Ladbrokes Punchestown Gold Cup
Grade 1, Punchestown
€275,000 guaranteed, 5yo plus,
3m 1f, Class 1      
Wednesday 1st May 2024


1 Fastorslow 7/2
2 Galopin Des Champs 1/2F
3 Hewick 12/1
9 ran Distances: 1¼l, 2¼l, 1½l
Time: 6m 26.70s (slow by 21.70s)

Fastorslow secured a remarkable repeat victory, once again outperforming Galopin Des Champs.

Trained by Martin Brassil, Fastorslow had caused a major upset as a 20-1 outsider in this race last year. However, this time around, he started at shorter odds of 7-2, with Galopin Des Champs as the 1-2 favorite.

Jockey J J Slevin expertly guided Fastorslow, who traveled smoothly behind the early leader, Conflated. As the race intensified, Slevin positioned his mount perfectly, and despite Galopin Des Champs attempting to challenge, Fastorslow maintained control.

With a stylish leap over the final fence, Fastorslow galloped home to secure a one-and-a-quarter-length victory over the dual Cheltenham champion. Hewick, the King George winner, finished strongly to claim third place, two and a quarter lengths behind.

The owners, Sean and Bernardine Mulryan, celebrated the win at their local track, Punchestown, surrounded by friends and family. 

“To win it last year was a bit of a shock, but to win it two years in a row is something that can probably never be repeated again. We have to enjoy every second.

“In a lifetime you could have a hundred horses and never have a horse like him.

“Martin is an extraordinary man to care for a horse and had him spot on today.”


Brassil has trained plenty of high-class horses in the past and sent out a Grand National winner in Numbersixvalverde back in 2006, but he is certain Fastorslow is the best he has trained.

He said: “He’s turned up in just as good a shape (as last year) and possibly even better.

“J J said he was running away with him for the first mile.

“He’s the best horse that I’ve ever had.”

The winner had unseated Slevin seven fences from home at Cheltenham and the rider was thrilled to gain compensation, with Fastorslow registering a third career win over Galopin Des Champs having also beaten him in the John Durkan here in December.

Slevin said: “He’s an absolute monster!

“He’s some horse and is by far the best horse I’ve ever ridden.

“He was actually keen for the first mile and I was very worried about that. He had a bit of a go at the first down the back and came out of my hands, but he’s an absolute machine.

“It was a long way home (from Cheltenham) but, at the end of the day, it is a horse race and you have to move on. There’s a lot of people in worse situations.”

Willie Mullins, meanwhile, felt the winner had simply been the better horse on the day. 

He said: “Fastorslow is always good this time of the year and around this track. J J gave him a very brave ride, he didn’t wait around for our fellow or anything like that – he went out and took the race by the scruff of the neck and it worked for him.

“Our fellow ran a great race and was staying on at the end, so more power to Fastorslow. It’s great for Sean and Bernardine Mulryan and Martin Brassil.

“Paul (Townend) set out to make the running and the race sort of overtook him. There is no point in forcing a horse to make the running and I don’t think he jumped well enough to make the running either.

“I’m happy with what happened and I think the better horse on the day won the race.”

Punchestown Gold Cup
€275,000 guaranteed, 5yo plus, 3m 1f, Class 1
9 ran
Going: Yielding, Good to Yielding in places

1    Fastorslow 8 11-10 Martin Brassil J J Slevin 7/2
Galopin Des Champs 8 11-10 W P Mullins Paul Townend 1/2F
Hewick 9 11-10 John Joseph Hanlon Jordan Gainford 12/1
Gentlemansgame 8 11-10 M F Morris Rachael Blackmore 40/1
5 ½ Appreciate It 10 11-10 W P Mullins Mr P W Mullins 33/1
4 Conflated 10 11-10 Gordon Elliott Jack Kennedy 25/1
Journey With Me 8 11-10 Henry De Bromhead Darragh O'Keeffe 33/1
32 Capodanno 8 11-10 W P Mullins Mark Walsh 33/1
PU Corach Rambler 10 11-10 Lucinda Russell Derek Fox 18/1

Free Racing Tips

Year Horse Age/Wt Owner Trainer Jockey SP

2023 Fastorslow 7 11-10 Martin Brassil J J Slevin 20/1
2022 Allaho 8 11-10 Cheveley Park Stud W P Mullins Paul Townend 6/5F
2021 Clan Des Obeaux 9 11-12 Mr & Mrs P K Barber, G Mason & Sir A Ferguson Paul Nicholls Sam Twiston-Davies 100/30
2020 Abandoned - Covid-19
2019 Kemboy 7-11-10 Kemboy/Brett Graham/Ken Sharp Syndicate Willie Mullins R Walsh 13/8F
2018 Bellshill 8-11-10 Andrea & Graham Wylie Willie Mullins DJ Mullins 4/1
2017 Sizing John 7-11-10 Ann & Alan Potts Limited Mrs J Harrington R M Power 9/10F
2016 Carlingford Lough 10-11-10 J P McManus John Kiely Barry Geraghty 12/1
2015 Don Cossack 8-11-10 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott Paul Carberry 5/2
2014 Boston Bob 9-11-10 Andrea & Graham Wylie Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 5/2 Fav
2013 Sir Des Champs 7-11-10 Gigginstown House Stud Willie Mullins Davy Russell 2/1 Fav
2012 China Rock 9-11-10 Michael O’Flynn Mouse Morris Barry Geraghty 20/1
2011 Follow The Plan 8-11-10 Redgap Partnership Oliver McKiernan Tom Doyle 20/1
2010 Planet Of Sound 8-11-10 Charles Lloyd-Baker Philip Hobbs GB Richard Johnson 14/1
2009 Notre Pere 8-11-10 Tilly Conway Jim Dreaper Andrew Lynch 15/8 Fav
2008 Neptune Collonges 7-11-10 John Hales Paul Nicholls GB Ruby Walsh 9/10 Fav
2007 Neptune Collonges 6-11-12 John Hales Paul Nicholls GB Ruby Walsh 8/1
2006 War Of Attrition 7-11-12 Gigginstown House Stud Mouse Morris Conor O’Dwyer 4/5 Fav
2005 Kicking King 7-11-12 Conor Clarkson Tom Taaffe Barry Geraghty 8/11 Fav
2004 Beef Or Salmon 8-11-12 Joe Craig Michael Hourigan Timmy Murphy 5/4 Fav
2003 First Gold 10-12-00 J P McManus Francois Doumen FR Thierry Doumen 7/4 Fav
2002 Florida Pearl 10-12-00 Violet O’Leary Willie Mullins Barry Geraghty 13/8 Fav
*2001 Moscow Express 9-12-00 John Corr Frances Crowley Barry Geraghty 8/11 Fav
2000 Commanche Court 7-11-09 Dermot Desmond Ted Walsh Ruby Walsh 100/30
1999 Imperial Call 10-11-09 Lisselan Farms Ltd Raymond Hurley Ruby Walsh 8/1
1998 Mahler 8-10-12 English Badminton P’ship Nigel Twiston-Davies GB Carl Llewellyn 5/1
1997 Noyan 7-11-01 C H McGhie Richard Fahey GB Norman Williamson 13/2
1996 Billygoat Gruff 7-11-03 Peter Cooper David Nicholson GB Richard Johnson 7/1
1995 Butches Boy 6-10-07 Bridget Kennedy Pat Fahy Francis Woods 14/1
1994 Merry Gale 6-12-00 Herb M Stanley Jim Dreaper Kevin O’Brien 5/2
1993 Fissure Seal 7-11-01 Delton Syndicate Harry de Bromhead Graham Bradley 7/1
1992 Second Schedual 7-11-00 Hugh McMahon Arthur Moore Richard Dunwoody 12/1
1991 Local Whisper 7-10-07 Mrs Chris Harrington Arthur Bunyan Tommy Carmody 9/4 Fav
1990 Mixed Blends 8-11-00 J Spearman Mouse Morris Charlie Swan 7/4
1989 Super Furrow 9-11-09 Mrs M Marshall Jerry O’Neill Padge Gill 8/1
1988 Doubtful Venture 12-10-07 E Morrissey Paddy Mullins Conor O’Dwyer 12/1
1987 Bankers Benefit 7-10-13 Brigadier B Fowler John Fowler Anthony Powell 6/4 Fav
1986 Daltmore 8-10-01 N Coburn Paddy Mullins Tony Mullins 20/1
1985 Larry’s Latest 8-10-01 Miss A Collen Miss A Collen M Cummins 14/1
1984 Lantern Lodge 7-9-09 Mrs M Farrell Paddy Mullins Tony Mullins 7/2 Fav
1983 Pearlstone 7-10-08 William W Brainard Jnr Paddy Mullins Tony Mullins 3/1 Fav
1982 Fethard Friend 7-10-09 M Aherne Francis Flood Frank Berry 7/4 Fav
1981 Luska 7-10-01 John Brophy Paddy Mullins T V Finn 100/30
1980 Kilbricken Money 11-9-07 Mrs Charmian Hill
*Run at Fairyhouse

Odds catcher