Herald Champion Novice Hurdle
Grade 1, Punchestown 16:20
Race Value: €100,000
5yo plus
2m 100y, Class 1   
Tuesday 30th April 2019


1 Klassical Dream 8/13F
2 Felix Desjy 11/2
3 Mister Blue Sky 16/1
6 ran Distances: 5½l, 11l, 3¾l
Time: 4m 0.90s (slow by 11.90s)

Klassical Dream provided Willie Mullins with a record sixth victory in the Supreme Novices’ Hurdle at Cheltenham and was all the rage as the 8-13 favourite to add to his tally in a race the champion trainer had also won on six occasions.

Gordon Elliott’s Aintree winner Felix Desjy adopted his customary pacesetting role from the outset and the strong gallop had most of his rivals in trouble a long way from home.

However, Klassical Dream was always on his tail under Ruby Walsh and after taking over the lead jumping the penultimate flight, he eased clear in the straight for a facile five-and-a-half-length success.

Felix Desjy boxed on to finish a clear second, with Mister Blue Sky best of the rest in third.

Mullins said: “Ruby said he was too settled and was not as pleased as he was in Cheltenham, but I thought in Cheltenham he just ran very free.

“You can’t keep racing like that and I was much happier with today’s performance, albeit the second horse has been to Cheltenham and Aintree and had two very hard races. He’s a fair machine, but we were the beneficiary of him having those hard races today.”

Boylesports cut Klassical Dream to 4-1 from 9-1 for next year’s Champion Hurdle at Cheltenham and Mullins confirmed his charge is likely to remain over the smaller obstacles, rather than pursue a career over fences.

He added: “I’m happy to stay over hurdles and try to make a Champion Hurdle horse out of him. I think he could be good enough, so we’ll see.”

The Herald Champion Novice Hurdle
€100,000 added, 5yo plus, 2m 100y, Class 1
6 ran

Going: Yielding

Pos D Horse SP Jockey Weight Trainer Age
1st Klassical Dream (FR) 8/13f R Walsh
W P Mullins 5
2nd Felix Desjy (FR) 11/2 J W Kennedy
G Elliott 6
3rd 11 Mister Blue Sky (IRE) 16/1 D E Mullins
W P Mullins 5
4th Quick Grabim (IRE) 7/1 P Townend
W P Mullins 7
5th 5 Champagne Platinum (IRE) 16/1 M P Walsh
N J Henderson 5
6th 12 Aramon (GER) 9/1 D J Mullins
W P Mullins 6

Past Results:

Year Horse/SP Age/Wt Owner Trainer Jockey
2018 Draconien 25/1 5-11-12
Clipper Logistics Group Ltd
Willie Mullins N D Fehily
2017 Cilaos Emery 8/1 5-11-12
Luke McMahon
Willie Mullins David Mullins
2016 Don't Touch It 16/1 6-11-12
J P McManus
Mrs J Harrington B J Geraghty
2015 Douvan 1/6F 5-11-12
Susannah Ricci
Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh
2014 Faugheen 1/2F 6-11-12
Susannah Ricci
Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh
2013 Jezki 2/1 5-11-12
J P McManus
Jessica Harrington Barry Geraghty
2012 Alderwood 5/2 8-11-12
J P McManus
Tom Mullins A P McCoy
2011 Shot From The Hip 11/2 7-11-12
J P McManus
Edward O’Grady A P McCoy
2010 Blackstair
Susannah Ricci
Willie Mullins Paul Townend
2009 Hurricane Fly 4/6 Fav 5-11-12
George Creight
on/Rose Boyd Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh
2008 Jered 7/4 Fav 6-11-12
J P McManus
Noel Meade A P McCoy
2007 Clopf 7/4 Fav 6-11-12
Bernard Heffernan
Edward O’Grady Barry Geraghty
2006 Iktitaf 8/1 5-11-11
Mrs Pat Sloan
Noel Meade Ruby Walsh
2005 Wild Passion 7/4 Fav 5-11-11
Des Sharkey
Noel Meade Paul Carberry
2004 Brave Inca 2/1 Fav 6-11-12
Novices Syndicate
Colm Murphy Barry Cash
2003 Back In Front 4/11 Fav 6-11-12
Dermot Cox
Edward O’Grady Norman Williamson
2002 Scottish Memories 11/4 6-11-12
Mary Halligan
Noel Meade Paul Carberry
*2001 Ned Kelly 4/5 Fav 5-11-11
Sue Magnier
Edward O’Grady Norman Williamson
2000 Moscow Flyer 10/1 6-12-00 Brian Kearney Jessica Harrington Barry Geraghty
1999 Cardinal Hill 1/2 Fav 5-11-13
J P McManus
Noel Meade Charlie Swan
1998 His Song 6/4 5-11-13
David Lloyd
Mouse Morris A P McCoy
1997 Midnight Legend 7/4 Fav 6-12-00
Hilda Clarke
David Nicholson GB Richard Johnson
1996 Dance Beat 7/2 5-11-08
Mrs E Queally
Jessica Harrington John Shortt
1995 Hotel Minella 5/4 Fav 8-12-00
John J Nallen
Aidan O’Brien Charlie Swan
1994 Klairon Davis 7/4 Fav 5-11-13
Chris Jones
Arthur Moore Tom Horgan
1993 Bayrouge 7/2 5-11-08
Joe Crowley
Anne-Marie O’Brien Richard Dunwoody
1992 Fortune And Fame 11/4 Fav 5-11-13
Michael Smurfit
Dermot Weld Brendan Sheridan
1991 Young Pokey 5/2 6-12-00
Maurice Oberstein
Oliver Sherwood GB Jamie Osborne
1990 Vestris Abu 5/2 4-10-05
Mrs C Shubotham
Jim Bolger Charlie Swan
1989 The Proclamation 9/2 6-10-13
J M Whaley
Paddy Prendergast Richard Dunwoody
1988 El-Sid Senor 9/4 Fav 5-11-07
T Miley
Francis Flood Frank Berry
1987 High Plains 8/1 5-11-05
Raymond Mould
David Nicholson GB Richard Dunwoody
1986 Barney Burnett Evs Fav 6-11-09
P Donovan
Ruby Walsh Brendan Sheridan
1985 Hungary Hur 5/1 6-11-06
Mrs A Fegan
Paddy Mullins Tony Mullins
1984 Gav’s Delight 2/5 Fav 6-11-07
N McGrady
Michael Cunningham Ken Morgan
1983 Dawn Run 5/2 Fav 5-11-07
Mrs Charmian Hill
Paddy Mullins Tony Mullins
1982 Bustineto 5/2 4-10-05
Timothy Kinsella
Mick O’Toole Niall Madden
1981 Tie Anchor 2/1 Fav 4-10-09
Daniel Hale
Paddy Prendergast Tommy McGivern
1980 Deep Gale 7/1 7-11-08
J P McManus
Edward O’Grady Mr Frank Codd

Odds catcher