Ladbrokes Champion Stayers Hurdle
Grade 1, Punchestown 17:25
€275,000 guaranteed,
4yo plus,
3m, Class 1    
Thursday 28th April 2022

1 Klassical Dream 11/10
2 Ashdale Bob 11/2
3 Gentlemansgame 10/1
7 ran NR: Thedevilscoachman Distances: 1¼l, 2½l, nk
Time: 6m 0.00s (slow by 30.00s)

Having returned from a lengthy lay off to win last year, Klassical Dream looked like being the dominant force in the division when beating Flooring Porter at Leopardstown over Christmas.

However, since then things had not gone to plan for Willie Mullins’ eight-year-old as he was beaten in the Galmoy Hurdle and faded into fifth in the Stayers’ Hurdle at Cheltenham having looked a big danger going to the last.

With Flooring Porter not running, Sire Du Berlais – who beat Gavin Cromwell’s dual Stayers’ Hurdle hero at Aintree – was his main market rival in the Grade One feature and the two were always keeping an eye on each other.

The pace, though steady, was set by Gentlemansgame and Vanillier, and Sire Du Berlais went between that pair just as they turned into the straight.

By now Paisley Park had become detached, only to run on again late, as is his wont, and Paul Townend looked confident on Klassical Dream.

The 11-10 favourite hit the front going great guns but then Robbie Power, who had just announced his intention to retire on Friday, came with a rattling late challenge on Ashdale Bob.

There was to be no fairytale ending for Power on this occasion, however, as Klassical Dream held on by a length and a quarter.

Trainers Quotes

“Paul got him lovely and settled and relaxed at the start. Having so few runners in the race was a big help as he was able to settle him on the outside and keep him relaxed,” said Mullins.

“The horse races so much better when he does that. He gets a bit upset but he was very relaxed today in the parade ring, at the start and during the race. He’s maturing as he gets older.

“I’d imagine we’ll go the same route next year. I don’t think we’re going to go over fences, I think it’s easier to keep him sounder that way.”

Ladbrokes Champion Stayers Hurdle
€275,000 guaranteed, 4yo plus, 3m, Class 1
7 ran
Going: Good to Yielding, Yielding in places

1     Klassical Dream 8 11-10 W P Mullins Paul Townend 11/10F
Ashdale Bob 7 11-10 Mrs John Harrington Robbie Power 11/2
Gentlemansgame 6 11-10 M F Morris Rachael Blackmore 10/1
nk Sire Du Berlais 10 11-10 Gordon Elliott Mark Walsh 7/1
Paisley Park 10 11-10 Emma Lavelle Aidan Coleman 7/1
Vanillier 7 11-10 Gavin Cromwell Keith Donoghue 14/1
PU Concertista 8 11-3 W P Mullins Daryl Jacob 9/1
NR 6 Thedevilscoachman 6 11-10 Noel Meade NON RUNNER


Year Horse Age/Wt Owner Trainer Jockey SP
2021 Klassical Dream 7 11-12 Mrs Joanne Coleman W P Mullins Mr P W Mullins 5/1
2020 Abandoned - Covid-19
2019 Unowhatimeanharry 10-11-10 J P McManus H Fry M P Walsh 16/1
2018 Faugheen 10-11-10 Mrs S Ricci Willie Mullins DJ Mullins 11/2
2017 Unowhatimeanharry 9-11-10 J P McManus H Fry N D Fehily 4/1
2016 One Track Mind 6-11-10 Andy Weller W Greatrex Gavin Sheehan 10/1
2015 Jezki 7-11-10 J P McManus Jessica Harrington Mark Walsh 5/2
2014 Jetson 9-11-10 Gerard & Moira McGrath Jessica Harrington Davy Russell 20/1
2013 Quevega 9-11-03 Hammer & Trowel Synd. Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 6/4 Fav
2012 Quevega 8-11-03 Hammer & Trowel Synd. Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 11/10 Fav
2011 Quevega 7-11-05 Hammer & Trowel Synd. Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 8/11 Fav
2010 Quevega 6-11-05 Hammer & Trowel Synd. Willie Mullins Paul Townend 5/2 Fav
2009 Fiveforthree 7-11-10 Olde Crowbars Syndicate Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 5/4 Fav
2008 Blazing Bailey 6-11-10 Three Line Whip Alan King GB Robert Thornton 100/30 Fav
2007 Refinement 8-11-07 Michael Tabor Jonjo O’Neill GB A P McCoy 16/1
2006 Asian Maze 7-11-07 Sheila Moore Tom Mullins Ruby Walsh 8/13 Fav
2005 Carlys Quest 11-11-12 Mrs L Neville Ferdy Murphy GB Keith Mercer 25/1
2004 Rhinestone Cowboy 8-11-12 Sue Magnier Jonjo O’Neill GB Mr J P Magnier 5/2
2003 Holy Orders 6-11-12 Alan McLuckie Willie Mullins Shay Barry 6/1
2002 Limestone Lad 10-11-12 James Bowe James Bowe Paul Carberry 4/6 Fav
*2001 Bannow Bay 6-11-12 Linda Shanahan Christy Roche Charlie Swan 11/8 Fav
2000 Rubhahunish 9-11-11 Lone Star Racing P’ship Nigel Twiston-Davies GB Carl Llewellyn 5/1
1999 Anzum 8-12-00 Old Foresters Partnership David Nicholson GB Richard Johnson 7/1
1998 Derrymoyle 9-12-00 Herb M Stanley Michael Cunningham A P McCoy 10/1
1997 Paddy’s Return 5-11-12 Paddy O’Donnell Ferdy Murphy GB Norman Williamson 100/30
1996 Derrymoyle 7-12-00 Herb M Stanley Michael Cunningham Mark Dwyer 100/30
1995 Derrymoyle 6-11-11 Herb M Stanley Michael Cunningham Mark Dwyer 8/1
1994 Ultra Flutter 7-10-06 Donal Higgins Michael Hourigan Kevin O’Brien 7/2
1993 Always In Trouble 6-10-02 Margaret O’Rourke Michael O’Brien Jason Titley 8/1
1992 Shuil Ar Aghaidh 6-10-01 Mrs P Kiely Paddy Kiely Charlie Swan 2/1 Fav
* Run at Fairyhouse

Odds catcher