AES Champion 4yo Hurdle
Grade 1, Punchestown 16:25
€100,000 added,
4yo, 2m, Class 1   
Saturday 4th May 2019

Horses 468x60 Jpg

1 Fusil Raffles 13/8F
2 Fakir D'oudairies 7/4
3 French Made 100/30
5 ran NR: Surin Distances: 2¾l, 5l, 2¾l
Time: 3m 51.90s (slow by 7.90s)

Fusil Raffles wins the AES Champion Four Year Old Hurdle

Nicky Henderson’s Fusil Raffles had impressed when winning the Adonis Hurdle at Kempton in February, but cut himself in doing so and had to forego a crack at the Triumph as well as being ruled out of Aintree.

However, Fusil Raffles rewarded the patience of connections with a strong performance to head long-time leader Fakir D’Oudairies at the final flight and go on to beat his battle-hardened main market rival by two and three-quarter lengths in the hands of Daryl Jacob.

“He was great. He’s done very well to get back from the injury he had at Kempton, it was horrible,” said Henderson.

“Obviously he had to miss Cheltenham and he had no chance of getting to Aintree, so it was just whether we had time to get back for this.

“To be fair, Sarah that looks after him has worked her socks off with the cut. It was on his hind leg and that’s why he’s got the boots on, to protect him.

“There is still a wound there, but it’s covered up. Credit to everybody – the vets who stitched him together at Kempton and our guys at home, and Sarah in particular, because it’s been a great effort to get him back.

“Fair play to him, he must be a good horse because I was nervous that he wouldn’t be quite ready for a battle like that both mentally and fitness wise. We only started training him three weeks ago, so he’s a tough horse and a good one.

“We’re very lucky because we found him and then he got wounded. Then a week later I found a thing called Pentland Hills (Triumph Hurdle winner) hiding in a corner!”

Jacob said: “He’s a nice horse and will go on a bit softer ground as well. They have done a fantastic job here with the ground all week and you couldn’t fault it.

“I was confident enough, but to be fair to the second horse, he quickened again off the bend and just as I got to him he had a little bit of a blow.

“He’d a big jump at the last and that sealed it. Please god he’s got a big campaign next year and it was nice to see him go and do that today.”

AES Champion Four Year Old Hurdle (Grade 1)
€100,000 added, 4yo only, 2m, Class 1
5 ran
Going: Good to Yielding

Pos D Horse SP Jockey Weight Trainer Age
1st Fusil Raffles (FR) 13/8f D A Jacob
N J Henderson 4
2nd Fakir D'Oudairies (FR) 7/4 Mr D O'Connor
J P O'Brien 4
3rd 5 French Made (FR) 10/3 P Townend
W P Mullins 4
4th Way Back Home (IRE) 16/1 R M Power
Padraig Roche 4
5th 36 Coko Beach (FR) 12/1 D N Russell
G Elliott 4
NR Surin (FR) J W Kennedy G Elliott

Year Horse Age/Wt Owner Trainer Jockey SP
2018 Saldier 4-11-00 Susannah Ricci Willie Mullins RM Power 10/1
2017 Bapaume 4-11-00 Susannah Ricci Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 2/1 Fav
2016 Apple's Jade 4-10-7 Gigginstown House Willie Mullins Brian Cooper 8/13 Fav
2015 Petite Parisienne 4-10-07 Gigginstown House Stud Willie Mullins Bryan Cooper 11/4 Fav
2014 Abbyssial 4-11-00 Mrs Violet O’Leary Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 15/2
2013 Diakali 4-11-00 Wicklow Bloodstock Ltd Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh Evs Fav
2012 Hisaabaat 4-11-00 Dr Ronan Lambe Dermot Weld IRE Andrew Lynch 4/1
2011 Grandouet 4-11-00 Simon Munir Nicky Henderson GB Barry Geraghty 5/2
2010 Barizan 4-11-00 Peter Conway Evan Williams GB Jason Maguire 4/1
2009 Jumbo Rio 4-11-00 Patrick Wilmott Edward O’Grady Andrew McNamara 5/2
2008 Won In The Dark 4-11-00 Gerard Crehan Sabrina Harty Davy Russell 4/1
2007 Punjabi 4-11-00 Raymond Tooth Nicky Henderson GB Mick Fitzgerald 6/4 Fav
2006 Quatre Heures 4-11-00 John Mc’s Winchester Synd. Willie Mullins Mick Fitzgerald 9/2
2005 United 4-10-09 R B Holt Lucy Wadham GB Leighton Aspell 6/1
2004 Cherub 4-11-00 Atlantic Joinery Ltd Jonjo O’Neill GB Tony Dobbin 14/1
2003 Sporazene 4-11-00 Ged Mason/David Jackson Paul Nicholls GB Ruby Walsh 7/1
2002 Quazar 4-11-00 David Carr Jonjo O’Neill GB Tony Dobbin 9/2 Fav
*2001 Holy Orders 4-11-00 John J Brennan Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 7/1
2000 Topacio 4-11-00 Pearse Racing Club Pat Hughes Charlie Swan 10/1
1999 Katarino 4-11-00 Robert Waley-Cohen Nicky Henderson GB Mick Fitzgerald 7/4 Fav
1998 Zafarabad 4-11-00 Elaine Baines David Nicholson GB Richard Johnson 2/1 Fav
1997 Grimes 4-11-00 J P McManus Christy Roche Conor O’Dwyer 5/2
1996 Shaunies Lady 4-10-09 D Coughlan Aidan O’Brien A P McCoy 10/1
1995 Shaihar 4-11-00 Des Sharkey Michael O’Brien Kevin O’Brien 16/1
1994 Glenstal Flagship 4-11-00 Joe Crowley Aidan O’Brien Charlie Swan 6/1
1993 Shawiya 4-10-09 Miss G Maher Michael O’Brien Charlie Swan 11/4
1992 Staunch Friend 4-11-09 Benny Schmidt-Bodner Mark Tompkins GB Steve Smith Eccles 6/1
1991 Mounamara 4-11-04 David Brennan Paddy Mullins Tommy Carmody 6/1
1990 Orbis 4-11-06 Mrs C Shubotham Jim Bolger Tommy Carmody 7/4 Fav
1989 Royal Derbi 4-11-09 J Lockhart Neville Callaghan GB Graham McCourt 7/1
1988 Allen’s Mistake 4-11-03 Allen Paulson Dermot Weld Brendan Sheridan 5/2
1987 Grabel 4-11-00 P Kehoe Paddy Mullins Tony Mullins 8/1
1986 Derrymore Boy 4-11-03 N Grant Paddy Mullins Tony Mullins 9/2
1985 Atherstone 4-11-03 G Blair Noel Meade Paul Leech 25/1
1984 Clarinbridge 4-11-06 P Barrett Jim Bolger B Nolan 9/2 Jt Fav
1983 Grateful Heir 4-11-00 Mrs J O’Brien Liam Browne Mr Dermot Browne 20/1
1982 Bustineto 4-11-08 Timothy Kinsella Mick O’Toole Niall Madden 4/6 Fav
1981 Tie Anchor 4-11-01 Daniel Hale Paddy Prendergast Tom Morgan 3/1
1980 Pearlstone 4-10-13 William W Brainard Jun. Paddy Mullins Sean Treacy 11/2
*Run at Fairyhouse

Join Free Racing Tips for FREE today.