bet365 Mile
Group 2, Sandown 15:30
£95,000 added,
4yo plus,
1m 14y, Class 1  
Friday 28th April 2017

Free Racing Tips

1 Sovereign Debt 9/2J
2 Gabrial 10/1
3 Jallota 10/1
9 ran NR: Mondialiste Distances: ½l, 1½l, nk
Time: 1m 44.24s (slow by 4.74s)

Northern raiders dominated the bet365 Mile as Sovereign Debt held off the late thrust of Gabrial at Sandown.

Sovereign Debt
© Racehorse Photos

Sovereign Debt
Having won on All-Weather Finals Day at Lingfield on just his second run for Ruth Carr, this was a stiffer task but the result barely looked in doubt.

Sent off the 9-2 joint-favourite, the grey sat just off the pace before James Sullivan kicked, taking two lengths out of the field a furlong out, and that proved decisive.

Richard Fahey's Gabrial lunged late but went down by half a length, with the same back to Jallota.

The eight-year-old became the oldest winner in the race's history.

Carr said: "We didn't dare hope we could come back down south and do the business again in a better race.

"Lingfield was our aim when he came to me, but he came out of that so well he was no good standing at home.

"He is such an old pro we can travel him wherever we want with him. We have the options of looking aboard, which we will do."

Sullivan said: "I'm two for two at Sandown and two from two on him, he did it very well. He travelled, he loved the ground being a bit softer and did it well in the end.

"He showed a good attitude, I was in front a bit soon but he stuck on well."

Horses 468x60 Jpg

bet365 Mile (Group 2)
£95,000 added, 4yo plus, 1m 14y, Class 1
9 ran
Going: Good

Pos Dr D Horse SP Jockey Weight Trainer Age
1st (8) Sovereign Debt (IRE) 9/2j J P Sullivan
Mrs R Carr 8
2nd (7) ½ Gabrial (IRE) 10/1 L Dettori
R A Fahey 8
3rd (1) Jallota 10/1 J P Spencer
C Hills 6
4th (4) nk Opal Tiara (IRE) 22/1 G Lee
M R Channon 4
5th (3) Mitchum Swagger 14/1 T P Queally
D R Lanigan 5
6th (6) Cougar Mountain (IRE) 5/1 R L Moore
A P O'Brien 6
7th (10) Dawn Of Hope (IRE) 5/1 Andrea Atzeni
R Varian 4
8th (5) hd Kool Kompany (IRE) 9/2j P J Dobbs
R Hannon 5
9th (9) 7 Tashweeq (IRE) 6/1 Jim Crowley
J H M Gosden 4
NR (2) Mondialiste (IRE) D Tudhope
D O'Meara 7