Champion Chase
Grade 1, Punchestown
€200,000 added,
5yo plus,
2m, Class 1
Tuesday 29th April 2014

Free Racing Tips

1 Sizing Europe 7/1
2 Ballynagour 7/1
3 Savello 14/1
NR: Days Hotel (IRE), Turban (FR)
8 ran Distances: 5½l, hd, 2½l
TIME 4m 5.90s (slow by 5.90s)

The 12-year-old Sizing Europe looked better than ever when coming home to huge cheers after winning the feature €200,000 Grade 1 Champion Chase at Punchestown on Tuesday.

Sizing Europe
© Racehorse Photos
Sizing Europe

Henry de Bromhead's charge was always travelling well and looked to have lost none of his enthusiasm or talent as he repeated his 2012 success in this race, registering an eighth win at the highest level.

Henry de Bromhead's stable star also won the two-mile showpiece in 2012 and the trainer commented: "He's just brilliant and Andrew (Lynch) gave the horse a fantastic ride. He loved the ground and is just unbelievable.

"He was running away with Andrew at halfway and the horse has just been a superstar for us, I've been saying it for years. He stays sound and enjoys doing it. He'd been working well all year but not been doing it on the track for some reason.

"He travelled effortlessly throughout and really looked to be enjoying himself. I am delighted to win a big Grade One like that. To come back and do that is phenomenal. Fair play to Boylesports for putting up the prize money. It was brilliant.

"Sizing Europe has helped us build a business. He has been racing for us for eight years. The first time we went and galloped him in a schooling race he just came through and finished in front - in those days not many of mine did that. He kind of went through them like a Ferrari.

"It's entirely up to Alan and Ann Potts what he does now, but if he is retired what a way to go out."

Owner Alan Potts admitted that this could have been Sizing Europe's swansong, stating that the winner could now be retired.

"We wanted to go out on a win and we'll have to see," said Potts. "That was nice to witness and I always thought he could do it. He was back to his best and Henry said he was at his best at home."

Jockey Andrew Lynch added: "This is just a brilliant day and he has been an amazing horse for me. He winged the last two and there I was today. I thought after riding in the first that he would go well on this ground.

"He gave Sprinter Sacre a bit of a fright here last year and ran another tremendous race at Cheltenham."

As a novice chaser Sizing Europe claimed the Arkle at Cheltenham in 2010, beating Somersby, and returned the following year to lift the 2011 Queen Mother Champion Chase crown.

Mathematician Betting Champion Chase (Grade 1)
€200,000 added, 5yo plus, 2m, Class 1
8 ran
Going: Good to Yielding

Place Horse Jockey Odds
7. Sizing Europe
Henry de Bromhead
A.E. Lynch
5 1/2 L
2. Ballynagour
David Pipe
T. Scudamore
6. Savello
D.N. Russell
2 1/2 L
1. Baily Green
D.J. Casey
5 1/2 L
8. Somersby
Mick Channon
A.P. McCoy
6 L
10. Twinlight (FR)
W.P. Mullins
R. Walsh
4. Hidden Cyclone
John Joseph Hanlon
Andrew J. McNamara
10/3 F
5. Module (FR)
Tom George
B.J. Geraghty
3. Days Hotel
Henry de Bromhead
P. Carberry
9. Turban (FR)
W.P. Mullins
P. Townend

Past Results:

Year Horse Age/Wt/Owner Trainer Jockey
2013 Sprinter Sacre
1/9 Fav
Mrs Caroline Mould
Nicky Henderson GB Barry Geraghty
2012 Sizing Europe
8/13 Fav
Ann & Alan Potts P’ship
Henry de Bromhead Andrew Lynch
2011 Big Zeb
Pat Redmond
Colm Murphy Barry Geraghty
2010 Golden Silver
Violet O’Leary
Willie Mullins Paul Townend
2009 Master Minded 30/100 Fav 6-11-12
Clive Smith
Paul Nicholls GB Ruby Walsh
2008 Twist Magic
6/4 Fav
Barry Fulton, Tony Hayward, Michael Lynch
Paul Nicholls GB Ruby Walsh
2007 Mansony 13/2 8-11-12
Michael Mulholland
Arthur Moore Davy Russell
2006 Newmill 5/4 Fav 8-11-12
Mary Hayes
John Murphy Andrew McNamara
2005 Rathgar Beau 8/1 9-11-12
One-O-Eight Racing Club
Eamon Sheehy Shay Barry
2004 Moscow Flyer 4/11 Fav 10-11-12
Brian Kearney
Jessica Harrington Barry Geraghty
2003 Flagship Uberalles 8/1 9-12-00
J P McManus
Philip Hobbs GB Richard Johnson
2002 Strong Run 4/1 9-12-00
Michael McGrath
Noel Meade Paul Carberry
*2001 Micko’s Dream 5/1 9-12-00
Sport Racing Club
Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh
2000 Get Real 3/1 9-11-06
Pioneer Heat-Treatment
Nicky Henderson GB Mick Fitzgerald
1999 Celibate 7/1 8-11-09
Stamford Bridge P’ship
Charlie Mann GB Richard Dunwoody
1998 Big Matt 16/1 10-10-11
Ted Benfield & Bill Brown
Nicky Henderson GB Mick Fitzgerald
1997 Klairon Davis 11/10 Fav 8-12-00
Chris Jones
Arthur Moore Francis Woods
1996 Klairon Davis 5/2 7-12-00
Chris Jones
Arthur Moore Francis Woods
1995 Strong Platinum 3/1 Fav 7-11-01
Theresa McCoubrey
Paddy Burke Conor O’Dwyer
1994 Saraemma 16/1 8-10-12
Dermot Cox
Homer Scott Kevin O’Brien
1993 Viking Flagship 5/4 Fav 6-10-07
Roach Foods Ltd
David Nicholson GB Richard Dunwoody
1992 The Musical Priest 8/1 10-10-07
Mrs Seamus Purcell
Michael Purcell Jason Titley
1991 Good For A Laugh 8/1 7-9-11
Dr Michael Smurfit
Arthur Moore Charlie Swan
1990 Rust Never Sleeps 14/1 6-10-06
D M Murphy
Austin Leahy Gerry O’Neill
1989 Super Furrow 12/1 9-12-00
Mrs M Marshall
Jerry O’Neill Padge Gill
1988 Flying Ferret 8/1 7-9-07
Mrs V O’Leary
Tony Redmond Brendan Powell
1987 Eddie Wee 11/2 Jt Fav 11-10-12
Mrs Y Rock
Billy Rock Conor O’Dwyer
1986 Another Brownie 6/1 7-9-07
S Lucey
M McGrath J P Byrne
1985 Buck House 11/10 Fav 7-11-07
Mrs S Purcell
Mouse Morris Tommy Carmody
1984 Travelowen 6/4 Fav 7-12-00
Mrs M Kelly
Tom Costello Mr Tom Costello
1983 Turloughmore Lad 7/1 8-9-07
M McDonagh
Paddy Norris Paul Leech
1982 Light The Wad 3/1 9-11-03
Exors of Patrick Downey
Dessie Hughes Tom Morgan
1981 Light The Wad 6/1 8-10-10
Patrick Downey
Dessie Hughes Frank Leavy
1980 Paddy Bouler 7/4 Fav 7-11-04
P Rooney
Pat Rooney S Lynch