Ballymore Champion 4yo Hurdle
Grade 1, Punchestown 17:00
€125,000 guaranteed,
4yo, 2m, Class 1   
Saturday 30th April 2022

Horses 468x60 Jpg

1 Vauban 4/11F
2 Fil Dor 4/1
3 HMS Seahorse 33/1
6 ran Distances: 4l, 14l, hd
Time: 4m 6.90s (slow by 20.90s)

Narrowly beaten by Pied Piper on his Irish debut, the Willie Mullins-trained Vauban had since notched successive Grade One wins in the Spring Juvenile Hurdle at Leopardstown and the Triumph at Cheltenham.

The runner-up on both occasions was Pied Piper’s stablemate Fil Dor, who was once again in opposition and provided most resistance.

The pair had it between them from a long way out, with Fil Dor’s rider Davy Russell doing his level best to draw the sting out of Vauban by making it a strong test.

But the 4-11 favourite cruised up alongside the pacesetter still full of running on the approach to the final flight and only had to be pushed out hands and heels on the run-in by Paul Townend to score by four lengths.

“He did very well and Paul said he’s only learning, he has very few races under his belt,” said Mullins.

“Paul said he’s starting to get down and hurdle properly now. He settled in and changed gear when he wanted to.

“It was an automatic change of gear and he looks hugely exciting. He has serious gears and he’s only learning to race.

“He only had a few races on the Flat and he’s getting it together over hurdles now.

“We bought him before he won the Listed race in France, it’s a thing we never do but we spotted him and asked the price and they gave it to us. They wanted to run him in the Listed race, we said OK and kept our fingers crossed.

“He got into awful trouble in the race and there was huge interest after that, I’m sure Rich (Ricci) could have turned over a neat profit. 

“The Australians wanted him and he looked ideal for down there, maybe he’ll end up down there some day. Maybe we’ll have a tilt at the Melbourne Cup, not this year.

“He’s got a nice rating on the Flat and I think he has got lots of room to improve on the Flat as well.”

When it was put to him that he was a Champion Hurdle horse, he added: “He shaping up to be one.”


Ballymore Champion Four Year Old Hurdle (Grade 1)
€125,000 guaranteed, 4yo only, 2m, Class 1
6 ran
Going: Good to Yielding, Yielding in places

1      Vauban 4 11-0 W P Mullins Paul Townend 4/11F
4 Fil Dor 4 11-0 Gordon Elliott Davy Russell 4/1
14 HMS Seahorse 4 11-0 Paul Nolan B J Cooper 33/1
hd Il Etait Temps 4 11-0 W P Mullins Danny Mullins 9/1
12 Man O Work 4 11-0 P G Fahey Cian Cullinan 28/1
11 Innatendue 4 10-7 John C McConnell Simon Torrens 66/1

Year Horse Age/Wt Owner Trainer Jockey SP
2021 Jeff Kidder 4 11-2 Albert Dravins & Eamonn Scanlon Noel Meade Sean Flanagan 22/1
2020 Abandoned - Covid-19
2019 Fusil Raffles 4-11-00 Simon Munir & Isaac Souede Nicky Henderson Daryl Jacob 13/8F
2018 Saldier 4-11-00 Susannah Ricci Willie Mullins RM Power 10/1
2017 Bapaume 4-11-00 Susannah Ricci Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 2/1 Fav
2016 Apple's Jade 4-10-7 Gigginstown House Willie Mullins Brian Cooper 8/13 Fav
2015 Petite Parisienne 4-10-07 Gigginstown House Stud Willie Mullins Bryan Cooper 11/4 Fav
2014 Abbyssial 4-11-00 Mrs Violet O’Leary Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 15/2
2013 Diakali 4-11-00 Wicklow Bloodstock Ltd Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh Evs Fav
2012 Hisaabaat 4-11-00 Dr Ronan Lambe Dermot Weld IRE Andrew Lynch 4/1
2011 Grandouet 4-11-00 Simon Munir Nicky Henderson GB Barry Geraghty 5/2
2010 Barizan 4-11-00 Peter Conway Evan Williams GB Jason Maguire 4/1
2009 Jumbo Rio 4-11-00 Patrick Wilmott Edward O’Grady Andrew McNamara 5/2
2008 Won In The Dark 4-11-00 Gerard Crehan Sabrina Harty Davy Russell 4/1
2007 Punjabi 4-11-00 Raymond Tooth Nicky Henderson GB Mick Fitzgerald 6/4 Fav
2006 Quatre Heures 4-11-00 John Mc’s Winchester Synd. Willie Mullins Mick Fitzgerald 9/2
2005 United 4-10-09 R B Holt Lucy Wadham GB Leighton Aspell 6/1
2004 Cherub 4-11-00 Atlantic Joinery Ltd Jonjo O’Neill GB Tony Dobbin 14/1
2003 Sporazene 4-11-00 Ged Mason/David Jackson Paul Nicholls GB Ruby Walsh 7/1
2002 Quazar 4-11-00 David Carr Jonjo O’Neill GB Tony Dobbin 9/2 Fav
*2001 Holy Orders 4-11-00 John J Brennan Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 7/1
2000 Topacio 4-11-00 Pearse Racing Club Pat Hughes Charlie Swan 10/1
1999 Katarino 4-11-00 Robert Waley-Cohen Nicky Henderson GB Mick Fitzgerald 7/4 Fav
1998 Zafarabad 4-11-00 Elaine Baines David Nicholson GB Richard Johnson 2/1 Fav
1997 Grimes 4-11-00 J P McManus Christy Roche Conor O’Dwyer 5/2
1996 Shaunies Lady 4-10-09 D Coughlan Aidan O’Brien A P McCoy 10/1
1995 Shaihar 4-11-00 Des Sharkey Michael O’Brien Kevin O’Brien 16/1
1994 Glenstal Flagship 4-11-00 Joe Crowley Aidan O’Brien Charlie Swan 6/1
1993 Shawiya 4-10-09 Miss G Maher Michael O’Brien Charlie Swan 11/4
1992 Staunch Friend 4-11-09 Benny Schmidt-Bodner Mark Tompkins GB Steve Smith Eccles 6/1
1991 Mounamara 4-11-04 David Brennan Paddy Mullins Tommy Carmody 6/1
1990 Orbis 4-11-06 Mrs C Shubotham Jim Bolger Tommy Carmody 7/4 Fav
1989 Royal Derbi 4-11-09 J Lockhart Neville Callaghan GB Graham McCourt 7/1
1988 Allen’s Mistake 4-11-03 Allen Paulson Dermot Weld Brendan Sheridan 5/2
1987 Grabel 4-11-00 P Kehoe Paddy Mullins Tony Mullins 8/1
1986 Derrymore Boy 4-11-03 N Grant Paddy Mullins Tony Mullins 9/2
1985 Atherstone 4-11-03 G Blair Noel Meade Paul Leech 25/1
1984 Clarinbridge 4-11-06 P Barrett Jim Bolger B Nolan 9/2 Jt Fav
1983 Grateful Heir 4-11-00 Mrs J O’Brien Liam Browne Mr Dermot Browne 20/1
1982 Bustineto 4-11-08 Timothy Kinsella Mick O’Toole Niall Madden 4/6 Fav
1981 Tie Anchor 4-11-01 Daniel Hale Paddy Prendergast Tom Morgan 3/1
1980 Pearlstone 4-10-13 William W Brainard Jun. Paddy Mullins Sean Treacy 11/2
*Run at Fairyhouse

Odds catcher