Rowland Meyrick Chase
Grade 3 Handicap, Wetherby 14:10
£45,000 added, 4yo plus,
3m 45y, Class 1  
Thursday 26th December 2019


1 Top Ville Ben 3/1F
2 Didero Vallis 5/1
3 Lake View Lad 6/1
10 ran Distances: 8l, 3¼l, shd
Time: 7m 0.10s (slow by 1m 3.10s)

Ten went to post for this three-mile event.

Lachlan Bridge reluctantly started, but compromised all chance, giving his rivals a distance start.

Up front and with two circuits to race, the leader was Didero Vallis, with Rocco to the inside and Guitar Pete.

At the last down the back for the first time, Jonniesofa went on to the inside and he led the field back towards the home straight, with a two-length advantage over Top Ville Ben, with Didero Vallis to the outside and last year’s winner Lake View Lad, to the inside and within striking distance.

With a circuit to race, Top Ville Ben pressed on into the lead, with his eight pursuers all bunched.

The leader Top Ville Ben took them out of the back with a narrow lead over Jonniesofa and Didero Vallis, with Rocco and Lake View Lad next and Wakanda closing.

Racing into the home straight, Top Ville Ben had a two-length lead again over Jonniesofa.

The leader was challenged by Bennys King and Didero Vallis at the third last, where Jonniesofa blundered out of contention.

Two out and Top Ville Ben rallied and he took the last well, stretching away for a convincing win over Didero Vallis, winning by about eight lengths, with Lake View Lad rallying for third, ahead of Wakanda.

The finish to one of Wetherby’s most important races of the year was sadly marred by Racing TV’s moronic decision to go split screen. 


Rowland Meyrick Handicap Chase
£40,000 added, 4yo plus, 3m 45y, Class 1
10 ran
Going: Soft

1     Top Ville Ben 7 11-11 Philip Kirby Thomas Dowson 3/1F
8 Didero Vallis 6 10-3 Venetia Williams Miss Lucy Turner 5/1
Lake View Lad 9 11-12 N W Alexander Henry Brooke 6/1
shd Wakanda 10 11-6 Sue Smith Danny Cook 20/1
4 Bennys King 8 11-2 Dan Skelton Bridget Andrews 5/1
21 Jonniesofa 9 10-13 Rose Dobbin Craig Nichol 8/1
Guitar Pete 9 10-12 Nicky Richards Ryan Day 7/1
PU Lachlan Bridge 11 10-8 Micky Hammond Miss Becky Smith 100/1
PU I Just Know 9 10-11 Sue Smith Derek Fox 33/1
PU Rocco 6 10-4 Nigel Twiston-Davies Jamie Bargary 7/1