Cazoo Park Stakes
horse racing tipster
Group 2, Doncaster 15:00
£110,000 added,
3yo plus,
7f 6y, Class 1    
Saturday 11th September 2021


1 Glorious Journey 5/2
2 D'Bai 17/2
3 Laneqash 9/4JF
6 ran Distances: 1¼l, 1¼l, 2l
Time: 1m 26.73s (slow by 3.63s)

Glorious Journey was the pick of William Buick in the seven-furlong contest, having chased home stablemate Space Blues at York last time and prevailed in Group Three company at Newmarket earlier in the year.

Sent off a 5-2 chance, Buick bided his time as Danyah – one of two 9-4 favourites with Laneqash – set the early gallop before dropping away when the race began in earnest, with Glorious Journey taking it up well over a furlong out.

Stablemate D’Bai and jockey James Doyle made a good fight of it, but the winner was a length and a quarter too good with the same distance back to Laneqash in third.

Trainers Quotes

Appleby said: “D’bai appeared to be travelling quite nicely, but you know exactly what you’ll get from Glorious Journey.

“Over the years he’s been a serious horse and I’m delighted for him and with D’Bai.

“Having chased home Space Blues in the City of York Stakes (third) he deserves that.

“I’m always been a fan of the horse and to have him around the yard, he’s one of the yard favourites.

“There’s a chance they could both go back out to Dubai, but there’s also the Prix de la Foret to think about. I’ll see what William says.”


Cazoo Park Stakes
£110,000 added, 3yo plus, 7f 6y, Class 1
6 ran
Going: Good to Soft, Soft in places

3 (3)     Glorious Journey 6 9-4 Charlie Appleby William Buick 5/2

1 (1) D'Bai 7 9-4 Charlie Appleby James Doyle 17/2
5 (5)
Laneqash 3 9-0 Roger Varian Jim Crowley 9/4JF
4 (2)
2 Oh This Is Us 8 9-4 Richard Hannon Tom Marquand 33/1
6 (4)
½ Rhythm Master 3 9-0 Richard Fahey P J McDonald 12/1
2 (6)
hd Danyah 4 9-4 Owen Burrows Dane O'Neill 9/4J

Mathematician Betting

Year Horse Trainer Jockey Owner SP

2020 Wichita
2019 Sir Dancealot
2018 Mustashry
2017 Aclaim
2016 Breton Rock D M Simcock Andrea Atzeni Mr John Cook 7/2
2015 Limato H Candy Andrea Atzeni Paul G Jacobs 9/2 fav
2014 Ansgar Miss S J Harty James Doyle Ms Chynel Phelan & Shane Fox 7/2
2013 Viztoria Eddie Lynam Wayne Lordan Sheila Lavery 7/2
2012 Libranno Richard Hannon Kieren Fallon McDowell Racing 16/1
2011 Premio Loco Chris Wall George Baker Bernard Westley 15/8 fav
2010 Balthazaar’s Gift Clive Cox Philip Robinson H E Sheikh Sultan Bin Khalifa Al Nahyan 16/1
2009 Duff Edward Lynam IRE Fran Berry Kilboy Estate 7/1
2008 Arabian Gleam Jeremy Noseda Johnny Murtagh Saeed Suhail 9/1
2007 Arabian Gleam Jeremy Noseda Johnny Murtagh Saeed Suhail 5/2
2006 Iffraaj Saeed bin Suroor Frankie Dettori Godolphin 4/6 fav
2005 Iffraaj Michael Jarvis Philip Robinson Sheikh Ahmed Al Maktoum 7/1
2004 Pastoral Pursuits Hughie Morrison Steve Drowne The Pursuits Partnership 5/1
2003 Polar Ben James Fanshawe Jamie Spencer Simon Gibson 5/1
2002 Duck Row James Toller Richard Hughes Duke Of Devonshire 8/1
2001 Tough Speed Sir Michael Stoute Kieren Fallon Saeed Suhail 6/1
2000 Distant Music Barry Hills Michael Hills Khalid Abdullah 4/1
1999 Sugarfoot Nigel Tinkler Pat Eddery Mrs D Wright 15/2