Paddy Power Dipper Novices' Chase
Grade 2, Cheltenham 13:20
£55,000 guaranteed, 5yo+
2m 4f 35y, Class 1  
Sunday 1st January 2023

1 The Real Whacker 10/1
2 Monmiral 13/8F
3 Thunder Rock 15/8
5 ran NR: Mortlach Distances: 3¼l, hd, 17l
Time: 5m 18.33s (slow by 10.33s)

A course winner over three miles on his previous start, The Real Whacker made good use of his stamina over the half mile shorter trip and some classy rivals failed to lay a glove on him.

The highly regarded Monmiral, not helped by a mistake at the top of the hill, came closest to laying down a challenge but Patrick Neville's stable star kept pulling out more and soon re-opened up a commanding advantage.

The Real Whacker wandered around a little on the climb to the line where he still had three and a quarter lengths in hand of Monmiral with the rallying Thunder Rock, who was let down by his jumping, a head back in third.


Sam Twiston-Davies, who was completing a double on the card, told Racing TV: "Gavin Sheehan rode him last time and said he's incredibly straightforward, jumps well, jump out, go a gallop and make it a bit of a test. 

"I set some fractions which I thought were strong but at the same time he was quite happy all the way round. He kept jumping and kept picking up and thankfully got home. Incredibly accurate (jumping) I think is the key and he got into a good rhythm and when I've asked him to be aggressive off the last bend he was very straightforward.

"Winged the last two and he wanted to go out on another circuit which I guess is not a bad trait. From my point of view it was quite straightforward, just to do as I was told and thankfully it has gone well."


Paddy Power Dipper Novices' Chase (Grade 2)
£55,000 guaranteed, 5yo+ 2m 4f 35y, Class 1
5 ran
Going: Soft, Good to Soft in places

1     The Real Whacker 7 11-5 Patrick Neville Sam Twiston-Davies 10/1
Monmiral 6 11-2 Paul Nicholls Harry Cobden 13/8F
hd Thunder Rock 7 11-2 Olly Murphy A P Heskin 15/8
17 Beauport 7 11-7 Nigel Twiston-Davies Jordan Nailor 6/1
30 Harper's Brook 7 11-2 Ben Pauling Luca Morgan 13/2
NR 5 Mortlach 8 11-2 Fergal O'Brien NON RUNNER