Cleeve Hurdle
Grade 2, Cheltenham 15:35
£60,000 added,
5yo plus,
2m 7f 213y, Class 1  
Saturday 30th January 2016

1 Thistlecrack 4/5F
2 Ptit Zig 7/1
3 The Romford Pele 50/1
7 ran Distances: 12l, 2l, ¾l
TIME 6m 26.20s (slow by 45.20s)

Thistlecrack brings up the hat-trick this season in splendid isolation at Cheltenham

© Racehorse Photos

Colin Tizzard's eight-year-old had won the Long Distance Hurdle and Long Walk in style as he comprehensively dismissed any doubts about whether he would handle the track.

Knockara Beau and Camping Ground took the field along, while Tom Scudamore had Thistlecrack (4-5 favourite) settled nicely just off the pace.

Cruising into the leads before the final flight, he strode up the hill in tremendous fashion by 12 lengths.

Ptit Zig stayed on to take second place.

Scudamore said: "He's laid down a pretty big marker.

"That was a tremendous feeling, hopefully we can do the same in five or six weeks' time.

"You can ride him however you want to ride him - he gives you so much confidence.

"He's just fantastic."

Tizzard said: "He was brilliant. He powered up that hill against really top-class opposition.

"It's a World Hurdle qualifier and he's won it without coming off the bridle.

"At home he works like that and he's done it on the track.

"Nothing can stay with him any more on the gallops at home."

Horses 468x60 Jpg Cleeve Hurdle
£60,000 added, 5yo plus, 2m 7f 213y, Class 1
7 ran
Going: Heavy

Pos Dist Horse SP Jockey Weight Trainer Age
1st Thistlecrack 4/5f T Scudamore
C L Tizzard 8
2nd 12 Ptit Zig (FR) 7/1 Sam Twiston-Davies
P F Nicholls 7
3rd 2 The Romford Pele (IRE) 50/1 N D Fehily
Miss R Curtis 9
4th ¾ Knockara Beau (IRE) 20/1 Jan Faltejsek
G A Charlton 13
5th 11 Camping Ground (FR) 5/2 L P Aspell
R Walford 6
6th 17 The Young Master 25/1 Mr S Waley-Cohen
N P Mulholland 7
7th 11 Guitar Pete (IRE) 33/1 B J Geraghty
Ms Sandra Hughes 6

Year Horse Owner Trainer Weight Jockey SP

1990 Beech Road Tony Geake Toby Balding 8-12-00 Richard Guest 1/3 f
1991 Crystal Spirit Paul Mellon Ian Balding 4-10-09 Jimmy Frost 4/1
1992 Abandoned
1993 Muse White Horse Racing Ltd David Elsworth 6-11-08 Paul Holley 11/4
1994 Flakey Dove John Price Richard Price 8-11-03 Richard Dunwoody 4/1 cf
1995 Mudahim K W Bell Chris Broad 9-11-08 Norman Williamson 13/2
1996 Abandoned
1997 Large Action Brian Stewart-Brown Oliver Sherwood 9-11-08 Jamie Osborne 8/15 f
1998 Mistinguett John Duggan Nigel Twiston-Davies 6-11-03 Carl Llewellyn 100/30
1999 Lady Rebecca Kinnersley Optimists Venetia Williams 7-11-03 Norman Williamson 6/4 f
2000 Lady Rebecca Kinnersley Optimists Venetia Williams 8-11-03 Norman Williamson Evens f
2001 Lady Rebecca Kinnersley Optimists Venetia Williams 9-11-03 Norman Williamson 7/1
2002 Kates Charm Norma Kelly Robert Alner 9-11-03 Mick Fitzgerald 3/1
2003 Classified David Johnson Martin Pipe 7-11-08 Tony McCoy 8/11 f
2004 Crystal D’Ainay Tony & Jeni Fisher Alan King 5-11-04 Jimmy McCarthy Evens f
2005 Patriarch Express A W Muir Sue Smith 8-11-00 Jim Culloty 8/1
2006 Fire Dragon Gay Smith Jonjo O’Neill 5-11-00 Tony McCoy 16/1
2007 Blazing Bailey Three Line Whip Alan King 5-11-00 Robert Thornton 14/1
2008 Inglis Drever Andrea & Graham Wylie Howard Johnson 9-11-08 Richard Johnson 11/8 f
2009 Big Buck’s The Stewart Family Paul Nicholls 6-11-00 Ruby Walsh 7/2
2010 Tidal Bay Andrea & Graham Wylie Howard Johnson 6-11-00 Brian Hughes 14/1
2011 Grands Crus Roger Stanley & Yvonne Reynolds III David Pipe 6-11-04 Tom Scudamore 2/1 f
2012 Big Buck’s The Stewart Family Paul Nicholls 9-11-08 Ruby Walsh 1/4 f
2013 Reve De Sivola Paul Duffy Diamond Partnership Nick Williams 8-11-08 Richard Johnson 15/8 f
2014 Knockara Beau Alistair Charlton George Charlton 11-11-00 Jan Faltejsek 66/1
2015 Saphir Du Rheu The Stewart Family Paul Nicholls 6-11-04 Sam Twiston-Davies 3/1