Alan Wood Plumbing and Heating Park Stakes
Group 2, Doncaster 14:25
£100,000 added,
3yo plus,
7f 6y, Class 1    
Saturday 16th September 2017


1 Aclaim 3/1
2 Nathra 13/2
3 Home Of The Brave 9/4F
8 ran Distances: ¾l, 1l, shd
Time: 1m 25.59s (slow by 2.59s)

Martyn Meade's Aclaim had gone close over six and a half furlongs behind Brando in the Prix Maurice de Gheest and this seven was more up his street as he got up close home to take the Group Two spoils.

© Racehorse Photos

A steady pace was set by Spirit Of Valor towards the far side and Home Of The Brave towards the stands rail, but they all grouped together as the race hotted up.

Oisin Murphy managed to weave Aclaim into a challenging position and get the better of Nathra by three-quarters of a length. Home Of The Brave battled on for third spot another length away.

Murphy said: "I got a lovely tow into it, it was a bit tight but when you are on a class horse I'd rather do that than waste ground and come out.

"He's been very well prepared by connections, they deserve a lot of credit. I haven't won a Group One yet, but it would be lovely if I got the opportunity in France (Prix de la Foret)."

Meade said: "He's just going the right way now. 

"It was a shame he didn't win in France, in another few strides he probably would have done. 

"We've got to look for a Group One now, that's two Group Twos he's won. 

"He'll go to the Foret next, seven furlongs is his trip and softer ground is no issue. 

"That was pretty impressive today, you can ride him anywhere." 

Bruce Raymond, racing manager for Abdullah Saeed Al Naboodah, owner of runner-up Nathra, said: "That was a very good run from her, she needs very soft ground. 

"It will either be the Sun Chariot or the Foret next, wherever the softest ground is."

AutoUpdating 640x85 Gif

The Park Stakes
£100,000 added, 3yo plus, 7f 6y, Class 1
8 ran
Going: Good to Soft, Good in places

Pos Dr D Horse SP Jockey Weight Trainer Age
1st (8) Aclaim (IRE) 3/1 Oisin Murphy
M Meade 4
2nd (3) ¾ Nathra (IRE) 13/2 L Dettori
J H M Gosden 4
3rd (5) 1 Home Of The Brave (IRE) 9/4f James Doyle
H Palmer 5
4th (1) s.h Spirit of Valor (USA) 13/2 R L Moore
A P O'Brien 3
5th (4) ¾ Breton Rock (IRE) 6/1 Andrea Atzeni
D M Simcock 7
6th (6) ½ Sir Dancealot (IRE) 8/1 Jim Crowley
D R C Elsworth 3
7th (7) Viscount Barfield 28/1 David Probert
A M Balding 4
8th (2) ½ Peace Envoy (FR) 25/1 J A Heffernan
A P O'Brien 3

Mathematician Betting

Year Horse Trainer Jockey Owner SP

2016 Breton Rock D M Simcock Andrea Atzeni Mr John Cook 7/2
2015 Limato H Candy Andrea Atzeni Paul G Jacobs 9/2 fav
2014 Ansgar Miss S J Harty James Doyle Ms Chynel Phelan & Shane Fox 7/2
2013 Viztoria Eddie Lynam Wayne Lordan Sheila Lavery 7/2
2012 Libranno Richard Hannon Kieren Fallon McDowell Racing 16/1
2011 Premio Loco Chris Wall George Baker Bernard Westley 15/8 fav
2010 Balthazaar’s Gift Clive Cox Philip Robinson H E Sheikh Sultan Bin Khalifa Al Nahyan 16/1
2009 Duff Edward Lynam IRE Fran Berry Kilboy Estate 7/1
2008 Arabian Gleam Jeremy Noseda Johnny Murtagh Saeed Suhail 9/1
2007 Arabian Gleam Jeremy Noseda Johnny Murtagh Saeed Suhail 5/2
2006 Iffraaj Saeed bin Suroor Frankie Dettori Godolphin 4/6 fav
2005 Iffraaj Michael Jarvis Philip Robinson Sheikh Ahmed Al Maktoum 7/1
2004 Pastoral Pursuits Hughie Morrison Steve Drowne The Pursuits Partnership 5/1
2003 Polar Ben James Fanshawe Jamie Spencer Simon Gibson 5/1
2002 Duck Row James Toller Richard Hughes Duke Of Devonshire 8/1
2001 Tough Speed Sir Michael Stoute Kieren Fallon Saeed Suhail 6/1
2000 Distant Music Barry Hills Michael Hills Khalid Abdullah 4/1
1999 Sugarfoot Nigel Tinkler Pat Eddery Mrs D Wright 15/2