Peter Marsh Chase
arbitrage betting
Grade 2, Haydock Park 15:15
£75,000 added,
5yo plus,
3m 1f 125y, Class 1  
Saturday 19th January 2019


1 Wakanda 6/1
2 Robinsfirth 7/1
3 Ballydine 13/2
11 ran NR: Valtor (vet's certificate) Distances: 1¾l, 2½l, shd
Time: 6m 48.60s (slow by 21.60s)

Wakanda comes out on top in the Peter Marsh

© Racehorse Photos

It is almost two years since Lucinda Russell’s One For Arthur became only the second Scottish-trained winner of the world’s most famous steeplechase, and he made an inauspicious return from a lengthy absence when unseating Tom Scudamore at the third fence back at Aintree last month.

Reunited with his Grand National partner Derek Fox, the 10-year-old at least made it further on this occasion, but was struggling to keep tabs on the leaders from an early stage before eventually parting company with his rider four fences from home.

Russell said: “He’s still a little bit rusty and did go a bit left at his fences, so we’ll have to sort that out.

“I don’t know if he’s feeling something – we’ll have to get him checked out.

“He looks fine, but obviously it was a bit disappointing.”

At the business end of proceedings, it was 6-1 shot Wakanda who came out on top – providing trainer Sue Smith with a fourth victory in the race following the previous triumphs of The Last Fling (2000), Artic Jack (2004) and Cloudy Too (2016).

The 10-year-old jumped and travelled with elan in the hands of Danny Cook, and knuckled down well from the final fence to prevail by a length and three-quarters from Robinsfirth.

Trainers Quotes

Cook said: “He’s a very good stayer who jumps great and travelled great today.

“Even when he got in tight to one or two of the fences, he picked himself up and was very quickly away from them – so I knew I was in for a good ride even at that early stage.

“He’s got a great attitude, and did it well.”

However, when asked about a tilt at the Aintree spectacular, Cook added: “Maybe the Scottish National. I’m not so sure about the Grand National for him.”


Peter Marsh Chase (Limited Handicap)
£75,000 added, 5yo plus, 3m 1f 125y, Class 1
11 ran
Going: Good to Soft, Soft in places

Pos D Horse SP Jockey Weight Trainer Age
1st Wakanda (IRE) 6/1 Danny Cook
Mrs S J Smith 10
2nd Robinsfirth (IRE) 7/1 R Johnson
C L Tizzard 10
3rd Ballydine (IRE) 13/2 James Bowen
C E Longsdon 9
4th s.h Ballyarthur (IRE) 16/1 Jamie Bargary
N A Twiston-Davies 9
5th Red Infantry (IRE) 7/1 T J O'Brien
Ian Williams 9
6th Captain Redbeard (IRE) 15/2 Sam Coltherd (5)
W Coltherd 10
7th 17 Otago Trail (IRE) 7/1 H F Nugent (7)
Miss V Williams 11
8th 10 Three Musketeers (IRE) 9/1 Harry Skelton
D Skelton 9
PU Chase The Spud 40/1 Adam Wedge
F O'Brien 11
UR One For Arthur (IRE) 25/1 D R Fox
Miss Lucinda V Russell 10
UR Daklondike (IRE) 4/1f T Scudamore
D Pipe 7
NR Valtor (FR) Non Runner
N J Henderson 10




2018 The Dutchman
2017 Bristol De Mai
2016 Cloudy Too
2015 Samstown
2014 Wychwoods Brook
2013 no race
2012 According To Pete
2011 no race
2010 Our Vic 12-11-03 D A Johnson David Pipe Danny Cook
2009 Cloudy Lane 7-11-10 Trevor Hemmings Donald McCain, Jr. Jason Maguire
2008 no race
2007 THE OUTLIER 9-10-03 P J Murphy Venetia Williams Paul O’Neill 8/1
2006 EBONY LIGHT 10-9-13 Roger Bellamy Ginger McCain Stephen Craine 33/1
2005 LORD TRANSCEND 8-10-04 Andrea & Graham Wylie Howard Johnson Graham Lee 9/4F
2004 ARCTIC JACK 8-10-06 Trevor Hemmings Sue Smith Dominic Elsworth 6/1
2003 TRUCKERS TAVERN 8-10-09 Margaret Scholey Ferdy Murphy Davy Russell 9/2
2002 RED STRIKER 8-11-01 Norman Mason Norman Mason Richard Guest 8/1
2001 Meeting abandoned due to frost
2000 THE LAST FLING 10-10-12 Trevor Hemmings Sue Smith Seamus Durack 11/2
1999 GENERAL WOLFE 10-10-12 The Winning Line Venetia Williams Norman Williamson 4/1
1998 GENERAL WOLFE 9-10-10 Winning Line Racing Ltd Tim Forster Norman Williamson 11/2
1997 JODAMI 12-11-10 John Yeadon Peter Beaumont Norman Williamson 9/2
1996 SCOTTON BANKS 7-11-06 Ian Bray Peter Easterby Russ Garritty 15/8F
1995 EARTH SUMMIT 7-10-04 The Summit Partnership Nigel Twiston-Davies Tom Jenks 7/1
1994 ZETA’S LAD 11-10-10 Andrew Cohen John Upson Robbie Supple 5/1
1993 JODAMI 8-11-02 John Yeadon Peter Beaumont Mark Dwyer 5/4F
1992 TWIN OAKS 12-11-10 John Moreton Gordon Richards Neale Doughty 5/4F
1991 Meeting abandoned due to frost
1990 NICK THE BRIEF 8-10-09 John Upson John Upson Martin Lynch 15/8F
1989 BISHOPS YARN 10-10-12 British Thoroughbred R & B Toby Balding Richard Guest 13/2
1988 Meeting abandoned due to snow
1987 THE THINKER 9-11-10 T P M McDonagh Ltd Arthur Stephenson Ridley Lamb 9/2
1986 COMBS DITCH 10-11-08 Jim Tory David Elsworth Colin Brown 3/1
1985 Meeting abandoned due to frost
1984 Meeting abandoned due to frost
1983 ASHLEY HOUSE 9-10-07 J McLoughlin Michael Dickinson Robert Earnshaw 11/8F
1982 BREGAWN 8-10-07 James Kennelly Michael Dickinson Robert Earnshaw 11/2
1981 LITTLE OWL 7-11-03 Robin Wilson Peter Easterby Mr Jim Wilson 4/6F

Odds catcher