Vertem Futurity Trophy
Group 1, Doncaster 14:55
£200,000 added,
2yo only,
1m, Class 1    
Saturday 24th October 2020

Free Racing Tips

1 Mac Swiney 12/1
2 One Ruler 6/4F
3 Baradar 9/1
8 ran NR: Wembley
Distances: ¾l, 2¼l, 1¾l

Jim Bolger’s Mac Swiney, a Group Two winner on soft ground at the Curragh in August, had since managed only eighth of 10 on a quicker surface over the same course and distance in the National Stakes.

But he again revelled in testing conditions as the rain set in on Town Moor, with the 12-1 shot challenging last under Kevin Manning to overhaul eventual third Baradar and hold off 6-4 favourite One Ruler in the final furlong, scoring by three-quarters of a length.

Manning, who was riding his first Group One winner in Britain since Pleascach won the Yorkshire Oaks in 2015, said: “He’s done all his running over seven furlongs, but I always thought the further he went the better he’d be.

“He was a little slowly away, but that enabled me to get a position. There was a bit of scrimmaging but he was able to hold his corner. He was very switched off and very relaxed.

“He’s got a great attitude and didn’t fight me through the race, but at the business end he’s there when you want him.

“I imagine he’ll start off in one of the Guineas, but I think he’s a type that the better the race the better he’ll go, as he can cruise at good gear and he’s probably got more pace than I give him credit for.

“I think he’s a horse that when he steps up in trip you can only see the best of him as a three-year-old.”

Dewhurst runner-up Wembley was a significant late withdrawal on account of the ground.

AutoUpdating 640x85 Gif

Vertem Futurity Trophy (Group 1) (Straight Course)
£200,000 added, 2yo only, 1m, Class 1
8 ran
Going: Heavy

1 (7)     Mac Swiney 2 9-1 J S Bolger Kevin Manning 12/1
2 (8)
¾ One Ruler 2 9-1 Charlie Appleby William Buick 6/4F
3 (1)
Baradar 2 9-1 Roger Varian Rossa Ryan 9/1
4 (3)
Cobh 2 9-1 Clive Cox Adam Kirby 14/1
5 (2)
4 State Of Rest 2 9-1 Joseph O'Brien Tom Marquand 11/2
6 (4)
Emperor Supreme 2 9-1 Adrian Nicholls Barry McHugh 150/1
7 (5) 3 Megallan 2 9-1 John Gosden Robert Havlin 11/2
8 (9) 8 King Vega 2 9-1 Andrew Balding Oisin Murphy 5/1
NR 9 (6) Wembley 2 9-1 A P O'Brien NON RUNNER


Year Horse Trainer Jockey Owner SP

2019 Kameko Andrew Balding Oisin Murphy Qatar Racing 11/2
2018 Magna Grecia Aidan O'Brien Donnacha O'Brien D Smith & Mrs J Magnier & M Tabor & Flaxman Stables 2/1F

2017 Saxon Warrior Aidan O'Brien Ryan Moore Mr D Smith, Mrs J Magnier, Mr M Tabor 13/8F
2016 Rivet William J Haggas Andrea Atzeni The Starship Partnership 11/4
2015 Marcel Peter Chapple-Hyam Andrea Atzeni Paul Hancock 33/1
2014 Elm Park Andrew Balding Andrea Atzeni Qatar Racing Limited 13/8F
2013 Kingston Hill Roger Varian Andrea Atzeni Paul D Smith 7/2F

Mathematician Betting