Peter Marsh Chase
arbitrage betting
Grade 2, Haydock Park 15:15
£75,000 added,
5yo plus,
3m 1f 125y, Class 1  
Saturday 20th January 2018


1 The Dutchman 13/2
2 Captain Redbeard 12/1
3 Hainan 6/1
13 ran Distances: 13l, ¾l, 2¼l
Time: 7m 22.50s (slow by 55.50s)

The Dutchman wins the Peter Marsh Chase in difficult conditions at Haydock

The Dutchman

Colin Tizzard's The Dutchman was sent off a 13-2 chance for the extended three-mile-one-furlong contest and Harry Cobden was positive from the off, helping to set the early gallop alongside Yala Enki.

The pair appeared to go a decent clip, with the well-fancied Rock The Kasbah and Highland Lodge both pulling up at the mid-race stage and plenty of contenders had dropped away coming to the business end.

The Dutchman was still travelling well enough in front, though, as Yala Enki dropped away and while it briefly looked as though Irish raider Fine Rightly might mount a challenge, his run soon petered out in the gruelling conditions.

Cobden's mount kept going all the way to the line, coming home 13 lengths clear of Captain Redbeard, with Hainan third and Yala Enki eventually battling back for fourth.

Assistant trainer Joe Tizzard said: "It had been decided that he would have a wind op before he joined us in the summer. 

"He ran well first time out for us behind Sam Spinner, but then stopped quickly next time at Chepstow. 

"It's no secret our horses have not been running well and his run that day was the first sign of it. 

"We were quietly confident and dad has been keen to get him back over fences. 

"We had no worries about trip or ground after the Sam Spinner run. 

"He'll go to the Eider now at Newcastle and we'll have to discuss an entry for the National. 

"The Eider is a bit further again, but he wasn't stopping today."


Peter Marsh Chase (Limited Handicap)
£75,000 added, 5yo plus, 3m 1f 125y, Class 1
13 ran
Going: Heavy

Pos Dist Horse SP Jockey Weight Trainer Age
1st The Dutchman (IRE) 13/2 Harry Cobden
C L Tizzard 8
2nd 13 Captain Redbeard (IRE) 12/1 Sam Coltherd (5)
W Coltherd 9
3rd ¾ Hainan (FR) 6/1 Danny Cook
Mrs S J Smith 7
4th Yala Enki (FR) 5/1f Charlie Deutsch (3)
Miss V Williams 8
5th 6 Fine Rightly (IRE) 22/1 A E Lynch
S R B Crawford 10
PU Ptit Zig (FR) 33/1 Sam Twiston-Davies
P F Nicholls 9
PU Carole's Destrier 16/1 T Scudamore
N P Mulholland 10
PU Rock The Kasbah (IRE) 7/1 R Johnson
P J Hobbs 8
PU Walk In The Mill (FR) 9/1 James Best
R Walford 8
PU Highland Lodge (IRE) 25/1 Henry Brooke
James Moffatt 12
PU Forest Des Aigles (FR) 14/1 D R Fox
Miss Lucinda V Russell 7
PU Knockanrawley (IRE) 12/1 David Bass
K C Bailey 10
UR Tintern Theatre (IRE) 13/2 Jamie Bargary (3)
N A Twiston-Davies 7




2017 Bristol De Mai
2016 Cloudy Too
2015 Samstown
2014 Wychwoods Brook
2013 no race
2012 According To Pete
2011 no race
2010 Our Vic 12-11-03 D A Johnson David Pipe Danny Cook
2009 Cloudy Lane 7-11-10 Trevor Hemmings Donald McCain, Jr. Jason Maguire
2008 no race
2007 THE OUTLIER 9-10-03 P J Murphy Venetia Williams Paul O’Neill 8/1
2006 EBONY LIGHT 10-9-13 Roger Bellamy Ginger McCain Stephen Craine 33/1
2005 LORD TRANSCEND 8-10-04 Andrea & Graham Wylie Howard Johnson Graham Lee 9/4F
2004 ARCTIC JACK 8-10-06 Trevor Hemmings Sue Smith Dominic Elsworth 6/1
2003 TRUCKERS TAVERN 8-10-09 Margaret Scholey Ferdy Murphy Davy Russell 9/2
2002 RED STRIKER 8-11-01 Norman Mason Norman Mason Richard Guest 8/1
2001 Meeting abandoned due to frost
2000 THE LAST FLING 10-10-12 Trevor Hemmings Sue Smith Seamus Durack 11/2
1999 GENERAL WOLFE 10-10-12 The Winning Line Venetia Williams Norman Williamson 4/1
1998 GENERAL WOLFE 9-10-10 Winning Line Racing Ltd Tim Forster Norman Williamson 11/2
1997 JODAMI 12-11-10 John Yeadon Peter Beaumont Norman Williamson 9/2
1996 SCOTTON BANKS 7-11-06 Ian Bray Peter Easterby Russ Garritty 15/8F
1995 EARTH SUMMIT 7-10-04 The Summit Partnership Nigel Twiston-Davies Tom Jenks 7/1
1994 ZETA’S LAD 11-10-10 Andrew Cohen John Upson Robbie Supple 5/1
1993 JODAMI 8-11-02 John Yeadon Peter Beaumont Mark Dwyer 5/4F
1992 TWIN OAKS 12-11-10 John Moreton Gordon Richards Neale Doughty 5/4F
1991 Meeting abandoned due to frost
1990 NICK THE BRIEF 8-10-09 John Upson John Upson Martin Lynch 15/8F
1989 BISHOPS YARN 10-10-12 British Thoroughbred R & B Toby Balding Richard Guest 13/2
1988 Meeting abandoned due to snow
1987 THE THINKER 9-11-10 T P M McDonagh Ltd Arthur Stephenson Ridley Lamb 9/2
1986 COMBS DITCH 10-11-08 Jim Tory David Elsworth Colin Brown 3/1
1985 Meeting abandoned due to frost
1984 Meeting abandoned due to frost
1983 ASHLEY HOUSE 9-10-07 J McLoughlin Michael Dickinson Robert Earnshaw 11/8F
1982 BREGAWN 8-10-07 James Kennelly Michael Dickinson Robert Earnshaw 11/2
1981 LITTLE OWL 7-11-03 Robin Wilson Peter Easterby Mr Jim Wilson 4/6F

Odds catcher