Irish Daily Mirror Novice Hurdle
Grade 1, Punchestown 16:55
€100,000 added,
4yo, 3m,
Class 1   
Wednesday 1st May 2019

1 Minella Indo 5/1
2 Allaho 11/4F
3 Carefully Selected 9/2
12 ran NR: Gallant John Joe Distances: 2l, 1½l, 1½l
Time: 6m 2.00s (slow by 26.00s)

Minella Indo and Rachael Blackmore win

Minella Indo confirmed his Cheltenham superiority over Allaho, having beaten his adversary into third place in the Albert Bartlett in March.

Allaho attempted to make all under Ruby Walsh in a change of tactics from Cheltenham and jumping the second last, it appeared he was going better than Minella Indo.

However, turning into the straight Rachael Blackmore pulled Henry de Bromhead's charge out for a challenge and he quickened up smartly, shooting clear of Allaho to prove his Cheltenham win was no fluke at odds of 5/1.

Carefully Selected came from out of the pack to close into third, but Minella Indo ran out a two-length winner.

Irish Daily Mirror Novice Hurdle (Grade 1)
€100,000 added, 4yo plus, 3m, Class 1
12 ran
Going: Yielding

Pos D Horse SP Jockey Weight Trainer Age
1st Minella Indo (IRE) 5/1 Rachael Blackmore
H De Bromhead 6
2nd 2 Allaho (FR) 11/4f R Walsh
W P Mullins 5
3rd Carefully Selected (IRE) 9/2 P Townend
W P Mullins 7
4th First Approach (IRE) 33/1 S W Flanagan
N Meade 6
5th ¾ Go Another One (IRE) 18/1 R Johnson
J C McConnell 7
6th 12 Castlebawn West (IRE) 25/1 D E Mullins
W P Mullins 6
7th Walk Away (IRE) 12/1 R M Power
H De Bromhead 6
8th 23 Cap York (FR) 66/1 D F O'Regan
N Meade 7
PU Commander Of Fleet (IRE) 3/1 J W Kennedy
G Elliott 5
PU Defi Bleu (FR) 12/1 D N Russell
G Elliott 6
PU School Boy Hours (IRE) 25/1 M P Walsh
N Meade 6
PU Salsaretta (FR) 33/1 D J Mullins
W P Mullins 6
NR Gallant John Joe (IRE) B Browne
O McKiernan 6

Free Racing Tips


Year Horse Age/Wt Owner Trainer Jockey SP
2018 Next Destination 6-11-10 Malcolm C Denmark Willie Mullins Paul Townend 5/4F
2017 Champagne Classic 6-11-10 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott Bryan Cooper 14/1
2016 Bellshill 6-11-10 Andrea & Graham Wylie Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 2/1 Fav
2015 Killultagh Vic 6-11-10 Mrs R Boyd, Mrs M J Willie Mullins Paul Townend 8/1
Armstrong, J B Anderson
2014 Beat That 6-11-10 Michael Buckley Nicky Henderson GB Barry Geraghty 11/8 Fav
2013 Morning Assembly 6-11-10 Clipper Logistics Ltd Pat Fahy Davy Condon 14/1
2012 Marasonnien 6-11-10 Susannah Ricci Willie Mullins Paul Townend 12/1
2011 Askanna 6-11-01 John Asple Colin Bowe Mr Barry O’Neill 33/1
2010 Rigour Back Bob 5-11-07 Gaticoma Syndicate Edward O’Grady Barry Geraghty 6/1
2009 The Midnight Club 8-11-06 C C R Racing Syndicate Willie Mullins Emmet Mullins 7/4Fav
2008 Got Attitude 5-11-05 David Reid Scott Jessica Harrington Barry Geraghty 16/1

Join Free Racing Tips for FREE today.