Porsche Long Walk Hurdle
Grade 1, Ascot 14:25
£80,000 added,
4yo plus,
3m 97y, Class 1  
Saturday 19th December 2020


1 Paisley Park 9/4
2 Thyme Hill 7/5F
3 Roksana 11/2
8 ran NR: The Jam Man, Thistlecrack
Distances: nk, 1¾l, 5l Time: 6m 15.93s (slow by 22.93s)

Paisley Park proved his credentials as a returning contender for the Stayers' Hurdle at the Cheltenham Festival with his dramatic last-gasp victory.

The eight-year-old finished second on his reappearance behind Thyme Hill in the Long Distance Hurdle at Newbury last month and despite meeting trouble and looking well-beaten turning into the home straight, produced a brilliant finish to regain his crown in the contest, which he won in 2018.

The Emma Lavelle-trained bay gelding is fancied for a return to the Stayers' Hurdle in March, which he registered an emotional success in 2019 but was a disappointing seventh in last year after suffering from a heart irregularity during the race.

Despite his narrow defeat, the Philip Hobbs-trained Thyme Hill lost little in defeat and the duo are now one apiece in victories when they have clashed with each other. 

Another duel in the Cleeve Hurdle before the Festival has been talked about and jockey Aidan Coleman was delighted that Paisley Park bounced back to his best form.

"I think a terrible ride from me is an extreme saying now I've calmed down a bit!" Coleman said. "He got into trouble leaving the back but that's his running style. I've ridden him enough to know that was always on the cards. 

"He didn't like being wide and out on his own, but good horses get you out of trouble and good horses like him will always do that. He would have been an unlucky loser."


Porsche Long Walk Hurdle
£80,000 added, 4yo plus, 3m 97y, Class 1
8 ran
Going: Heavy

1      Paisley Park 8 11-7 Emma Lavelle Aidan Coleman 9/4
nk Thyme Hill 6 11-7 Philip Hobbs Richard Johnson 7/5F
Roksana 8 11-0 Dan Skelton Harry Skelton 11/2
7 Younevercall 9 11-7 Kim Bailey David Bass 33/1
Third Wind 6 11-7 Hughie Morrison Tom O'Brien 22/1
7 The Worlds End 9 11-7 1 Olly Murphy Jonjo O'Neill 40/1
31 Main Fact 7 11-7 David Pipe Fergus Gillard 6/1
PU Portrush Ted 8 11-7 Warren Greatrex Gavin Sheehan 28/1
NR 4 The Jam Man 7 11-7 Ronan M P McNally NON RUNNER
NR 7 Thistlecrack 12 11-7 Colin Tizzard NON RUNNER


Race run as a handicap prior to 1971
(run at Newbury in 2009, Chepstow in 2005 and Windsor in 2004)

Year Winner Age/Wt Owner Trainer Jockey SP

2011 BIG BUCK’S 8-11-07 The Stewart Family Paul Nicholls AP McCoy 3/10F
2010 BIG BUCK’S 7-11-07 The Stewart Family Paul Nicholls AP McCoy 2/13F
2009 BIG BUCK’S 6-11-07 The Stewart Family Paul Nicholls Ruby Walsh 1/2F
2008 PUNCHESTOWNS 5-11-07 Judy Wilson Nicky Henderson Barry Geraghty 3/1F
2007 LOUGH DERG 7-11-07 W Frewen David Pipe Tom Scudamore 14/1
2006 MIGHTY MAN 6-11-07 Joss Hanbury Henry Daly Richard Johnson 11/8F
2005 MY WAY DE SOLZEN 5-11-07 B Windfield, A Longman, J Wright, C Fenton; Alan King Robert Thornton 12/1
2004 BARACOUDA 9-11-07 J P McManus Francois Doumen FR Tony McCoy 8/13F
2003 BARACOUDA 8-11-07 J P McManus Francois Doumen FR Thierry Doumen 2/7F
2002 DEANO’S BEENO 10-11-07 Axom Martin Pipe Tony McCoy 14/1
2001 BARACOUDA 6-11-07 J P McManus Francois Doumen FR Thierry Doumen 2/5F
2000 BARACOUDA 5-11-07 Roger Barby Francois Doumen FR Thierry Doumen 11/4
1999 ANZUM 8-11-07 Old Foresters P’ship Alan King Richard Johnson 4/1
1998 PRINCEFUL 7-11-07 Robert Hitchins Jenny Pitman Richard Dunwoody 11/4F
1997 PADDY’S RETURN 5-11-07 Paddy O’Donnell Ferdy Murphy Norman Williamson 8/1
1996 OCEAN HAWK 4-11-07 Matt Archer/Jean Broadhurst Nigel Twiston-Davies Carl Llewellyn 7/1
1995 SILVER WEDGE 4-11-07 Shirley & Bill Robins Oliver Sherwood Jamie Osborne 7/1
1994 HEBRIDEAN 7-11-07 Peter Deal David Nicholson Adrian Maguire 100/30
1993 SWEET DUKE 6-11-07 Andy Mavrou Nigel Twiston-Davies Carl Llewellyn 7/2
1992 VAGOG 7-11-07 M A Swift Martin Pipe Martin Foster 15/2
1991 Abandoned due to frost
1990 FLOYD 10-11-07 Mike Walsh David Elsworth Graham Bradley 10/1
1989 ROYAL ATHLETE 6-10-08 Gary Johnson Jenny Pitman Dean Gallagher 33/1
1988 FRENCH GOBLIN 5-11-01 Maurice Pinto Josh Gifford Peter Hobbs 3/1
1987 BLUFF COVE 5-10-08 Dickins Ltd Reg Hollinshead Richard Dunwoody 14/1
1986 OUT OF THE GLOOM 5-10-08 Paul Green Reg Hollinshead Peter Scudamore 4/1
1985 MISTY DALE 7-10-08 David Rose Jenny Pitman Phil Tuck 9/4F
1984 KRISTENSON 7-10-08 Ursula Fantasia Roger Fisher Michael Williams 7/2
1983 CRIMSON EMBERS 8-10-11 Pam Smart Fulke Walwyn Stuart Shilston 14/1
1982 MAYOTTE 7-10-11 B Davies Richard Holder Paul Richards 15/8F
1981 Abandoned due to snow
1980 DERRING ROSE 5-11-11 Peter Savill Fred Winter John Francome 7/1
1979 JOHN CHERRY 8-10-11 Milton Ritzenberg Tom Jones Steve Smith Eccles 6/1
1978 KELSO CHANT 6-11-07 Mrs M Richardson Jumbo Wilkinson Steve Charlton 10/1
1977 JOHN CHERRY 6-10-11 Milton Ritzenberg Tom Jones Steve Smith Eccles 11/8F
1976 Abandoned due to frost
1975 LANZAROTE 7-12-05 Lord Howard de Walden Fred Winter John Francome 4/9F
1974 GO BINGO 5-11-12 Guy Reed Sam Hall David Munro 9/4
1973 SOLONING 8-11-08 Mrs C Thornton Fred Winter Richard Pitman 9/2
1972 HIGHLAND ABBE 6-11-12 Mrs K Hankey Les Kennard Mr R Smith 11/1
1971 ST PATRICK’S BLUE 6-11-12 P Aunger David Tatlow Bill Smith 7/2F
1970 ROUGE AUTUMN 6-10-05 Bryan Jenks Fred Rimell Ken White 9/2F
1969 CANDID CAMERA 6-10-06 R F P Ross Ted Goddard Joe Guest 100/8
1968 Abandoned due to waterlogging
1967 Abandoned due to foot and mouth epidemic
1966 SIR EDWARD 6-10-09 R Heaton Ryan Price Josh Gifford 7/2F
1965 MINUTE GUN 8-10-04 Bill Shand Kydd Bill Shand Kydd Richard Pitman 100/8

AutoUpdating 640x85 Gif