BETDAQ Punchestown Champion Hurdle
horse racing tipster
Grade 1, Punchestown 17:30
€300,000 added,
4yo plus,
2m, Class 1   
Friday 3rd May 2019


1 Buveur D'Air 2/1F
2 Supasundae 9/2
3 Wicklow Brave 16/1
7 ran Distances: 2½l, 1¼l, ½l
Time: 3m 54.30s (slow by 10.30s)

Buveur D'Air surges to an impressive victory

Nicky Henderson’s dual winner of the Champion Hurdle at Cheltenham had questions to answer on his Irish debut having fallen when bidding to become the sixth horse to win a third two-mile hurdling crown at Prestbury Park before finding Supasundae too strong in the Aintree Hurdle.

With Davy Russell taking over in the saddle after Mark Walsh suffered an injury earlier in afternoon, 2-1 joint-favourite Buveur D’Air travelled strongly throughout the two-mile contest and loomed ominously into the slipstream of Petit Mouchoir rounding the home turn.

Once given his head, the JP McManus-owned eight-year-old soon asserted and was good value for the winning margin of two and a half lengths.

Last year’s winner Supasundae was doing his best work at the finish in second, with Wicklow Brave – winner of this event in 2017 – also making late gains in third.

The other joint-favourite – Apple’s Jade – again failed to run up to her best following defeats at Cheltenham and Aintree.

BETDAQ Punchestown Champion Hurdle (Grade 1)
€300,000 added, 4yo plus, 2m, Class 1
7 ran
Going: Yielding, Good to Yielding in places

Pos D Horse SP Jockey Weight Trainer Age
1st Buveur D'Air (FR) 2/1j D N Russell
N J Henderson 8
2nd Supasundae 9/2 R M Power
Mrs J Harrington 9
3rd Wicklow Brave 16/1 Mr P W Mullins
W P Mullins 10
4th ½ Petit Mouchoir (FR) 33/1 B J Cooper
H De Bromhead 8
5th ½ Apple's Jade (FR) 2/1j J W Kennedy
G Elliott 7
6th Summerville Boy (IRE) 33/1 J J Burke
T R George 7
7th Melon 5/1 P Townend
W P Mullins 7

Year Horse Age/Wt Owner Trainer Jockey SP
2018 Supasundae 8-11-12 Wicklow B’stock (Ire) Ltd Mrs J Harrington RM Power 12/1
2017 Wicklow Brave 8-11-12 Wicklow B’stock (Ire) Ltd Willie Mullins Mr Patrick Mullins 12/1
2016 Vroum Vroum Mag 7-11-5 Susannah Ricci Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 4/6 Fav
2015 Faugheen 7-11-12 Susannah Ricci Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 1/6 Fav
2014 Jezki 6-11-12 J P McManus Jessica Harrington A P McCoy 4/5 Fav
2013 Hurricane Fly 9-11-12 George Creighton & Rose Boyd Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 1/4 Fav
2012 Hurricane Fly 8-11-12 George Creighton & Rose Boyd Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 4/11 Fav
2011 Hurricane Fly 7-11-12 George Creighton & Rose Boyd Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 1/2 Fav
2010 Hurricane Fly 6-11-12 George Creighton & Rose Boyd Willie Mullins Paul Townend 3/1
2009 Solwhit 5-11-12 Top Of The Hill Syndicate Charles Byrnes Davy Russell 2/1 Jt Fav
2008 Punjabi 5-11-12 Raymond Tooth Nicky Henderson GB Barry Geraghty 2/1
2007 Silent Oscar 8-11-12 Patrick Convery Harry Rogers Robbie Power 20/1
2006 Macs Joy 7-11-12 Mac’s J Racing Jessica Harrington Barry Geraghty 11/4
2005 Brave Inca 7-11-12 Novices Syndicate Colm Murphy A P McCoy 2/1
2004 Hardy Eustace 7-11-12 Lar Byrne Dessie Hughes Conor O’Dwyer 3/1
2003 Quazar 5-11-13 David Carr Jonjo O’Neill GB Tony Dobbin 7/2
2002 Davenport Milenium 6-11-12 Mrs Noel O’Callaghan Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 11/2
*2001 Moscow Flyer 7-12-00 Brian Kearney Jessica Harrington Barry Geraghty 6/1
2000 Grimes 7-11-09 J P McManus Christy Roche Charlie Swan 6/1
1999 Istabraq 7-12-00 J P McManus Aidan O’Brien Charlie Swan 1/4 Fav
1998-96 No race
1995 Fortune And Fame 8-11-08 Michael Smurfit Dermot Weld Richard Dunwoody 4/7 Fav
1994 Fortune And Fame 7-11-08 Michael Smurfit Dermot Weld Brendan Sheridan 4/9 Fav
1993 Camden Buzz 5-11-05 Carmel Byrne Paddy Mullins Charlie Swan Evs Fav
* Run at Leopardstown

Odds catcher