Paddy Power Chase
(Extended Handicap Chase)
Grade B, €200,000 guaranteed
3m 50y, 5yo+  
Monday 27th December 2021

1 School Boy Hours 12/1
3 Ben Dundee 33/1
3 Enjoy D''Allen 28/1
4 Braeside 14/1
28 ran NR: Global Equity, Le Musigny, Peaches And Cream
Distances: ½l, 2½l, 2¾l Time: 6m 20.10s (slow by 35.60s)

Sean Flanagan produced School Boy Hours with a perfectly-timed challenge to lead close home.

A maiden after nine previous starts over fences and making his seasonal reappearance, the Presenting gelding moved into sixth off the home turn and stayed on well on the run-in to catch Ben Dundee who had hit the front approaching the last. The latter gave everything for his amateur partner Ben Harvey but went down by half a length.

Enjoy D’Allen stuck to his task well having come off the bridle a fair way out and he finished third with Braeside completing the placings.

The winning owner JP McManus had thrown eight darts at this valuable prize and it was just a second career win for the victorious eight-year-old who won a maiden hurdle at Cork in 2019. 

Winning trainer Noel Meade said: “I told Sean going out to try and be comfortable as long as you can. He gave him a super ride.

“He travelled well the whole way and jumped well. His jumping was a bit edgy for a couple of years and it's taken him a while to get the hang of it.

“He's a very well-bred horse (Finian's Oscar) but it's just taken him a long time and he's been a novice for three years.

“I thought he was travelling well turning in and thought we had a good chance because he stays very well. I think he'll get three-and-a-half miles.

“He was in super form coming here today as well.”

The Paddy Power Steeplechase
Grade B, €200,000 guaranteed, 3m 50y, 5yo+
28 ran
Going: Good to Yielding

1     School Boy Hours 8 10-8 Noel Meade Sean Flanagan 12/1
½ Ben Dundee 9 11-3 Andrew Lynch Mr B W Harvey 33/1
Enjoy D'Allen 7 11-6 Ciaran Murphy Conor Orr 28/1
Braeside 7 11-4 Gordon Elliott Jack Kennedy 14/1
Death Duty 10 11-0 Gordon Elliott Shane Fitzgerald 33/1
Birchdale 7 10-4 E Bolger Conor Maxwell 33/1
hd Foxy Jacks 7 10-12 M F Morris Jonathan Moore 66/1
17 Cavalry Master 7 11-0 Henry De Bromhead Mike O'Connor 28/1
Noble Yeats 6 11-3 Emmet Mullins Mr Derek O'Connor 13/2
Ilikedwayurthinkin 7 10-10 Gavin Cromwell L P Dempsey 28/1
12 Alfa Mix 6 10-12 Gavin Cromwell Mark Walsh 13/2
1 Russian Diamond 7 10-10 Emmet Mullins Sean O'Keeffe 25/1
Poker Party 9 11-5 Henry De Bromhead Dylan Robinson 40/1
Uisce Beatha 8 11-1 Padraig Roche Aidan Kelly 66/1
FELL Fully Charged 7 10-9 Henry De Bromhead Darragh O'Keeffe 16/1
FELL Bois De Clamart 7 10-5 Miss Elizabeth Doyle Ricky Doyle 50/1
FELL Eurobot 7 10-8 Noel Meade E Walsh 25/1
FELL A Wave Of The Sea 5 11-4 Joseph O'Brien Simon Torrens 18/1
FELL Fakir t 6 10-3 Joseph O'Brien Sam Ewing 33/1
PU Class Conti 9 11-9 W P Mullins Danny Mullins 66/1
PU Darver Star 9 11-10 Gavin Cromwell Keith Donoghue 33/1
PU Agusta Gold 8 11-6 W P Mullins Paul Townend 14/1
PU Champagne Platinum 7 10-8 E Bolger Denis O'Regan 33/1

PU Coko Beach 6 11-10 Gordon Elliott Mr R James/12/1
PU Top Moon 6 11-5 Joseph O'Brien J J Slevin 50/1
PU The Bosses Oscar 6 11-4 Gordon Elliott Davy Russell 5/1F
PU Lord Royal 6 11-5 W P Mullins Jack Foley
PU Stones And Roses 7 10-9 W P Mullins Brian Hayes 28/1
NR 22 Le Musigny 7 10-9 Henry De Bromhead NON RUNNER

Free Racing Tips


2020 Castlebawn West 7 Willie Mullins Paul Townend
2019 Roaring Bull 6 Gordon Elliott Jack Kennedy
2018 Auvergnat 8 E Bolger D J McInerney
2017 Anibale Fly 7 Tony Martin D Meyler
2016 Noble Endeavor 7 Gordon Elliott Davy Russell
2015 Minella Foru 6 Edward Harty Barry Geraghty
2014 Living Next Door 8 Tony Martin Denis O’Regan
2013 Rockyaboya 9 Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh
2012 Colbert Station  8 Ted Walsh AP McCoy
2011 Cross Appeal        5 Noel Meade Paul Carberry
2010 Majestic Concorde 7 Dermot Weld Mr Robbie McNamara
2009 Oscar Time 8 Martin Lynch Robbie Power
2008 Wheresben 9 Seamus Fahey Mr Jarlath Fahey
2007 Newbay Prop 8 Tony Martin Ross Geraghty