Boylesports Champion Chase
Grade 1, Punchestown 17:30
€250,000 added,
5yo plus,
2m, Class 1   
Tuesday 30th April 2019

1 Un De Sceaux 11/4
2 Min 8/13F
3 Castlegrace Paddy 20/1
6 ran Distances: 4l, 38l, 4l
Time: 4m 9.90s (slow by 11.90s)

The popular veteran Un De Sceaux was a brilliant winner of the two-mile contest last season and had run just twice since – giving Altior a real race in the Tingle Creek at Sandown before finishing fifth in the Ryanair Chase at Cheltenham.

He was an 11-4 chance to strike gold on his return to action, with stablemate Min the 8-13 favourite to follow up his devastating victory in the JLT Chase at Aintree three and a half weeks ago.

Un De Sceaux was soon bowling along at the head of affairs under Paul Townend, with Min always his closest pursuer in the hands of Ruby Walsh.

Min attempted to close the gap leaving the back straight, but was untidy at the fence before the home turn and it was soon obvious he would struggle to get on terms – with Un De Sceaux showing no signs of stopping.

The 11-year-old safely negotiated the final two fences and was ultimately well on top as he passed the post four lengths to the good.

Un De Sceaux was recording his 23rd career victory and his 10th at Grade One level.

Mullins said: “It was an incredible performance for an 11-year-old in a race like that – I think he’s probably older than the two hunt horses that led him in!

“It’s unbelievable the energy he has and he comes out with that every morning. I’ve never had a horse with his enthusiasm – he just loves it.

“Paul thought he was dead underneath him at the start, but the minute he faced him for the tape, he came alive. He said he was a passenger for three-quarters of the way, but that’s a great feeling for a jockey – being on a machine like that and jumping so well.

“Un De Sceaux has come here a fresh horse compared to Min. Min had a very hard race in Aintree and maybe he needs an extra half-mile at this stage of his career.”

Boylesports Champion Chase
€250,000 added, 5yo plus, 2m, Class 1
6 ran
Going: Yielding

Pos D Horse SP Jockey Weight Trainer Age
1st Un De Sceaux (FR) 11/4 P Townend
W P Mullins 11
2nd 4 Min (FR) 8/13f R Walsh
W P Mullins 8
3rd 38 Castlegrace Paddy (IRE) 20/1 D N Russell
P A Fahy 8
4th 4 Great Field (FR) 8/1 J S McGarvey
W P Mullins 8
5th 5 Hell's Kitchen 20/1 M P Walsh
H Fry 8
6th 11 Ordinary World (IRE) 40/1 Rachael Blackmore
H De Bromhead 9

Mathematician Betting

Past Results:

Year Horse Age/Wt/Owner Trainer Jockey
2018 Un De Sceaux 9/2 10-11-12
E O'Connell
Willie Mullins Mr P W Mullins
2017 Fox Norton 5/2 7-11-12
Ann & Alan Potts Limited
C L Tizzard R M Power
2016 God's Own 9/1 8-11-12
Crossed Fingers P’ship
T R George P J Brennan
2015 Felix Yonger 5/1 9-11-12
Andrea & Graham Wylie
Willie Mullins Danny Mullins
2014 Sizing Europe 7/1 12-11-12
Ann & Alan Potts P’ship
Henry de Bromhead Andrew Lynch
2013 Sprinter Sacre
1/9 Fav
Mrs Caroline Mould
Nicky Henderson GB Barry Geraghty
2012 Sizing Europe
8/13 Fav
Ann & Alan Potts P’ship
Henry de Bromhead Andrew Lynch
2011 Big Zeb
Pat Redmond
Colm Murphy Barry Geraghty
2010 Golden Silver
Violet O’Leary
Willie Mullins Paul Townend
2009 Master Minded 30/100 Fav 6-11-12
Clive Smith
Paul Nicholls GB Ruby Walsh
2008 Twist Magic
6/4 Fav
Barry Fulton, Tony Hayward, Michael Lynch
Paul Nicholls GB Ruby Walsh
2007 Mansony 13/2 8-11-12
Michael Mulholland
Arthur Moore Davy Russell
2006 Newmill 5/4 Fav 8-11-12
Mary Hayes
John Murphy Andrew McNamara
2005 Rathgar Beau 8/1 9-11-12
One-O-Eight Racing Club
Eamon Sheehy Shay Barry
2004 Moscow Flyer 4/11 Fav 10-11-12
Brian Kearney
Jessica Harrington Barry Geraghty
2003 Flagship Uberalles 8/1 9-12-00
J P McManus
Philip Hobbs GB Richard Johnson
2002 Strong Run 4/1 9-12-00
Michael McGrath
Noel Meade Paul Carberry
*2001 Micko’s Dream 5/1 9-12-00
Sport Racing Club
Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh
2000 Get Real 3/1 9-11-06
Pioneer Heat-Treatment
Nicky Henderson GB Mick Fitzgerald
1999 Celibate 7/1 8-11-09
Stamford Bridge P’ship
Charlie Mann GB Richard Dunwoody
1998 Big Matt 16/1 10-10-11
Ted Benfield & Bill Brown
Nicky Henderson GB Mick Fitzgerald
1997 Klairon Davis 11/10 Fav 8-12-00
Chris Jones
Arthur Moore Francis Woods
1996 Klairon Davis 5/2 7-12-00
Chris Jones
Arthur Moore Francis Woods
1995 Strong Platinum 3/1 Fav 7-11-01
Theresa McCoubrey
Paddy Burke Conor O’Dwyer
1994 Saraemma 16/1 8-10-12
Dermot Cox
Homer Scott Kevin O’Brien
1993 Viking Flagship 5/4 Fav 6-10-07
Roach Foods Ltd
David Nicholson GB Richard Dunwoody
1992 The Musical Priest 8/1 10-10-07
Mrs Seamus Purcell
Michael Purcell Jason Titley
1991 Good For A Laugh 8/1 7-9-11
Dr Michael Smurfit
Arthur Moore Charlie Swan
1990 Rust Never Sleeps 14/1 6-10-06
D M Murphy
Austin Leahy Gerry O’Neill
1989 Super Furrow 12/1 9-12-00
Mrs M Marshall
Jerry O’Neill Padge Gill
1988 Flying Ferret 8/1 7-9-07
Mrs V O’Leary
Tony Redmond Brendan Powell
1987 Eddie Wee 11/2 Jt Fav 11-10-12
Mrs Y Rock
Billy Rock Conor O’Dwyer
1986 Another Brownie 6/1 7-9-07
S Lucey
M McGrath J P Byrne
1985 Buck House 11/10 Fav 7-11-07
Mrs S Purcell
Mouse Morris Tommy Carmody
1984 Travelowen 6/4 Fav 7-12-00
Mrs M Kelly
Tom Costello Mr Tom Costello
1983 Turloughmore Lad 7/1 8-9-07
M McDonagh
Paddy Norris Paul Leech
1982 Light The Wad 3/1 9-11-03
Exors of Patrick Downey
Dessie Hughes Tom Morgan
1981 Light The Wad 6/1 8-10-10
Patrick Downey
Dessie Hughes Frank Leavy
1980 Paddy Bouler 7/4 Fav 7-11-04
P Rooney
Pat Rooney S Lynch

Join Free Racing Tips for FREE today.