bet365 Park Stakes
Group 2, Doncaster 15:00
£80,000 added,
3yo plus,
7f 6y, Class 1    
Saturday 12th September 2020


1 Wichita 11/4F
2 One Master 7/2
3 Molatham 3/1
8 ran Distances: shd, 2l, nk
Time: 1m 25.12s (slow by 2.62s)

Frankie Dettori, riding for Aidan O’Brien in the famous Coolmore silks, just edged the verdict in a photo finish after Wichita and One Master had served up a terrific tussle in the final furlong of the Group Two contest on Town Moor.

Wichita was narrowly denied himself at this meeting 12 months ago, when a half-length runner-up to the reopposing Molatham in the Listed Flying Scotsman Stakes.

He was also a close second in this year’s 2000 Guineas – but this time, it was Wichita’s turn as he doubled his Group tally, winning as the 11-4 favourite.

Dettori, who had finished only eighth on Wichita in the Prix Maurice de Gheest last time out, said: “He ran a bit flat in Deauville, but he was a fresh horse today – he was bucking going to the start.

“I was always confident, but when (One Master’s jockey) Tom (Marquand) jumped so quickly at me I wasn’t so sure on the line.

“He deserves it – he was second in the Guineas and has been a model of consistency. I’m pleased he’s put his head in front today.

“I think seven (furlongs) is spot on for him.”

One Master, a previous Group One winner for William Haggas, had to settle for second at 7-2, with Molatham (3-1) back in third.

AutoUpdating 640x85 Gif

bet365 Park Stakes
£80,000 added, 3yo plus, 7f 6y, Class 1
8 ran
Going: Good, Good to Firm in places

1 (2)    Wichita 3 9-0 A P O'Brien Frankie Dettori 11/4F
2 (8)
shd One Master 6 9-1 William Haggas Tom Marquand 7/2
3 (6)
2 Molatham 3 9-0 Roger Varian Jim Crowley 3/1
4 (7)
nk Urban Icon 4 9-4 Richard Hannon Pat Dobbs 12/1
5 (3) 2 Limato 8 9-4 Henry Candy Adam Kirby 9/2
6 (5)
Shine So Bright 4 9-4 Andrew Balding Silvestre De Sousa 25/1
7 (4)
Breathtaking Look 5 9-1 Stuart Williams Andrea Atzeni 14/1
8 (1)
¾ Marie's Diamond 4 9-4 Mark Johnston Joe Fanning 50/1

Mathematician Betting

Year Horse Trainer Jockey Owner SP

2019 Sir Dancealot
2018 Mustashry
2017 Aclaim
2016 Breton Rock D M Simcock Andrea Atzeni Mr John Cook 7/2
2015 Limato H Candy Andrea Atzeni Paul G Jacobs 9/2 fav
2014 Ansgar Miss S J Harty James Doyle Ms Chynel Phelan & Shane Fox 7/2
2013 Viztoria Eddie Lynam Wayne Lordan Sheila Lavery 7/2
2012 Libranno Richard Hannon Kieren Fallon McDowell Racing 16/1
2011 Premio Loco Chris Wall George Baker Bernard Westley 15/8 fav
2010 Balthazaar’s Gift Clive Cox Philip Robinson H E Sheikh Sultan Bin Khalifa Al Nahyan 16/1
2009 Duff Edward Lynam IRE Fran Berry Kilboy Estate 7/1
2008 Arabian Gleam Jeremy Noseda Johnny Murtagh Saeed Suhail 9/1
2007 Arabian Gleam Jeremy Noseda Johnny Murtagh Saeed Suhail 5/2
2006 Iffraaj Saeed bin Suroor Frankie Dettori Godolphin 4/6 fav
2005 Iffraaj Michael Jarvis Philip Robinson Sheikh Ahmed Al Maktoum 7/1
2004 Pastoral Pursuits Hughie Morrison Steve Drowne The Pursuits Partnership 5/1
2003 Polar Ben James Fanshawe Jamie Spencer Simon Gibson 5/1
2002 Duck Row James Toller Richard Hughes Duke Of Devonshire 8/1
2001 Tough Speed Sir Michael Stoute Kieren Fallon Saeed Suhail 6/1
2000 Distant Music Barry Hills Michael Hills Khalid Abdullah 4/1
1999 Sugarfoot Nigel Tinkler Pat Eddery Mrs D Wright 15/2