JCB Triumph Hurdle Trial
(Registered As The Finesse Juvenile Hurdle)
Grade 2, Cheltenham 12:40
£32,000 added, 4yo only,
2m 1f, Class 1  
Saturday 25th January 2020

Navajo Pass showed a willing attitude to land the bet365 Summit Juvenile Hurdle for Donald McCain on December 14

Bought as a potential juvenile hurdler by McCain’s biggest supporter, Tim Leslie, he showed plenty of ability on the Flat in the summer but was always going to excel when faced with a jumping test.

He won first time out at Bangor by 20 lengths, but was nailed late on at Newcastle last time out having looked home and hosed.

Stepped up to Grade Two company, Navajo Pass was sent off a 100-30 chance with Nicky Henderson’s French import Tombee Du Ciel all the rage.

However, James Reveley was soon sending out distress signals on the filly and she dropped away tamely, with Alan King’s Lord Lamington the only real danger over the final three flights.

Despite travelling seemingly the better, Lord Lamington could never quite get on terms and the more Brian Hughes asked of his mount, the more Navajo Pass delivered and he won by three and three-quarter lengths.

“He’s been having to do everything on his own in his two runs over hurdles to date as he’s relentless, so we wanted to see what we had by coming here today,” said McCain.

“The last day he just got mugged on the line. Brian tried to mind him as he was five lengths clear going to the last.

“From the top of the straight we pressed on and his stamina seems bottomless.

“The only proper race he’s run in was on the Flat at York and that was too much for him. He’s done today what we thought he was capable of.

“He’ll have a little break now because he’s picked up a cut, which hopefully isn’t serious, and then he’ll have one run before Cheltenham.

“Whether that is for the Triumph or the Fred Winter, we’ll let the handicapper tell us that.

“It means a lot to have another nice horse for Tim. He stuck by us when he didn’t have to and it’s been a testing time.”

Betway Vegas EN £ Banner

JCB Triumph Hurdle Trial
(Registered As The Finesse Juvenile Hurdle) (Grade 2)
£32,000 added, 4yo only, 2m 179y, Class 1
14 entries
Going: Soft

1 521 Blacko 4 - 2 Alan King
2 2112 Cerberus 4 - Joseph O'Brien
3 212 El Picador 4 - Keith Dalgleish
4 42 Galahad Quest 4 - Nick Williams
5 41 Gerolamo Cardano 4 - D J Jeffreys
6     Gold Standard 4 - Tony Carroll
7 1-F Guena Des Mottes 4 - Ben Pauling
8 6621 Monte Cristo 4 - Nicky Henderson
9 121 Navajo Pass 4 - Donald McCain Brian Hughes
10 4 Night Edition 4 - David Pipe
11 0051 Recent Revelations 4 - Gordon Elliott
12 F1 Rowland Ward 4 - Stuart Edmunds
13     Sexy Lot 4 - David Pipe
14 413 Tronador 4 - Gordon Elliott

Year Horse Owner Trainer Weight Jockey SP

1990 Sayyure Brian Lovrey Nigel Tinkler 11-08 Graham McCourt 3/1
1991 Hopscotch Pipe Scudamore Racing Martin Pipe 11-02 Peter Scudamore 8/11 f
1992 Abandoned
1993 Major Bugler Colin Buckle Toby Balding 11-00 Adrian Maguire 13/2
1994 Pridwell Pond House Racing Martin Pipe 11-00 Richard Dunwoody 3/1
1995 Brave Tornado Bridget Swire Toby Balding 11-04 AP McCoy 7/2
1996 Abandoned
1997 Shooting Light John Brown Pat Murphy 11-00 Richard Dunwoody 10/11 f
1998 Zafarabad Elaine Baines David Nicholson 11-00 Richard Johnson 1/3 f
1999 Hors La Loi III John Martin Francois Doumen FR 11-08 Thierry Doumen 5/2
2000 Mister Banjo Million In Mind P’ship Nicky Henderson 11-08 Mick Fitzgerald 2/7 f
2001 Jair Du Cochet Miriam Montauban Guillaume Macaire FR 11-08 Jacques Ricou Evens f
2002 Vol Solitaire Barry Marshall Paul Nicholls 11-00 Joe Tizzard 11/1
2003 Moneytrain Tina Hamann Christian Von Der Recke GER 11-00 Robert Thornton 25/1
2004 Mondul Let’s Live Racing Milton Harris 11-08 Ollie McPhail 11/2
2005 Akilak Ada Partnership Howard Johnson 11-00 Graham Lee 50/1
2006 Abandoned
2007 Katchit D S J P Syndicate Alan King 11-07 Robert Thornton 2/1 f
2008 Franchoek J P McManus Alan King 11-07 Robert Thornton 10/11 f
2009 Walkon McNeill Racing Alan King 11-07 Robert Thornton 6/5 f
2010 Baccalaureate The Yes No Wait Sorries Nigel Twiston-Davies 11-00 Paddy Brennan 100/1
2011 Local Hero Phil Martin Steve Gollings 11-04 Tony McCoy 15/8 f
2012 Grumeti* The McNeill Family Alan King 11-04 Wayne Hutchinson 7/4 jf
2013 Rolling Star Michael Buckley & Vestey Family Nicky Henderson 11-07 Barry Geraghty 5/2
2014 Le Rocher John White & Anne Underhill Nick Williams 11-07 Richard Johnson 2/1
2015 Peace And Co Simon Munir & Isaac Souede Nicky Henderson 11-07 Barry Geraghty 4/9 f
2016 Protek Des Flos Potensis Bloodstock Ltd Nicky Henderson 11-00 Noel Fehily 25/1
2017 Defi Du Seuil J P McManus Philip Hobbs 11-07 Barry Geraghty 1/5 f
2018 Apple’s Shakira J P McManus Nicky Henderson 10-12 Barry Geraghty 1/7 f
2019 Fakir D'Oudairies M L Bloodstock Joseph O’Brien IRE 11-00 J J Slevin 4/1

Coral Double Your WInnings