Cotswold Chase
Grade 2, Sandown 14:20
£50,000 added,
5yo plus,
3m 1f 56y, Class 1  
Saturday 6th February 2021 - Rescheduled

Trainers Quotes

1 Native River 13/2
2 Bristol De Mai 9/4F
3 Santini 5/2
6 ran Distances: 9½l, 7½l, 13l

Native River produced a resurgent display to run out an emphatic winner at Sandown Park.

The rescheduled Grade Two contest attracted a strong field, including Cheltenham Gold Cup hope Santini but it was Bristol de Mai that was sent off as the market leader for the three mile contest.

The grey was to the fore when the tapes went up, alongside habitual prominent racers Native River and Yala Enki, but Daryl Jacob was content to drop his mount back into third in the home straight as the other two traded blows at the head of affairs.

Native River repeatedly outjumped his doughty rival and, in a matter of strides, opened up a three or four length advantage leaving the Railway Fences for the final time. 

By that stage Saint Calvados had already fallen at the fence after the water - never coming out of last place as Gavin Sheehan rode a patient rice - where Aidan Coleman had begun to ask Santini to focus. Last year's Gold Cup second did respond for pressure but he never really got within hailing distance of the leaders on ground that his trainer, Nicky Henderson, felt was less than ideal.

Bristol de Mai and Yala Enki closed up on Native River approaching the Pond Fence but Yala Enki was soon dropped by the pair who soon had the race between them.

Richard Johnson, successful in the preceding Grade One Scilly Isles Novices' Chase, got a great leap out of Native River at the final fence and that sealed the race for the 11-year-old who ran on strongly to win by nine and a half lengths.

It had been a long winter for trainer Colin Tizzard who only saddled his first winner for six weeks on Thursday but hopes will now be high for a successful spring.

Horses 468x60 Jpg

Cotswold Chase
£50,000 added, 5yo plus, 3m 1f 56y, Class 1
6 ran
Going: Heavy, Soft in places

1      Native River 11 11-6 Colin Tizzard Richard Johnson 13/2
Bristol De Mai 10 11-6 Nigel Twiston-Davies Daryl Jacob 9/4F
Santini 9 11-6 Nicky Henderson Aidan Coleman 5/2
13 Yala Enki 11 11-0 Paul Nicholls Bryony Frost 5/1
48 Lake View Lad 11 11-6 N W Alexander Sam Twiston-Davies 20/1
FELL Saint Calvados 8 11-0 Harry Whittington Gavin Sheehan 11/2

Year Horse Owner Trainer Weight Jockey SP
1980 Raffi Nelson Mrs P Fry Nicky Henderson 7-11-06 Steve Smith Eccles 5/2
1981 Little Owl R Wilson Peter Easterby 7-11-12 Mr Jim Wilson 8/11f
1982 Lesley Ann B Gaule David Elsworth 8-11-12 Colin Brown 5/2
1983 Combs Ditch Jim Tory David Elsworth 7-11-08 Colin Brown 6/1
1984 Everett Kilian Hennessy Fulke Walwyn 9-11-08 Stuart Shilston 15/8f
1985 West Tip Peter Luff Michael Oliver 8-11-06 Richard Dunwoody 5/2
1986 Misty Spirit Mrs E Dixon Donald Lee 7-11-06 Steve Smith Eccles 9/1
1987 Abandoned
1988* Twin Oaks John Moreton David Murray-Smith 8-11-06 Paul Croucher 6/1
1989 Deep Moment Mrs M Curtis Mercy Rimell 7-11-03 Dermot Browne 12/1
1990 Toby Tobias Elizabeth Hitchins Jenny Pitman 8-11-06 Mark Pitman 5/4
1991 Celtic Shot D E H Horton Charlie Brooks 9-11-12 Peter Scudamore 8/11f
1992 Abandoned
1993 Sibton Abbey Geoff Hubbard Ferdy Murphy 8-11-12 Steve Smith Eccles 16/1
1994 Dubacilla Veronica Cole Henry Cole 8-10-12 Dean Gallagher 8/1
1995 Master Oats Paul Matthews Kim Bailey 9-11-06 Norman Williamson 6/4f
1996 Abandoned
1997 One Man John Hales Gordon Richards 9-11-12 Richard Dunwoody 2/5f
1998 See More Business John Keighley/Paul Barber Paul Nicholls 8-11-06 Timmy Murphy 9/4f
1999 Cyfor Malta David Johnson Martin Pipe 6-11-06 A P McCoy 10/11f
2000 Looks Like Trouble Tim Collins Noel Chance 8-11-06 Norman Williamson 100/30
2001 See More Business Paul Barber/Robert Ogden Paul Nicholls 11-11-10 Mick Fitzgerald 9/4
2002 Rince Ri Frank Moriarty Ted Walsh IRE 9-11-10 Ruby Walsh 9/2
2003 Behrajan The Behrajan Partnership Henry Daly 8-11-06 Richard Johnson 9/2
2004 Jair Du Cochet Miriam Montauban Guillaume Macaire FR 7-11-10 Jacques Ricou 11/4
2005 Grey Abbey The Roper Family/Norman Furness Howard Johnson 11-11-10 Graham Lee 100/30
2006** See You Sometime J Meaden Seamus Mullins 11-11-05 Andrew Thornton 18/1
2007 Exotic Dancer Sir Robert Ogden Jonjo O’Neill 7-11-06 A P McCoy 6/1
2008 Knowhere Raymond Mould Nigel Twiston-Davies 10-11-04 Paddy Brennan 16/1
2009 Joe Lively Richard Dimond Colin Tizzard 10-11-06 Joe Tizzard 11/1
2010 Taranis Angela Yeoman Paul Nicholls 9-11-00 Nick Scholfield 16/1
2011 Neptune Collonges John Hales Paul Nicholls 10-11-00 A P McCoy 11/2
2012 Midnight Chase Lady Clarke Neil Mulholland 10-11-06 Dougie Costello 11/2
2013 Cape Tribulation David Abell Malcolm Jefferson 9-11-06 Denis O’Regan 7/1
2014 The Giant Bolster Simon Hunt & Gary Lambton David Bridgwater 9-11-00 Tom Scudamore 6/1
2015 Many Clouds Trevor Hemmings Oliver Sherwood 8-11-10 Leighton Aspell 4/1
2016 Smad Place Trish Andrews Alan King 9-11-06 Richard Johnson 9/2
2017 Many Clouds Trevor Hemmings Oliver Sherwood 10-11-10 Leighton Aspell 8/1
2018 Definitly Red Phil & Julie Martin Brian Ellison 9-11-06 Danny Cook 7/1
2019 Frodon Paul Vogt Paul Nicholls 7-11-06 Bryony Frost 9/4
2020 Santini Mr & Mrs R Kelvin-Hughes Nicky Henderson 8-11-4 Nico de Boinville 13/8

* Cavvies Clown was first past the post in 1988, but subsequently failed a dope test ** Staged at Wincanton