Kameko Futurity Trophy
Group 1, Doncaster 14:10
£200,000 guaranteed,
2yo only,
1m, Class 1    
Saturday 28th October 2023


1 Ancient Wisdom 5/4F
2 Devil's Point 16/1
3 God's Window 18/1
7 ran NR: Battle Cry Distances: 1¾l, hd, ¾l
Time: 1m 46.45s (slow by 10.05s)

Charlie Appleby’s Ancient Wisdom made the running early on but was headed by Devil’s Point and Dancing Gemini when the pace quickened three furlongs out.

However, the Godolphin colt got a second wind in the latter stages and galloped on strongly to outstay Devil’s Point by a length and three-quarters.

William Buick’s mount was sent off the 5-4 favourite, while God’s Window stayed on to finish a head behind Devil’s Point in third. Aidan O’Brien’s Diego Velazquez faded out of contention.

Ancient Wisdom, supplemented for the race on Monday, was cut to as short as 6-1 with Betfair and Paddy Power for next year’s Derby, while QuinnBet offered 7-1 for him to win the Epsom Classic.

The start of the race was delayed by a nasty incident when Battle Cry reared up in the stalls and fell backwards, unseating jockey Ben Curtis in the process.

That forced the O’Brien-trained outsider to be withdrawn but both horse and jockey were thankfully able to walk away.

AutoUpdating 640x85 Gif

Kameko Futurity Trophy (Group 1) (Straight Course)
£200,000 guaranteed, 2yo only, 1m, Class 1
7 ran
Going: Heavy

1 (4)     Ancient Wisdom 2 9-3 Charlie Appleby William Buick 5/4F
2 (8)
Devil's Point 2 9-3 David Menuisier Oisin Murphy 16/1
3 (7)
hd God's Window 2 9-3 John & Thady Gosden Kieran Shoemark 8/1
4 (5)
¾ Deira Mile 2 9-3 Owen Burrows Richard Kingscote 50/1
5 (6)
½ Dancing Gemini 2 9-3 Roger Teal Lewis Edmunds 9/2
6 (2)
1 Diego Velazquez 2 9-3 A P O'Brien James Doyle 9/4
8 (1)
6 Redhot Whisper 2 9-3 B F Brookhouse Stefano Cherchi 33/1
NR (3) Battle Cry 2 9-3 A P O'Brien NON RUNNER


Year Horse Trainer Jockey Owner SP

2022 Auguste Rodin A P O'Brien Ryan Moore M Tabor & D Smith & Mrs J Magnier & Westerberg 9/4F
2021 Luxembourg Aidan O'Brien Ryan Moore Westerberg, Mrs J Magnier, M Tabor, D Smith 4/6F
2020 Mac Swiney J S Bolger Kevin Manning Mrs J S Bolger 12/1
2019 Kameko Andrew Balding Oisin Murphy Qatar Racing 11/2
2018 Magna Grecia Aidan O'Brien Donnacha O'Brien D Smith & Mrs J Magnier & M Tabor & Flaxman Stables 2/1F

2017 Saxon Warrior Aidan O'Brien Ryan Moore Mr D Smith, Mrs J Magnier, Mr M Tabor 13/8F
2016 Rivet William J Haggas Andrea Atzeni The Starship Partnership 11/4
2015 Marcel Peter Chapple-Hyam Andrea Atzeni Paul Hancock 33/1
2014 Elm Park Andrew Balding Andrea Atzeni Qatar Racing Limited 13/8F
2013 Kingston Hill Roger Varian Andrea Atzeni Paul D Smith 7/2F

Mathematician Betting