bet365 Gold Cup
Sandown 16:10
Grade 3 Handicap,
£150,000 added, 5yo plus,
3m 4f 166y, Class 1    
Saturday 23rd April 2016

Free Racing Tips

1 The Young Master 8/1
2 Just A Par 20/1
3 Sausalito Sunrise 20/1
4 Southfield Theatre 8/1
5 Druids Nephew 16/1
20 ran Distances: shd, 2¼l, 4l
TIME 7m 25.65s (slow by 10.65s)

The Young Master wins the Bet365 Gold Cup and Paul Nicholls wins the British Trainers Title, as his horse Just A Par finished second

The Young Master
The Young Master

The Young Master sprang to prominence as a five-year-old when winning the Badger Ales Trophy at Wincanton but it later transpired he was not qualified to run in the race.

He ended that season running in the RSA Chase and was subsequently bought by prominent owner Robert Waley-Cohen to be ridden by his amateur son, Sam.

Always prominent, there were plenty in with a chance at the Pond fence, including Southfield Theatre, Dynaste and Theatre Guide, but The Young Master pulled out more.

The 8-1 winner held Just A Par by a short head with top weight Sausalito Sunrise third and Southfield Theatre fourth.

Waley Cohen said: "He's a wonderful horse and it's an honour and a privilege to be riding him.

"He's a thrill, he's an amateur's ride - you just keep kicking and you've got to be brave and ride him with courage.

"I didn't know I'd got there going up the hill, I was throwing everything at him, but he responded."

Mulholland said: "It's a great success for everyone at the yard, a great day.

"He's a great horse for this race, he's been a good servant for the yard.

"We've had a great season and this is the icing on the cake."

Bet365 Gold Cup Chase
£150,000 added, 5yo plus, 3m 4f 166y, Class 1
20 ran

Going: Good, Good to Soft in places

Pos D Horse SP Jockey Weight Trainer Age
1st The Young Master 8/1 Mr S Waley-Cohen (3)
N P Mulholland 7
2nd sh Just A Par (IRE) 20/1 Harry Cobden (5)
P F Nicholls 9
3rd Sausalito Sunrise (IRE) 20/1 R Johnson
P J Hobbs 8
4th 4 Southfield Theatre (IRE) 8/1 Sam Twiston-Davies
P F Nicholls 8
5th The Druids Nephew (IRE) 16/1 D F O'Regan
N P Mulholland 9
6th 1 Hadrian's Approach (IRE) 10/1 Nico de Boinville
N J Henderson 9
7th 6 Oscar Rock (IRE) 25/1 Joshua Moore
J M Jefferson 8
8th Theatre Guide (IRE) 11/1 P J Brennan
C L Tizzard 9
9th ¾ Dynaste (FR) 20/1 T Scudamore
D Pipe 10
10th Saint Are (FR) 25/1 Wayne Hutchinson
T R George 10
11th nse Carole's Destrier 12/1 N D Fehily
N P Mulholland 8
12th 5 Measure-ofmydreams (IRE) 15/2 B J Cooper
W P Mullins 8
13th 13 Seventh Sky (GER) 50/1 G Sheehan
C J Mann 9
14th Spring Heeled (IRE) 20/1 B T O'Connell
J H Culloty 9
15th 2 Drop Out Joe 33/1 Aidan Coleman
C E Longsdon 8
16th 8 Gold Futures (IRE) 25/1 B P Harding
N G Richards 7
PU Sir Des Champs (FR) 20/1 D J Mullins (3)
W P Mullins 10
PU Le Reve (IRE) 16/1 Harry Skelton
Mrs L Wadham 8
F Bishops Road (IRE) 20/1 J E Moore
Kerry Lee 8
UR Henri Parry Morgan 5/1f Sean Bowen
P Bowen 8