Ladbrokes Champion Stayers Hurdle
Grade 1, Punchestown 17:30
€275,000 added,
4yo plus,
3m, Class 1    
Thursday 2nd May 2019

1 Unowhatimeanharry 16/1
2 Bacardys 8/1
3 Bapaume 9/4F
10 ran Distances: 3l, hd, ½l
Time: 6m 1.80s (slow by 25.80s)

Wow! Unowhatimeanharry regains his crown at the age of 11

Harry Fry’s Unowhatimeanharry was once the leading staying hurdler in the division, but his last two runs suggested his best days were long behind him.

Ridden by Mark Walsh for just the second time, after Noel Fehily’s retirement, the 16-1 shot travelled much more sweetly than normal – in the first three or four throughout.

When the pace-setting Killultagh Vic gave way, there were plenty still in with a chance – including Bapaume, Vision Des Flos and Aux Ptits Soins – but the British-trained raider stayed on best of all.

The 11-year-old found plenty for pressure, powering up the run-in, and he had too much for Bacardys – who was three lengths away.

The 9-4 favourite Bapaume was back in third, with Killultagh Vic fourth.

Vision Des Flos made a bad blunder when just headed at the last, while Not Many Left fell at the same flight.

Fry traced Unowhatimeanharry’s moderate form of late to a mishap in the JLT Hurdle just before Christmas.

He said: “He took the first fall of his career at Ascot, and then didn’t show any of his old spark in his last two runs.

“We were coming here in hope rather than expectation.

“Mark (Walsh) said at Aintree he didn’t enjoy himself down the inner, so we let him out handy with a bit of light – and he’s come alive.”

Trainers Quotes

It was an emotional as well as unexpected success for the Dorset trainer.

“I’m over the moon,” added Fry.

“We brought a lorry load here, and if we could pick any of them to win this week it would be him – but to be honest he was possibly the least likely.

“He’s just thrived since he’s come over here, and the change of scenery appears to have sparked him up.”

The winner was a breakthrough horse for Fry in the early stages of his career.

“He’s put us on the map and won countless races for us,” he said.

“At 11 years of age to come back and win a Grade One, especially after the way he’s run recently, is special.

“There was a chance if today hadn’t gone well it could have been his last run, so we’ll cherish this win.

“The race he won here two years ago was a real battle up the straight with Nichols Canyon, and he showed those battling qualities again.

“We’ll enjoy this and enjoy the summer, and he’ll tell us (if he comes back in training next season).”


Ladbrokes Champion Stayers Hurdle
€275,000 added, 4yo plus, 3m, Class 1
10 ran
Going: Good To Yielding, Yielding in places

Pos D Horse SP Jockey Weight Trainer Age
1st Unowhatimeanharry 16/1 M P Walsh
H Fry 11
2nd 3 Bacardys (FR) 8/1 Mr P W Mullins
W P Mullins 8
3rd hd Bapaume (FR) 9/4f P Townend
W P Mullins 6
4th ½ Killultagh Vic (IRE) 16/1 D J Mullins
W P Mullins 10
5th nk Aux Ptits Soins (FR) 4/1 Harry Skelton
D Skelton 9
6th Vision Des Flos (FR) 10/1 T Scudamore
C L Tizzard 6
7th 30 Dortmund Park (FR) 8/1 D N Russell
G Elliott 6
8th 18 Cracking Smart (FR) 8/1 J W Kennedy
G Elliott 7
9th ½ Prince Of Scars (IRE) 66/1 K M Donoghue
G Elliott 9
F Not Many Left (IRE) 11/2 R M Power
Mrs J Harrington 6


Year Horse Age/Wt Owner Trainer Jockey SP
2018 Faugheen 10-11-10 Mrs S Ricci Willie Mullins DJ Mullins 11/2
2017 Unowhatimeanharry 9-11-10 J P McManus H Fry N D Fehily 4/1
2016 One Track Mind 6-11-10 Andy Weller W Greatrex Gavin Sheehan 10/1
2015 Jezki 7-11-10 J P McManus Jessica Harrington Mark Walsh 5/2
2014 Jetson 9-11-10 Gerard & Moira McGrath Jessica Harrington Davy Russell 20/1
2013 Quevega 9-11-03 Hammer & Trowel Synd. Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 6/4 Fav
2012 Quevega 8-11-03 Hammer & Trowel Synd. Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 11/10 Fav
2011 Quevega 7-11-05 Hammer & Trowel Synd. Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 8/11 Fav
2010 Quevega 6-11-05 Hammer & Trowel Synd. Willie Mullins Paul Townend 5/2 Fav
2009 Fiveforthree 7-11-10 Olde Crowbars Syndicate Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 5/4 Fav
2008 Blazing Bailey 6-11-10 Three Line Whip Alan King GB Robert Thornton 100/30 Fav
2007 Refinement 8-11-07 Michael Tabor Jonjo O’Neill GB A P McCoy 16/1
2006 Asian Maze 7-11-07 Sheila Moore Tom Mullins Ruby Walsh 8/13 Fav
2005 Carlys Quest 11-11-12 Mrs L Neville Ferdy Murphy GB Keith Mercer 25/1
2004 Rhinestone Cowboy 8-11-12 Sue Magnier Jonjo O’Neill GB Mr J P Magnier 5/2
2003 Holy Orders 6-11-12 Alan McLuckie Willie Mullins Shay Barry 6/1
2002 Limestone Lad 10-11-12 James Bowe James Bowe Paul Carberry 4/6 Fav
*2001 Bannow Bay 6-11-12 Linda Shanahan Christy Roche Charlie Swan 11/8 Fav
2000 Rubhahunish 9-11-11 Lone Star Racing P’ship Nigel Twiston-Davies GB Carl Llewellyn 5/1
1999 Anzum 8-12-00 Old Foresters Partnership David Nicholson GB Richard Johnson 7/1
1998 Derrymoyle 9-12-00 Herb M Stanley Michael Cunningham A P McCoy 10/1
1997 Paddy’s Return 5-11-12 Paddy O’Donnell Ferdy Murphy GB Norman Williamson 100/30
1996 Derrymoyle 7-12-00 Herb M Stanley Michael Cunningham Mark Dwyer 100/30
1995 Derrymoyle 6-11-11 Herb M Stanley Michael Cunningham Mark Dwyer 8/1
1994 Ultra Flutter 7-10-06 Donal Higgins Michael Hourigan Kevin O’Brien 7/2
1993 Always In Trouble 6-10-02 Margaret O’Rourke Michael O’Brien Jason Titley 8/1
1992 Shuil Ar Aghaidh 6-10-01 Mrs P Kiely Paddy Kiely Charlie Swan 2/1 Fav
* Run at Fairyhouse

Odds catcher