaux (FR) 8/1 Charlie Deutsch (5)
Miss V Williams 8
9th 2 The Giant Bolster 16/1 T Scudamore
D G Bridgwater 10
10th 11 Ma Filleule (FR) 16/1 Nico de Boinville
N J Henderson 7
11th 1 Fox Appeal (IRE) 14/1 Sean Bowen
Miss E C Lavelle 8
12th 8 Unioniste (FR) 20/1 Nick Scholfield
P F Nicholls 7
PU Katenko (FR) 20/1 Aidan Coleman
Miss V Williams 9
NR Seefood (IRE) 20/1 W Kennedy
Dr R D P Newland 8