Alanna Homes
Champion Novice Hurdle
horse racing tipster
Grade 1, Punchestown 18:05
€100,000 added,
4yo, 2m 4f,
Class 1   
Friday 3rd May 2019


1 Reserve Tank 13/2
2 Sams Profile 6/1F
3 Eglantine Du Seuil 14/1
11 ran NR: Battleoverdoyen Distances: ½l, 1¾l, 6½l
Time: 4m 50.70s (slow by 12.70s)

Colin Tizzard’s Reserve Tank digs deep to fend off Sam’s Profile

A strong field of 11 runners went to post for the two-and-a-half-mile Grade One, with Martin Brassil's City Island the red-hot favourite at 11/10 as he aimed to follow up his impressive display in the Ballymore Novices' Hurdle at Cheltenham.

The Colin Tizzard-trained Reserve Tank had won his three most recent starts over hurdles, completing his hat-trick with a surprise win at Aintree's Grand National meeting.

With Robbie Power in the saddle, the 13/2 chance headed the chasing pack as Royal Rendezvous led for much of the way, before cruising to the front before the home turn.

The five-year-old looked set to win decisively at the top of the straight, but Sams Profile powered home after the final flight and there was just half a length between the pair crossing the line.

Eglantine Du Seuil fared best of five runners for Willie Mullins in third, with City Island well-beaten in sixth.

Alanna Homes Champion Novice Hurdle (Grade 1)
€100,000 added, 4yo plus, 2m 4f, Class 1
11 ran
Going: Yielding, Good to Yielding in places

Pos D Horse SP Jockey Weight Trainer Age
1st Reserve Tank (IRE) 13/2 R M Power
C L Tizzard 5
2nd ½ Sams Profile 6/1 D N Russell
M F Morris 5
3rd Eglantine Du Seuil (FR) 14/1 J J Burke
W P Mullins 5
4th Tornado Flyer (IRE) 6/1 P Townend
W P Mullins 6
5th Dommage Pour Toi (FR) 20/1 J W Kennedy
H De Bromhead 6
6th City Island (IRE) 11/10f Mr D O'Connor
M Brassil 6
7th Easy Game (FR) 14/1 B Hayes
W P Mullins 5
8th Come To Me (FR) 28/1 D E Mullins
W P Mullins 7
9th 15 Gallant John Joe (IRE) 33/1 B Browne
O McKiernan 6
PU Royal Rendezvous (IRE) 12/1 Mr P W Mullins
W P Mullins 7
NR Battleoverdoyen (IRE) J W Kennedy
G Elliott 6

Year Horse Age/Wt Owner Trainer Jockey SP
2018 Dortmund Park 5-11-10 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott J W Kennedy 16/1
2017 Bacardys 6-11-10 Shanakiel Racing Synd. Willie Mullins Mr Patrick Mullins 10/1
2016 Jer's Girl 4-6-10 John P McManus G P Cromwell Barry Geraghty 11/8 Fav
2015 Nichols Canyon 5-11-10 Andrea & Graham Wylie Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 4/5 Fav
2014 Vautour 5-11-10 Susannah Ricci Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 1/3 Fav
2013 Un Atout 5-11-10 Gigginstown House Stud Willie Mullins Davy Russell 4/6 Fav
2012 Dedigout 6-11-10 Gigginstown House Stud Tony Martin Davy Russell 100/30
2011 Spirit Of Adjisa 7-11-10 Darr, Johnson, Weston & Whitaker Tim Vaughan GB Richard Johnson 16/1
2010 Reve De Sivola 5-11-10 Paul Duffy Diamond P’shp Nick Williams GB Daryl Jacob 9/4 Fav
2009 Mikael D’Haguenet 5-11-10 Susannah Ricci Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 8/11 Fav
2008 Tranquil Sea 6-11-10 Dermot Cox Edward O’Grady Andrew McNamara 7/1
2007 Glencove Marina 5-11-11 John Brennan Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 11/4 Jt Fav
2006 Nicanor 5-11-11 Des Sharkey Noel Meade Ruby Walsh 9/10 Fav
2005 Asian Maze 6-11-07 Sheila Moore Tom Mullins Paul Carberry 6/4 Fav
2004 Sadlers Wings 6-11-12 John J Brennan Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 4/5 Fav
2003 Nobody Told Me 5-11-06 Amber Syndicate Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 9/1
2002 Davenport Milenium 6-11-12 Miriam O’Callaghan Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 100/30
*2001 Colonel Braxton 6-11-12 Sue Magnier Dessie Hughes Kieran Kelly 8/13 Fav
2000 What’s Up Boys 6-12-00 R J B Partners Philip Hobbs GB Richard Johnson 6/1
1999 Native Upmanship 6-12-00 Sue Magnier Arthur Moore Tommy Treacy 8/1
1998 Ballygowan Beauty 6-12-00 Mrs Carmel O’Brien Michael Hourigan Conor O’Dwyer 16/1
1997 Istabraq 5-11-13 J P McManus Aidan O’Brien Charlie Swan 4/11 Fav
1996 Castlekellyleader 7-12-00 E Morrissey Paddy Mullins Tommy Treacy 4/1
1995 Treble Bob 5-11-13 Michael Smurfit Dermot Weld Richard Dunwoody 11/10 Fav
*Run at Fairyhouse

Join Free Racing Tips for FREE today.