Coral Punchestown Gold Cup
Grade 1, Punchestown 17:30
€275,000 added, 5yo plus,
3m 1f, Class 1      
Wednesday 25th April 2018


1 Bellshill 4/1
2 Djakadam 5/1
3 Road To Respect 7/2F
12 ran NR: Alpha Des Obeaux Distances: ¾l, 8l, hd
Time: 6m 43.00s (slow by 44.00s)

Bellshill wins, leading home a one-two for Willie Mullins with Djakadam second

© Caroline Norris
Willie Mullins saddled a 1-2 in the day’s feature Grade 1 when Bellshill, the mount of David Mullins, came home three-quarters of a length in front of Djakadam (Mr Patrick Mullins).
“David gave the horse a great ride and I’m delighted for Bellshill’s owner Graham Wylie,” said the winning trainer. “It’s fantastic for the horse to come back from Fairyhouse, where he was disqualified. To return and win like this today showed what he had in the tank. The horse has a huge engine.”
David Mullins added: “As we have seen today and yesterday, it is amazing how quickly things can turn around and it is great to get one here this week. We went a good gallop and that was Bellshill’s first time in a proper Gold Cup over three miles against seasoned horses. He has bossed the handicappers and run well in novice races, but he stepped up to the plate and I think you will find plenty of improvement next season.
“I was confident going down to the last that I was going to win 10 lengths and if I needed him, he would pick up for me. I felt I had that much horse, but as you see there, he is so idle when he hits the front.  It is a bit of sickener to lose the Irish National but we have got something back here and it is great to do it in Punchestown. Bellshill has got plenty of ability and is so good to jump. He has the right attitude and, although he doesn’t do enough when he hits the front, I am sure as he matures that will be ironed out.
“Graham Wylie gave me my first G1 winner on Nichols Canyon. I have had plenty of success for him and he is great supporter of the yard, and to get the opportunities for Willie this week when all the pressure is on for the championship is pretty special.”

Punchestown Gold Cup
€275,000 added, 5yo plus, 3m 1f, Class 1
12 ran
Going: Yielding, Yielding to Soft in places

Pos D Horse SP Jockey Weight Trainer Age
1st Bellshill (IRE) 4/1 D J Mullins
W P Mullins 8
2nd ¾ Djakadam (FR) 5/1 Mr P W Mullins
W P Mullins 9
3rd 8 Road To Respect (IRE) 7/2f S W Flanagan
N Meade 7
4th hd Sub Lieutenant (IRE) 12/1 D N Russell
H de Bromhead 9
5th 2 Killultagh Vic (IRE) 11/2 P Townend
W P Mullins 9
6th s.h Sizing Granite (IRE) 16/1 R M Power
C L Tizzard 10
7th 6 Edwulf 8/1 Mr D O'Connor
Joseph P O'Brien 9
8th 24 Outlander (IRE) 18/1 J W Kennedy
G Elliott 10
9th hd Arctic Skipper (IRE) 100/1 A E Lynch
V Halley 9
10th 32 Sandymount Duke (IRE) 25/1 B J Geraghty
Mrs J Harrington 9
PU Sumos Novios (IRE) 33/1 J J Burke
W J Burke 10
PU Total Recall (IRE) 10/1 N D Fehily
W P Mullins 9
NR Alpha Des Obeaux (FR) Rachael Blackmore
M F Morris 8

Free Racing Tips

Year Horse Age/Wt Owner Trainer Jockey SP

2017 Sizing John 7-11-10 Ann & Alan Potts Limited Mrs J Harrington R M Power 9/10F
2016 Carlingford Lough 10-11-10 J P McManus John Kiely Barry Geraghty 12/1
2015 Don Cossack 8-11-10 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott Paul Carberry 5/2
2014 Boston Bob 9-11-10 Andrea & Graham Wylie Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 5/2 Fav
2013 Sir Des Champs 7-11-10 Gigginstown House Stud Willie Mullins Davy Russell 2/1 Fav
2012 China Rock 9-11-10 Michael O’Flynn Mouse Morris Barry Geraghty 20/1
2011 Follow The Plan 8-11-10 Redgap Partnership Oliver McKiernan Tom Doyle 20/1
2010 Planet Of Sound 8-11-10 Charles Lloyd-Baker Philip Hobbs GB Richard Johnson 14/1
2009 Notre Pere 8-11-10 Tilly Conway Jim Dreaper Andrew Lynch 15/8 Fav
2008 Neptune Collonges 7-11-10 John Hales Paul Nicholls GB Ruby Walsh 9/10 Fav
2007 Neptune Collonges 6-11-12 John Hales Paul Nicholls GB Ruby Walsh 8/1
2006 War Of Attrition 7-11-12 Gigginstown House Stud Mouse Morris Conor O’Dwyer 4/5 Fav
2005 Kicking King 7-11-12 Conor Clarkson Tom Taaffe Barry Geraghty 8/11 Fav
2004 Beef Or Salmon 8-11-12 Joe Craig Michael Hourigan Timmy Murphy 5/4 Fav
2003 First Gold 10-12-00 J P McManus Francois Doumen FR Thierry Doumen 7/4 Fav
2002 Florida Pearl 10-12-00 Violet O’Leary Willie Mullins Barry Geraghty 13/8 Fav
*2001 Moscow Express 9-12-00 John Corr Frances Crowley Barry Geraghty 8/11 Fav
2000 Commanche Court 7-11-09 Dermot Desmond Ted Walsh Ruby Walsh 100/30
1999 Imperial Call 10-11-09 Lisselan Farms Ltd Raymond Hurley Ruby Walsh 8/1
1998 Mahler 8-10-12 English Badminton P’ship Nigel Twiston-Davies GB Carl Llewellyn 5/1
1997 Noyan 7-11-01 C H McGhie Richard Fahey GB Norman Williamson 13/2
1996 Billygoat Gruff 7-11-03 Peter Cooper David Nicholson GB Richard Johnson 7/1
1995 Butches Boy 6-10-07 Bridget Kennedy Pat Fahy Francis Woods 14/1
1994 Merry Gale 6-12-00 Herb M Stanley Jim Dreaper Kevin O’Brien 5/2
1993 Fissure Seal 7-11-01 Delton Syndicate Harry de Bromhead Graham Bradley 7/1
1992 Second Schedual 7-11-00 Hugh McMahon Arthur Moore Richard Dunwoody 12/1
1991 Local Whisper 7-10-07 Mrs Chris Harrington Arthur Bunyan Tommy Carmody 9/4 Fav
1990 Mixed Blends 8-11-00 J Spearman Mouse Morris Charlie Swan 7/4
1989 Super Furrow 9-11-09 Mrs M Marshall Jerry O’Neill Padge Gill 8/1
1988 Doubtful Venture 12-10-07 E Morrissey Paddy Mullins Conor O’Dwyer 12/1
1987 Bankers Benefit 7-10-13 Brigadier B Fowler John Fowler Anthony Powell 6/4 Fav
1986 Daltmore 8-10-01 N Coburn Paddy Mullins Tony Mullins 20/1
1985 Larry’s Latest 8-10-01 Miss A Collen Miss A Collen M Cummins 14/1
1984 Lantern Lodge 7-9-09 Mrs M Farrell Paddy Mullins Tony Mullins 7/2 Fav
1983 Pearlstone 7-10-08 William W Brainard Jnr Paddy Mullins Tony Mullins 3/1 Fav
1982 Fethard Friend 7-10-09 M Aherne Francis Flood Frank Berry 7/4 Fav
1981 Luska 7-10-01 John Brophy Paddy Mullins T V Finn 100/30
1980 Kilbricken Money 11-9-07 Mrs Charmian Hill
*Run at Fairyhouse

Odds catcher