BETDAQ Punchestown Champion Hurdle
Free Horse Racing Tips, Click Here!
Grade 1, Punchestown 17:30
€275,000 added,
4yo plus,
2m, Class 1   
Friday 27th April 2018


1 Supasundae 7/1
2 Wicklow Brave 12/1
3 Bleu Berry 40/1
7 ran NR: Min Distances: 3¼l, 19l, 33l
Time: 4m 0.90s (slow by 16.90s)

Supasundae wins as Melon and Samcro fall

© Caroline Norris

The previously unbeaten Samcro was the 5-6 favourite for Gordon Elliott, stepping out of novice company the first time, with the Willie Mullins-trained Melon widely regarded as his biggest threat after pushing Buveur D’Air all the way in the Champion Hurdle at Cheltenham.

Last year’s winner Wicklow Brave, also trained by Mullins, cut out much of the running under the trainer’s son, Patrick, and remained in front approaching the third flight from home.

Samcro and Melon, ridden by Jack Kennedy and Paul Townend respectively, were both making their move when they fell independently at the same obstacle.

From that point Robbie Power took dead aim at Wicklow Brave aboard Jessica Harrington’s Irish Champion Hurdle winner Supasundae and the 7-1 shot powered clear for a decisive three-and-a-quarter-length success.

Wicklow Brave was a clear second ahead of another Mullins inmate Bleu Berry in third.

Power said: “I saw Samcro fall, I didn’t know Melon had fallen, but if you don’t buy a ticket, you don’t win.”

BETDAQ Punchestown Champion Hurdle (Grade 1)
€275,000 added, 4yo plus, 2m, Class 1
7 ran
Going: Soft

Pos D Horse SP Jockey Weight Trainer Age
1st Supasundae 7/1 R M Power
Mrs J Harrington 8
2nd Wicklow Brave 12/1 Mr P W Mullins
W P Mullins 9
3rd 19 Bleu Berry (FR) 40/1 M P Walsh
W P Mullins 7
4th 33 Coquin Mans (FR) 14/1 D J Mullins
W P Mullins 6
5th 46 The Game Changer (IRE) 66/1 D N Russell
G Elliott 9
F Melon 11/4 P Townend
W P Mullins 6
F Samcro (IRE) 5/6f J W Kennedy
G Elliott 6
NR Min (FR) N D Fehily
W P Mullins 7

Year Horse Age/Wt Owner Trainer Jockey SP
2017 Wicklow Brave 8-11-12 Wicklow B’stock (Ire) Ltd Willie Mullins Mr Patrick Mullins 12/1
2016 Vroum Vroum Mag Susannah Ricci Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 4/6 Fav
2015 Faugheen 7-11-12 Susannah Ricci Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 1/6 Fav
2014 Jezki 6-11-12 J P McManus Jessica Harrington A P McCoy 4/5 Fav
2013 Hurricane Fly 9-11-12 George Creighton & Rose Boyd Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 1/4 Fav
2012 Hurricane Fly 8-11-12 George Creighton & Rose Boyd Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 4/11 Fav
2011 Hurricane Fly 7-11-12 George Creighton & Rose Boyd Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 1/2 Fav
2010 Hurricane Fly 6-11-12 George Creighton & Rose Boyd Willie Mullins Paul Townend 3/1
2009 Solwhit 5-11-12 Top Of The Hill Syndicate Charles Byrnes Davy Russell 2/1 Jt Fav
2008 Punjabi 5-11-12 Raymond Tooth Nicky Henderson GB Barry Geraghty 2/1
2007 Silent Oscar 8-11-12 Patrick Convery Harry Rogers Robbie Power 20/1
2006 Macs Joy 7-11-12 Mac’s J Racing Jessica Harrington Barry Geraghty 11/4
2005 Brave Inca 7-11-12 Novices Syndicate Colm Murphy A P McCoy 2/1
2004 Hardy Eustace 7-11-12 Lar Byrne Dessie Hughes Conor O’Dwyer 3/1
2003 Quazar 5-11-13 David Carr Jonjo O’Neill GB Tony Dobbin 7/2
2002 Davenport Milenium 6-11-12 Mrs Noel O’Callaghan Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 11/2
*2001 Moscow Flyer 7-12-00 Brian Kearney Jessica Harrington Barry Geraghty 6/1
2000 Grimes 7-11-09 J P McManus Christy Roche Charlie Swan 6/1
1999 Istabraq 7-12-00 J P McManus Aidan O’Brien Charlie Swan 1/4 Fav
1998-96 No race
1995 Fortune And Fame 8-11-08 Michael Smurfit Dermot Weld Richard Dunwoody 4/7 Fav
1994 Fortune And Fame 7-11-08 Michael Smurfit Dermot Weld Brendan Sheridan 4/9 Fav
1993 Camden Buzz 5-11-05 Carmel Byrne Paddy Mullins Charlie Swan Evs Fav
* Run at Leopardstown

Odds catcher