Dooley Insurance Champion Novice Chase
Grade 1, Punchestown 18:40
Race Value: €100,000
5yo plus
3m 120y    
Tuesday 30th April 2019

Free Racing Tips

1 Delta Work 13/8F
2 Discorama 12/1
3 A Plus Tard 9/4
8 ran Distances: 12l, 2¼l, 7½l
Time: 6m 41.90s (slow by 42.90s)

The Gigginstown House Stud-owned Delta Work has been the star performer in Ireland's staying novice division this season - winning his first three starts over fences including successive Grade One wins at Fairyhouse and Leopardstown.

He could only finish third when a hot favourite to claim his second Cheltenham Festival success in the RSA Chase, but was well fancied to bounce back as the 13-8 market leader.

With British raider Drovers Lane and Articulum disputing the lead for much of the extended three-mile journey, Davy Russell was happy to take his time on board Delta Work before allowing him to cruise to the lead before the home turn.

A Plus Tard briefly threatened to make a race of it, but Delta Work found another gear under a motionless Russell on the run to the last and winged the obstacle to seal a 12-length success.

Discorama was doing his best work at the finish and beat A Plus Tard to the runner-up spot, while Getabird travelled strongly for a long way but folded tamely.

Delta Work was cut to a best priced 14/1 for next year's Magners Cheltenham Gold Cup and Elliott already has one eye on the blue riband next March.

Elliott said: "He showed today how good he is. At Cheltenham he never really got into a rhythm and nothing really worked out.

"Today he was very, very good and he could be anything - he's a horse to really look forward to.

"I'll have to speak to Michael and Eddie (O'Leary), but the Gold Cup will be the plan.

"I haven't given him much work since he ran in Cheltenham - we've just kept him hacking away.

"We knew we were light of bullets this week, so it's nice to get a Grade One on the board on the first day."


Dooley Insurance Champion Novice Chase (Grade 1)
€100,000 added, 5yo plus, 3m 120y, Class 1
8 ran
Going: Yielding

Pos D Horse SP Jockey Weight Trainer Age
1st Delta Work (FR) 13/8f D N Russell
G Elliott 6
2nd 12 Discorama (FR) 12/1 B J Cooper
P Nolan 6
3rd A Plus Tard (FR) 9/4 Rachael Blackmore
H De Bromhead 5
4th Drovers Lane (IRE) 33/1 P Townend
Miss R Curtis 7
PU Articulum (IRE) 20/1 D J Mullins
T O'Brien 9
PU Chris's Dream (IRE) 12/1 R M Power
H De Bromhead 7
PU Getabird (IRE) 4/1 R Walsh
W P Mullins 7
PU Winter Escape (IRE) 25/1 M P Walsh
A A Howard 8

Past Results:

Year Horse Age/Wt Owner Trainer Jockey SP

2018 The Storyteller 7-11-10 Mrs P Sloan Gordon Elliott D N Russell 16/1

2017 Disko 6-11-10 Gigginstown House Stud N Meade B J Cooper 13/8

2016 Zabana 7-11-10 Chris Jones Andrew Lynch Davy Russell 7/2

2015 Valseur Lido 6-11-10 Gigginstown House Stud Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 15/2

2014 Carlingford Lough 8-11-10 J P McManus John Kiely A P McCoy 7/2

2013 Mount Benbulben 8-11-10 Barry Connell Gordon Elliott Danny Mullins 14/1

2012 Sir Des Champs 6-11-10 Gigginstown House Stud Willie Mullins Davy Russell 2/7 Fav

2011 Quito De La Roque 7-11-10 Gigginstown House Stud Colm Murphy Davy Russell 7/2

2010 Kempes 7-11-10 J P McManus Willie Mullins A P McCoy 9/1

2009 Rare Bob 7-11-10 D A Syndicate Dessie Hughes Paddy Flood 7/1

2008 Air Force One 6-11-10 Brian Walsh (Co. Kildare) Charlie Mann GB Noel Fehily 2/1

2007 Offshore Account 7-11-10 Brian Polly Charlie Swan Denis O’Regan 16/1

2006 Missed That 7-11-10 Violet O’Leary Willie Mullins David Casey 4/1

2005 Forget The Past 7-11-10 Sean Mulryan Michael O’Brien Timmy Murphy 7/4 Fav

2004 Lord Sam 8-11-08 Plain Peeps Victor Dartnall GB Jim Culloty 5/4 Fav

2003 Heart Midoltian 6-11-00 Mrs Seamus Neville Seamus Neville Davy Russell 16/1

2002 Native Endurance 6-10-09 Patrick J O’Donovan Paddy Mullins David Casey 11/2

*2001 Sackville 8-11-12 Seamus O’Farrell Frances Crowley David Casey 4/11 Fav

2000 Zourito 7-12-00 Wilson Dennison Arthur Moore Barry Cash 100/30

1999 Ferbet Junior 6-12-00 David Attwood Jessica Harrington Barry Geraghty 3/1

1998 Fiddlers Tune 8-11-05 Herb M Stanley Michael Cunningham A P McCoy 7/2

1997 Linton Rocks 8-11-08 Hon. Mrs Townshend Tim Thomson Jones GB Richard Dunwoody 7/4 Fav

1996 Shanagarry 7-12-00 Patrick Heffernan Patrick Heffernan Conor O’Dwyer 3/1

1995 Camitrov 5-11-03 Jim Lewis Simon Christian GB Richard Dunwoody 7/2

1994 Belvederian 7-12-00 Tony O’Reilly Mouse Morris Graham Bradley 8/11 Fav

1993 Force Seven 6-11-05 Sheila Moore Paddy Mullins Trevor Horgan 11/4 Fav

1992 Milford Quay 9-11-10 W A Jones Martin Pipe GB Peter Scudamore 15/8 Fav

* Run at Fairyhouse

Odds catcher