Bet365 Charlie Hall Chase
Grade 3 Handicap, Wetherby 15:15
£100,000 added,
5yo plus,
3m 45y, Class 1    
Saturday 4th November 2017

1 Bristol De Mai 6/1
2 Blaklion 5/1
3 Definitly Red 8/1
8 ran NR: Double Shuffle, VirgilioDistances: ½l, 23l, 20l
Time: 6m 28.20s (slow by 31.20s)

Nigel Twiston-Davies' Bristol De Mai beats stable companion Blaklion

Bristol De Mai
© Racehorse Photos
Bristol De Mai

Prior to the race, all the talk concerned 2015 Gold Cup winner Coneygree and the ever-popular Cue Card but neither horse managed to finish.

Coneygree made an error at the third fence and jumped erratically after that, while Cue Card had just moved into contention on the second circuit when he took a crashing fall.

Coneygree's jockey Nico De Boinville and Paddy Brennan on Cue Card were inclined to blame the low sun. Both horses were sound, apart from an overreach to Coneygree.

Bristol De Mai (6-1) was always travelling sweetly for Daryl Jacob in the soft ground he loves but he had to fight hard with a 6lb penalty to see off Blaklion by half a length. Definitly Red was beaten a long way back in third. 

The Naunton handler, who was winning the Charlie Hall for a record fifth time, said: "Bristol De Mai doesn't turn seven for a few weeks so he should be coming into his own this season, which is amazing given what he has already achieved. 

"It will be the Betfair (Chase, Haydock) next for him. He should get his soft ground and he likes it there.

"He was always travelling and I was just very happy with him.

"Blaklion pleased me, too. He was getting 6lb so the handicapper shouldn't be putting him up.

"That should leave him spot-on for the Becher Chase (Aintree)."

Jacob received a two-day whip ban (November 18-19) for not giving his mount time to respond. The dates coincide with Cheltenham's BetVictor Gold Cup meeting but he can ask to serve the ban on other days. 

© Racehorse Photos

Connections of Coneygree were left dejected by the injury-plagued chaser's latest setback. 

Assistant trainer Sara Bradstock said: "He simply frightened himself at the ditch. He doesn't do that normally and after that Nico said he was just scared. 

"He pulled him up because he simply wasn't jumping like he normally does and he wasn't going to win. He is the best jumper in the world normally so something wasn't right. 

"Thankfully he seems fine, he's got a little cut but nothing serious.

"Nico said the sun was very bright and it might be that he didn't see the fence. 

"We'll go back to the drawing board now and try and get schooling him on the grass. We've only been able to do it on the all-weather up to now." 

Colin Tizzard reported Cue Card to be none the worse for his fall.

He said: "He's OK, that's the main thing, and so is Paddy (Brennan).

"He moved upsides just as the real race was starting and he just got it all wrong, which he has done in the past."

Brennan added: "He couldn't see the fence. He just took his eye off it and at this level you can't do that.

"The further he went the better he travelled but early on he wasn't enjoying the ground so I rushed him up and then got there a bit sooner than I wanted."

Bet365 Charlie Hall Chase
£100,000 added, 5yo plus, 3m 45y, Class 1
8 ran
Going: Soft

Pos D Horse SP Jockey Weight Trainer Age
1st Bristol De Mai (FR) 6/1 D A Jacob
N A Twiston-Davies 6
2nd ½ Blaklion 5/1 G Sheehan
N A Twiston-Davies 8
3rd 23 Definitly Red (IRE) 8/1 Danny Cook
B Ellison 8
4th 20 Vieux Lion Rouge (FR) 25/1 T Scudamore
D Pipe 8
5th 15 Shantou Flyer (IRE) 40/1 Adam Wedge
Richard Hobson 7
PU Coneygree 7/4f Nico de Boinville
M Bradstock 10
PU Village Vic (IRE) 33/1 R Johnson
P J Hobbs 10
F Cue Card 5/2 P J Brennan
C L Tizzard 11
NR Double Shuffle (IRE) A P Heskin
T R George 7
NR Virgilio (FR) Harry Skelton
D Skelton 8

The bet365 Charlie Hall Chase - Roll of Honour
2016 Irish Cavalier  7-11-06 Andrew McIver   Rebecca Curtis Jonathan Moore 16/1 7
2015 Cue Card   9-11-00 Jean Bishop   Colin Tizzard Paddy Brennan 11/4F 7
2014 Menorah   9-11-10 Diana Whateley   Philip Hobbs Richard Johnson 8/1 7
2013  Harry Topper   6-11-06 D J Keyte    Kim Bailey Jason Maguire  5/1  7
2012  Silviniaco Conti   6-11-05 Chris Giles & Potensis Ltd   Paul Nicholls Ruby Walsh  11/10F  6
2011  Weird Al    8-11-06 Brannon Dennis Dick Holden   Donald McCain Timmy Murphy  7/1  7
2010  Nacarat     9-11-00 Simon Clarke   Tom George Sam Thomas  6/1  8
2009  Deep Purple   8-11-05 Paul Green   Evan Williams Paul Moloney  9/2  5
2008  State Of Play  8-11-00 William & Angela Rucker   Evan Williams  Paul Moloney  5/2F 6
2007  Ollie Magern  9-11-00 Roger Nicholls   Nigel Twiston-Davies Paddy Brennan  11/4 7
2006  Our Vic    8-11-10 David Johnson    David Pipe  Timmy Murphy  6/1  10
2005  Ollie Magern   7-11-05 Roger Nicholls   Nigel Twiston-Davies Carl Llewellyn  11/4F  8
2004  Grey Abbey   10-11-06  Ken & Elinor Roper, Norman Furness  Howard Johnson  Graham Lee  5/1  6
2003  Ballybough Rasher  8-11-00 Comtake-Welding Engineering Specialists Howard Johnson  Graham Lee  40/1  6
2002  Marlborough   10-11-00  Sir Robert Ogden   Nicky Henderson Mick Fitzgerald  7/2  8
2001  Sackville    8-11-05 Seamus O'Farrell   Frances Crowley IRE David Casey  5/1  9
2000  See More Business  10-11-12  Paul Barber   Paul Nicholls Mick Fitzgerald  1/3F  4
1999  See More Business 9-11-12 John Keighley & Paul Barber   Paul Nicholls Mick Fitzgerald  11/4JF  6
1998  Strath Royal   12-11-03  Lady Anne Bentinck  Owen Brennan Martin Brennan  14/1  5
1997  One Man    9-11-10 John Hales   Gordon Richards Richard Dunwoody  4/7F  4
1996  One Man    8-11-10 John Hales   Gordon Richards Richard Dunwoody 8/11F  4
1995  Barton Bank   9-11-02 Jenny Mould   David Nicholson Adrian Maguire  8/15F  3
1994  Young Hustler   7-11-10 Gavin Macechern   Nigel Twiston-Davies Carl Llewellyn  8/1  7
1993  Barton Bank   7-11-02 Jenny Mould   David Nicholson Adrian Maguire  12/1  7
1992  Tipping Tim   7-11-02 Jenny Mould   Nigel Twiston-Davies Carl Llewellyn  11/4  7
1991  Celtic Shot   9-11-10 D E H Horton   Charlie Brooks Graham Bradley  4/5F  6
1990  Celtic Shot   8-11-02 D E H Horton   Charlie Brooks Peter Scudamore  7/4F  7
1989  Durham Edition   11-11-02  Robert Oxley   Arthur Stephenson  Alan Merrigan  33/1  7
1988  High Edge Grey   7-11-02 J B Stone    Ken Oliver Tim Reed 13/2  10
1987  Cybrandian   9-11-02 Ian Bray    Peter Easterby Chris Grant  7/4 4
1986  Forgive'n Forget   9-11-10 T Kilroe & Sons Ltd  Jimmy FitzGerald Mark Dwyer  5/2  6
1985  Wayward Lad   10-11-06  Mrs S N Thewlis   Monica Dickinson Graham Bradley  EvensF  4
1984  Burrough Hill Lad   8-11-09 Stan Riley   Jenny Pitman Phil Tuck 10/11JF  4
1983  Wayward Lad   8-11-10 Mrs S N Thewlis   Michael Dickinson  Robert Earnshaw  1/3F  3
1982  Righthand Man   5-11-07 Mrs M Haggas   Michael Dickinson  Graham Bradley 11/10F  10
1981  Gay Return   6-11-10 Mrs R Quinn   Edward O'Grady IRE Tommy Ryan  12/1  11
1980  Manton Castle   6-11-09 Mrs M Pett   Maurice Camacho Gordon Holmes  16/1  9
1979  Sparkie's Choice   6-11-09 Mrs P Brewitt   Neville Crump Colin Hawkins  9/2  8
1978  Fighting Fit   6-11-09 Mrs L Carr   Ken Oliver Ridley Lamb  6/5F  5
1977  Goolagong   7-11-09 H Orde-Powlett   Neville Crump Mr Harry Orde-Powlett 8/1  8
1976  DH Current Gold   5-11-07 A Picken    Gordon Richards David Goulding  4/1  9
  Set Point    8-11-09 Lavinia, Duchess Of Norfolk   Lady Herries Tommy Stack  20/1
1975  Davy Lad  5-11-07 Mrs J McGowan   Mick O'Toole IRE Dessie Hughes  2/5F  5
1974  Tamalin     7-11-09 T Metcalfe   Gordon Richards Jonjo O'Neill  9/4  7
1973  Dunrobin  6-11-05 Wing-Commander R Stevenson  Bill Crawford S P Taylor  4/5F  6
1972  Coxswain   7-11-10 Major E Cliff-McCulloch   Arthur Stephenson  Mr Graham Macmillan 4/5F  8
1971  Abandoned - snow and frost
1970  Kildrummy    5-11-07 Mrs M Milne Green  Bill Crawford Ron Barry  100/30  8
1969  Arcturus     8-11-10 Lady Hay    Neville Crump  Pat Buckley 11/4  3