Peter Marsh Chase
arbitrage betting
Grade 2, Haydock Park 15:15
£50,000 added,
5yo plus,
3m 24y, Class 1  
Saturday 21st January 2017


1 Bristol De Mai 4/1J
2 Otago Trail 11/1
3 Bishops Road 8/1
14 ran Distances: 22l, 3½l, 10l
Time: 6m 21.80s (slow by 16.80s)

Bristol De Mai sauntered home from Otago Trail and Bishops Road

Bristol De Mai
© Racehorse Photos
Bristol De Mai

The Nigel Twiston-Davies-trained grey was coming into the contest on the back of a sequence of four second-place finishes, most notably in last season's JLT Novices' Chase at the Cheltenham Festival.

In a contest run at a decent clip, he was never too far from the pace, but once Jacob asked him to go past leader Otago Trail after the third-last fence, the response was immediate. He simply galloped past and, jumping with alacrity down the home straight, kept putting distance between himself and his rivals all the way to the winning post, eventually scoring by 22 lengths.

Otago Trail had done enough to hold on for second from Bishops Road by a further three and a half lengths, with Virak fourth, ahead of the only other finishers, Borea Boru and Gevrey Chambertin.

Colin Tizzard's much-talked-about French import Alary was beaten at the top of the home straight and was pulled up, while Vintage Clouds was tiring in third when coming down three out, hampering Definitly Red, who unseated Henry Brooke.

Nigel Twiston-Davies, completing a double after the success half an hour of The New One, said: "We'd been a bit disappointed with him until today this season, but he seemed in really good form at home and we were hopeful.

"We'd had this race planned out for a bit of time and he's settling better than he used to. He stays, he settles and he's a proper racehorse."

The winner has possible options in either the Ryanair Chase or the Timico Gold Cup at the Festival and the trainer said: "We don't need to make our minds up yet but there are two races for him and it's nice to have options."

Mathematician Betting

Peter Marsh Chase (Limited Handicap)
£50,000 added, 5yo plus, 3m 24y, Class 1
14 ran
Going: Soft

Pos Dist Horse SP Jockey Weight Trainer Age
1st Bristol De Mai (FR) 4/1j D A Jacob
N A Twiston-Davies 6
2nd 22 Otago Trail (IRE) 11/1 Charlie Deutsch (3)
Miss V Williams 9
3rd Bishops Road (IRE) 8/1 J E Moore
Kerry Lee 9
4th 10 Virak (FR) 16/1 Harry Cobden (3)
P F Nicholls 8
5th 9 Berea Boru (IRE) 80/1 Sean Bowen
P Bowen 9
6th Gevrey Chambertin (FR) 50/1 David Noonan (3)
D Pipe 9
PU Alary (FR) 4/1j Aidan Coleman
C L Tizzard 7
PU Seventh Sky (GER) 40/1 N D Fehily
C J Mann 10
PU O Maonlai (IRE) 14/1 A P Heskin
T R George 9
PU Firebird Flyer (IRE) 33/1 Adam Wedge
Evan Williams 10
PU Katenko (FR) 25/1 B Hughes
Miss V Williams 11
F Vintage Clouds (IRE) 9/1 Danny Cook
Mrs S J Smith 7
UR Sausalito Sunrise (IRE) 12/1 R Johnson
P J Hobbs 9
UR Definitly Red (IRE) 5/1 Henry Brooke
B Ellison 8



2016 Cloudy Too
2015 Samstown
2014 Wychwoods Brook
2013 no race
2012 According To Pete
2011 no race
2010 Our Vic 12-11-03 D A Johnson David Pipe Danny Cook
2009 Cloudy Lane 7-11-10 Trevor Hemmings Donald McCain, Jr. Jason Maguire
2008 no race
2007 THE OUTLIER 9-10-03 P J Murphy Venetia Williams Paul O’Neill 8/1
2006 EBONY LIGHT 10-9-13 Roger Bellamy Ginger McCain Stephen Craine 33/1
2005 LORD TRANSCEND 8-10-04 Andrea & Graham Wylie Howard Johnson Graham Lee 9/4F
2004 ARCTIC JACK 8-10-06 Trevor Hemmings Sue Smith Dominic Elsworth 6/1
2003 TRUCKERS TAVERN 8-10-09 Margaret Scholey Ferdy Murphy Davy Russell 9/2
2002 RED STRIKER 8-11-01 Norman Mason Norman Mason Richard Guest 8/1
2001 Meeting abandoned due to frost
2000 THE LAST FLING 10-10-12 Trevor Hemmings Sue Smith Seamus Durack 11/2
1999 GENERAL WOLFE 10-10-12 The Winning Line Venetia Williams Norman Williamson 4/1
1998 GENERAL WOLFE 9-10-10 Winning Line Racing Ltd Tim Forster Norman Williamson 11/2
1997 JODAMI 12-11-10 John Yeadon Peter Beaumont Norman Williamson 9/2
1996 SCOTTON BANKS 7-11-06 Ian Bray Peter Easterby Russ Garritty 15/8F
1995 EARTH SUMMIT 7-10-04 The Summit Partnership Nigel Twiston-Davies Tom Jenks 7/1
1994 ZETA’S LAD 11-10-10 Andrew Cohen John Upson Robbie Supple 5/1
1993 JODAMI 8-11-02 John Yeadon Peter Beaumont Mark Dwyer 5/4F
1992 TWIN OAKS 12-11-10 John Moreton Gordon Richards Neale Doughty 5/4F
1991 Meeting abandoned due to frost
1990 NICK THE BRIEF 8-10-09 John Upson John Upson Martin Lynch 15/8F
1989 BISHOPS YARN 10-10-12 British Thoroughbred R & B Toby Balding Richard Guest 13/2
1988 Meeting abandoned due to snow
1987 THE THINKER 9-11-10 T P M McDonagh Ltd Arthur Stephenson Ridley Lamb 9/2
1986 COMBS DITCH 10-11-08 Jim Tory David Elsworth Colin Brown 3/1
1985 Meeting abandoned due to frost
1984 Meeting abandoned due to frost
1983 ASHLEY HOUSE 9-10-07 J McLoughlin Michael Dickinson Robert Earnshaw 11/8F
1982 BREGAWN 8-10-07 James Kennelly Michael Dickinson Robert Earnshaw 11/2
1981 LITTLE OWL 7-11-03 Robin Wilson Peter Easterby Mr Jim Wilson 4/6F

Free Racing Tips