Herald Champion Novice Hurdle
Grade 1, Punchestown 16:20
Race Value: €94,999
5yo plus
2m, Class1  
Tuesday 28th April 2015

Free Racing Tips

1 Douvan 1/6F
2 Sizing John 5/1
3 Blair Perrone 25/1
6 ran Distances: 7½l, 8l, 8l
TIME 4m 1.30s (slow by 15.30s)

Willie Mullins describes winning favourite Douvan as 'an incredible athlete' after a smooth success

© Caroline Norris

The five-year-old was a prohibitively priced 1-6 market leader following a scintillating victory in the Supreme Novices' Hurdle at Cheltenham last month and Ruby Walsh had matters in hand from the outset.

Velocity Boy cut out the early running, tracked by Sizing John, with Douvan positioned in third.

The former began to feel the pinch from the home turn, leaving Sizing John to lead Douvan, but Walsh sat motionless aboard the Mullins runner before easing to the front approaching the final flight.

He was soon away and gone on the run-in and passed the post with plenty in hand.

Sizing John, runner-up behind Douvan at Gowran Park earlier in the season and third in the Supreme, was once again put in his place, but ran another fine race in second.

The Herald Champion Novice Hurdle
€94,999 added, 5yo plus, 2m, Class 1
6 ran
Going: Good to Yielding

Pos Dist Horse SP Jockey Weight Trainer Age
1st Douvan (FR) 1/6f R Walsh
W P Mullins 5
2nd Sizing John 5/1 J J Burke
H de Bromhead 5
3rd 8 Blair Perrone (IRE) 25/1 D F O'Regan
A J Martin 6
4th 8 Cardinal Palace (IRE) 66/1 D J Casey
J Nash 5
5th 16 Velocity Boy (IRE) 33/1 B M Cash
William P Murphy 6
PU Rich Coast 20/1 P Carberry
N Meade 7

Cheltenham £50 Bonus

Past Results:

Year Horse/SP Age/Wt Owner Trainer Jockey
2014 Faugheen 1/2F      
2013 Jezki 2/1 5-11-12
J P McManus
Jessica Harrington Barry Geraghty
2012 Alderwood 5/2 8-11-12
J P McManus
Tom Mullins A P McCoy
2011 Shot From The Hip 11/2 7-11-12
J P McManus
Edward O’Grady A P McCoy
2010 Blackstair
Susannah Ricci
Willie Mullins Paul Townend
2009 Hurricane Fly 4/6 Fav 5-11-12
George Creight
on/Rose Boyd Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh
2008 Jered 7/4 Fav 6-11-12
J P McManus
Noel Meade A P McCoy
2007 Clopf 7/4 Fav 6-11-12
Bernard Heffernan
Edward O’Grady Barry Geraghty
2006 Iktitaf 8/1 5-11-11
Mrs Pat Sloan
Noel Meade Ruby Walsh
2005 Wild Passion 7/4 Fav 5-11-11
Des Sharkey
Noel Meade Paul Carberry
2004 Brave Inca 2/1 Fav 6-11-12
Novices Syndicate
Colm Murphy Barry Cash
2003 Back In Front 4/11 Fav 6-11-12
Dermot Cox
Edward O’Grady Norman Williamson
2002 Scottish Memories 11/4 6-11-12
Mary Halligan
Noel Meade Paul Carberry
*2001 Ned Kelly 4/5 Fav 5-11-11
Sue Magnier
Edward O’Grady Norman Williamson
2000 Moscow Flyer 10/1 6-12-00 Brian Kearney Jessica Harrington Barry Geraghty
1999 Cardinal Hill 1/2 Fav 5-11-13
J P McManus
Noel Meade Charlie Swan
1998 His Song 6/4 5-11-13
David Lloyd
Mouse Morris A P McCoy
1997 Midnight Legend 7/4 Fav 6-12-00
Hilda Clarke
David Nicholson GB Richard Johnson
1996 Dance Beat 7/2 5-11-08
Mrs E Queally
Jessica Harrington John Shortt
1995 Hotel Minella 5/4 Fav 8-12-00
John J Nallen
Aidan O’Brien Charlie Swan
1994 Klairon Davis 7/4 Fav 5-11-13
Chris Jones
Arthur Moore Tom Horgan
1993 Bayrouge 7/2 5-11-08
Joe Crowley
Anne-Marie O’Brien Richard Dunwoody
1992 Fortune And Fame 11/4 Fav 5-11-13
Michael Smurfit
Dermot Weld Brendan Sheridan
1991 Young Pokey 5/2 6-12-00
Maurice Oberstein
Oliver Sherwood GB Jamie Osborne
1990 Vestris Abu 5/2 4-10-05
Mrs C Shubotham
Jim Bolger Charlie Swan
1989 The Proclamation 9/2 6-10-13
J M Whaley
Paddy Prendergast Richard Dunwoody
1988 El-Sid Senor 9/4 Fav 5-11-07
T Miley
Francis Flood Frank Berry
1987 High Plains 8/1 5-11-05
Raymond Mould
David Nicholson GB Richard Dunwoody
1986 Barney Burnett Evs Fav 6-11-09
P Donovan
Ruby Walsh Brendan Sheridan
1985 Hungary Hur 5/1 6-11-06
Mrs A Fegan
Paddy Mullins Tony Mullins
1984 Gav’s Delight 2/5 Fav 6-11-07
N McGrady
Michael Cunningham Ken Morgan
1983 Dawn Run 5/2 Fav 5-11-07
Mrs Charmian Hill
Paddy Mullins Tony Mullins
1982 Bustineto 5/2 4-10-05
Timothy Kinsella
Mick O’Toole Niall Madden
1981 Tie Anchor 2/1 Fav 4-10-09
Daniel Hale
Paddy Prendergast Tommy McGivern
1980 Deep Gale 7/1 7-11-08
J P McManus
Edward O’Grady Mr Frank Codd