Ladbrokes Champion Stayers Hurdle
Grade 1, Punchestown 17:25
€275,000 guaranteed,
4yo plus,
3m, Class 1    
Thursday 27th April 2023

1 Klassical Dream 3/1J
2 Asterion Forlonge 8/1
3 Sire Du Berlais 7/1
9 ran Distances: ½l, nk, 2¼l
Time: 5m 55.90s (slow by 25.90s)

The Willie Mullins-trained Klassical Dream had been given an even lighter campaign this season following a small setback around Christmas but rediscovered his top form back on his favourite track after a low-key effort in the Stayers' Hurdle at the Cheltenham Festival last month.

Only ninth to Sire Du Berlais on that occasion, he reversed form with Gordon Elliott's subsequent Aintree winner, who had to settle for third here, with the Paul Townend-ridden winner's stablemate Asterion Forlonge toughing it out for second having tracked the early pace set by Summerville Boy.

Fourth went to the other joint-favourite Teahupoo, while the big disappointment of the race was Monkfish, who failed to build on his promising comeback effort when second to Asterion Forlonge at Fairyhouse.

Trainers Quotes

“Paul was so cool on him. He was out the back and the minute he got a bit of daylight he locked on and I thought ‘wow this is it’. It was a masterclass in riding again,” said Mullins.

“I’m a bit worried now as going celebrating with Jo (Coleman, owner) is no simple task! We have good nights.

“I think we’ll bring him to Auteuil again. We had a good time there last year (finished second) and a weekend in Paris is never a bad thing.

“Asterion Forlonge ran a cracker and stayed on great at the end. I think hurdling is just too fast for Monkfish, he wants slower ground and bigger fences to maximise jumping.”

Townend said: “His record here is very good. We just held on. I was trying to leave it late and I still managed to get there too soon.

“He hasn’t had the most straightforward of season and all credit to Dave (Casey, assistant trainer) and the gang at home for getting him back here in such good form on that bit of nice ground.

“I was always going to give him the chance to use his speed and take the criticism if I didn’t get there. I thought I’d the quickest horse and I was going to give him every chance. I wasn’t going to get involved that far from home.

“It’s easy riding for Willie in Punchestown. We’ve had a brilliant season and it’s nice to be a part of this massive team – a small part of it – to round of the season here in Punchestown.”

Ladbrokes Champion Stayers Hurdle
€275,000 guaranteed, 4yo plus, 3m, Class 1
9 ran
Going: Good to Yielding

1    Klassical Dream 9 11-10 W P Mullins Paul Townend 3/1J
½ Asterion Forlonge 9 11-10 W P Mullins Mr P W Mullins 8/1
nk Sire Du Berlais 11 11-10 Gordon Elliott Mark Walsh 7/1
Teahupoo 6 11-10 Gordon Elliott Jordan Gainford 3/1J
¾ Ashdale Bob 8 11-10 Mrs John Harrington Keith Donoghue 11/1
6 Summerville Boy 11 11-10 Henry De Bromhead Rachael Blackmore 33/1
shd Meet And Greet 7 11-10 Oliver McKiernan Phillip Enright 10/1
31 Whatdeawant 7 11-10 W P Mullins Sean O'Keeffe 22/1
¾ Monkfish 9 11-10 W P Mullins Danny Mullins 9/2


Year Horse Age/Wt Owner Trainer Jockey SP
2022 Klassical Dream 8 11-10 Mrs Joanne Coleman W P Mullins Paul Townend 11/10F
2021 Klassical Dream 7 11-12 Mrs Joanne Coleman W P Mullins Mr P W Mullins 5/1
2020 Abandoned - Covid-19
2019 Unowhatimeanharry 10-11-10 J P McManus H Fry M P Walsh 16/1
2018 Faugheen 10-11-10 Mrs S Ricci Willie Mullins DJ Mullins 11/2
2017 Unowhatimeanharry 9-11-10 J P McManus H Fry N D Fehily 4/1
2016 One Track Mind 6-11-10 Andy Weller W Greatrex Gavin Sheehan 10/1
2015 Jezki 7-11-10 J P McManus Jessica Harrington Mark Walsh 5/2
2014 Jetson 9-11-10 Gerard & Moira McGrath Jessica Harrington Davy Russell 20/1
2013 Quevega 9-11-03 Hammer & Trowel Synd. Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 6/4 Fav
2012 Quevega 8-11-03 Hammer & Trowel Synd. Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 11/10 Fav
2011 Quevega 7-11-05 Hammer & Trowel Synd. Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 8/11 Fav
2010 Quevega 6-11-05 Hammer & Trowel Synd. Willie Mullins Paul Townend 5/2 Fav
2009 Fiveforthree 7-11-10 Olde Crowbars Syndicate Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 5/4 Fav
2008 Blazing Bailey 6-11-10 Three Line Whip Alan King GB Robert Thornton 100/30 Fav
2007 Refinement 8-11-07 Michael Tabor Jonjo O’Neill GB A P McCoy 16/1
2006 Asian Maze 7-11-07 Sheila Moore Tom Mullins Ruby Walsh 8/13 Fav
2005 Carlys Quest 11-11-12 Mrs L Neville Ferdy Murphy GB Keith Mercer 25/1
2004 Rhinestone Cowboy 8-11-12 Sue Magnier Jonjo O’Neill GB Mr J P Magnier 5/2
2003 Holy Orders 6-11-12 Alan McLuckie Willie Mullins Shay Barry 6/1
2002 Limestone Lad 10-11-12 James Bowe James Bowe Paul Carberry 4/6 Fav
*2001 Bannow Bay 6-11-12 Linda Shanahan Christy Roche Charlie Swan 11/8 Fav
2000 Rubhahunish 9-11-11 Lone Star Racing P’ship Nigel Twiston-Davies GB Carl Llewellyn 5/1
1999 Anzum 8-12-00 Old Foresters Partnership David Nicholson GB Richard Johnson 7/1
1998 Derrymoyle 9-12-00 Herb M Stanley Michael Cunningham A P McCoy 10/1
1997 Paddy’s Return 5-11-12 Paddy O’Donnell Ferdy Murphy GB Norman Williamson 100/30
1996 Derrymoyle 7-12-00 Herb M Stanley Michael Cunningham Mark Dwyer 100/30
1995 Derrymoyle 6-11-11 Herb M Stanley Michael Cunningham Mark Dwyer 8/1
1994 Ultra Flutter 7-10-06 Donal Higgins Michael Hourigan Kevin O’Brien 7/2
1993 Always In Trouble 6-10-02 Margaret O’Rourke Michael O’Brien Jason Titley 8/1
1992 Shuil Ar Aghaidh 6-10-01 Mrs P Kiely Paddy Kiely Charlie Swan 2/1 Fav
* Run at Fairyhouse

Odds catcher