horse racing tipster
RacingBetter News
Tuesday 18th October 2022

Top 10 Fastest Winners of the Melbourne Cup

Melbourne Cup, also known as "the race that stops the nation", is one of Australia's most prevalent horse races, having been run every year in Melbourne since 1861. Winning horses are a thing of prestige for most owners and their trainers. The whole point of horse races is to determine the fastest horses. Fans and followers like you always feel excited to know the update on the Melbourne Cup. You can visit to get the latest news and update.

Moreover, this article lists the ten fastest winners of the Melbourne Cup. So let’s get started!

The 10 fastest horses ever to win the Cup

In addition to winning 12 Melbourne Cups, Bart Cummings, known as the Cups King, also coached three of the top 10 fastest Cup winners in history, including Kingston Rule, who was the quickest ever.

1. Kingston Rule

Since 1990, the winning time of 3:16.30 by Kingston Rule has been held. In 2002, Media Puzzle came within a 30th of a second of winning the championship. A jockey named Darren Beadman rode Kingston Rule. In 1996, he also rode Saintly, another top-10 performing horse owned by Bart Cummings.

2. Gold and Black

In 1977, Gold and Black, the sole horse in the top 10, set the quickest time in the previous 30 years. Naturally, another horse that Bart Cummings trained.

3. Jezabeel

A fantastic track record in the Melbourne Cup belongs to New Zealand. When he took Jezabeel to Melbourne in 1998, Brian Jenkins, a former New Zealand trainer who is now based in Australia, was not well known across the Tasman.

4. Media Puzzle

The horse won the race in just 3 minutes 16.97 seconds in 2000 beating. The jockey named Damien Oliver and trainer is Dermot K. Weld. Media Puzzle's win came after an unusually long wait for a winner, with two other horses finishing first but being disqualified for interference during the race.

5. Tawrrific

Thoroughbred racehorse Tawrrific (1984–1999) is best known for taking home the 1989 Melbourne Cup. He won in the then-record time of three minutes, 17.1 seconds while being ridden by Shane Dye and trained by Lee Freedman.

6. Twilight Payment

The seasoned stayer raced over the past three seasons out of Joseph O'Brien's all-powerful stable, and a year ago, the tyro Irish trainer won the Melbourne Cup for the second time. Twilight Payment, one of the underdogs in 2020, held off Tiger Moth while setting one of the quickest timings in Cup history.

7. Protectionist

German breeders and trainers produced the Thoroughbred racehorse Protectionist. He was bred by Christoph Berglar, who together with an Australian syndicate owned him. Protectionist, ridden by Ryan Moore and trained by Andreas Wöhler, triumphed in the 2014 Melbourne Cup and became the first German-trained horse to do so.

8. Might and Power

Might and Power was a New Zealand-bred Thoroughbred racehorse that was owned and trained by Australian Bart Cummings and received the Australian Horse of the Year award in 1998 and 1999. Might And Power won the Caulfield and Melbourne Cups as a four-year-old, and when he came back at five, he became just the second horse in Australian racing history to win the Cups and the Cox Plate.

9. Brew

Winning Brew, a horse trained by Francis Vitale (United States), set the record for the fastest race speed over two furlongs on May 14, 2008, at the Penn National Race Course in Grantville, Pennsylvania, at 70.76 km/h (43.97 mph).

10. Saintly

Australia's top racehorse in 1997 was Saintly, an Australian Thoroughbred who died on 16 December 2016. He was bred by Bart Cummings, his trainer, and is a huge chestnut gelding by Sky Chase out of All Grace, which was owned by a Malaysian tycoon named Dato Tan Chin Nam. Saintly was enshrined in the Australian Racing Hall of Fame in 2017.

The Summary

The winners of the Melbourne Cup are often some of the best horses in the world, and as such, they are able to cover the race distance at an incredible speed.