bet365 Charlie Hall Chase
Grade 3 Handicap, Wetherby 15:35
£100,000 guaranteed,
5yo plus,
3m 45y, Class 1    
Saturday 29th October 2022


1 Bravemansgame 2/1
2 Eldorado Allen 11/2
3 Sam Brown 14/1
5 ran NR: Secret Investor ,Win My Wings (
Distances: 3½l, ½l, 9½l

Bravemansgame and Ahoy Senor had clashed on three previous occasions, with the latter having a win over both hurdles and fences to his credit, while Bravemansgame had proved best when the pair clashed in the Kauto Star Novices’ Chase at Christmas.

Ahoy Senor had Bravemansgame 30 lengths back at Aintree in the spring and was duly sent off the 11-10 favourite to come out on top again, with the Paul Nicholls-trained Bravemansgame a 2-1 chance in the hands of Harry Cobden.

Lucinda Russell’s Ahoy Senor bowled along happily in the early stages, with Paint The Dream racing on his heels as he put in a particularly exuberant leap at the first open ditch.

However, when Paint The Dream renewed his challenge five fences from home, Ahoy Senor began to back pedal in the hands of Derek Fox and it was the Harry Cobden-ridden Bravemansgame who was cantering all over his rivals.

Taking it up two from home, Bravemansgame only had to clear the final obstacle to cost home by three and a half lengths from the staying-on Eldorado Allen with Ahoy Senor trailing home last of the five runners.

QuinnBet chopped Bravemansgame to 9-4 for the Ladbrokes King George VI Chase at Kempton on Boxing Day.


Nicholls confirmed the Christmas showpiece is very much the target – and was also in doubt as to the regard in which he holds the winner.

He said: “He as good as any of them (his previous Charlie Hall winners). Cheltenham three and a quarter miles might not be his bag, but to me the King George is absolutely made for him. I’ve left plenty to work on for Kempton and he’s a very smart horse when he’s right.

“He’s one of the best we’ve had on the right track – his record says that, he’s right up there with the best we’ve had.

“You wouldn’t (rule out the Gold Cup) with horses like him, but our aim has been the King George, to get him at his very best for that and after that see where we go.

“He’s the sort of horse that could probably be suited by Leopardstown or Punchestown, there’s some really good races we could go to. I’m not convinced Cheltenham in his track. (But) we’re not thinking about Gold Cups, we’re thinking about the King George.”


Bet365 Charlie Hall Chase
£100,000 guaranteed, 5yo plus, 3m 45y, Class 1
5 ran
Going: Good to Soft, Good in places

1     Bravemansgame 7 11-5 Paul Nicholls Harry Cobden 2/1
Eldorado Allen 8 11-8 Joe Tizzard Brendan Powell 11/2
½ Sam Brown 10 11-6 Anthony Honeyball Aidan Coleman 14/1
Paint The Dream 8 11-6 Fergal O'Brien Connor Brace 28/1
26 Ahoy Senor 7 11-5 Lucinda Russell Derek Fox 11/10F
NR 6 Secret Investor 10 11-2 Paul Nicholls NON RUNNER
NR 7 Win My Wings 9 10-13 Christian Williams NON RUNNER

Horses 468x60 Jpg

The bet365 Charlie Hall Chase - Roll of Honour
2021 Fusil Raffles 
2020 Cyrname 
2019 Ballyoptic 
2018 Definitly Red 
2017 Bristol De Mai  6-11-06 Simon Munir & Isaac Souede   Nigel Twiston-Davies Daryl Jacob 6/1 8
2016 Irish Cavalier  7-11-06 Andrew McIver   Rebecca Curtis Jonathan Moore 16/1 7
2015 Cue Card   9-11-00 Jean Bishop   Colin Tizzard Paddy Brennan 11/4F 7
2014 Menorah   9-11-10 Diana Whateley   Philip Hobbs Richard Johnson 8/1 7
2013  Harry Topper   6-11-06 D J Keyte    Kim Bailey Jason Maguire  5/1  7
2012  Silviniaco Conti   6-11-05 Chris Giles & Potensis Ltd   Paul Nicholls Ruby Walsh  11/10F  6
2011  Weird Al    8-11-06 Brannon Dennis Dick Holden   Donald McCain Timmy Murphy  7/1  7
2010  Nacarat     9-11-00 Simon Clarke   Tom George Sam Thomas  6/1  8
2009  Deep Purple   8-11-05 Paul Green   Evan Williams Paul Moloney  9/2  5
2008  State Of Play  8-11-00 William & Angela Rucker   Evan Williams  Paul Moloney  5/2F 6
2007  Ollie Magern  9-11-00 Roger Nicholls   Nigel Twiston-Davies Paddy Brennan  11/4 7
2006  Our Vic    8-11-10 David Johnson    David Pipe  Timmy Murphy  6/1  10
2005  Ollie Magern   7-11-05 Roger Nicholls   Nigel Twiston-Davies Carl Llewellyn  11/4F  8
2004  Grey Abbey   10-11-06  Ken & Elinor Roper, Norman Furness  Howard Johnson  Graham Lee  5/1  6
2003  Ballybough Rasher  8-11-00 Comtake-Welding Engineering Specialists Howard Johnson  Graham Lee  40/1  6
2002  Marlborough   10-11-00  Sir Robert Ogden   Nicky Henderson Mick Fitzgerald  7/2  8
2001  Sackville    8-11-05 Seamus O'Farrell   Frances Crowley IRE David Casey  5/1  9
2000  See More Business  10-11-12  Paul Barber   Paul Nicholls Mick Fitzgerald  1/3F  4
1999  See More Business 9-11-12 John Keighley & Paul Barber   Paul Nicholls Mick Fitzgerald  11/4JF  6
1998  Strath Royal   12-11-03  Lady Anne Bentinck  Owen Brennan Martin Brennan  14/1  5
1997  One Man    9-11-10 John Hales   Gordon Richards Richard Dunwoody  4/7F  4
1996  One Man    8-11-10 John Hales   Gordon Richards Richard Dunwoody 8/11F  4
1995  Barton Bank   9-11-02 Jenny Mould   David Nicholson Adrian Maguire  8/15F  3
1994  Young Hustler   7-11-10 Gavin Macechern   Nigel Twiston-Davies Carl Llewellyn  8/1  7
1993  Barton Bank   7-11-02 Jenny Mould   David Nicholson Adrian Maguire  12/1  7
1992  Tipping Tim   7-11-02 Jenny Mould   Nigel Twiston-Davies Carl Llewellyn  11/4  7
1991  Celtic Shot   9-11-10 D E H Horton   Charlie Brooks Graham Bradley  4/5F  6
1990  Celtic Shot   8-11-02 D E H Horton   Charlie Brooks Peter Scudamore  7/4F  7
1989  Durham Edition   11-11-02  Robert Oxley   Arthur Stephenson  Alan Merrigan  33/1  7
1988  High Edge Grey   7-11-02 J B Stone    Ken Oliver Tim Reed 13/2  10
1987  Cybrandian   9-11-02 Ian Bray    Peter Easterby Chris Grant  7/4 4
1986  Forgive'n Forget   9-11-10 T Kilroe & Sons Ltd  Jimmy FitzGerald Mark Dwyer  5/2  6
1985  Wayward Lad   10-11-06  Mrs S N Thewlis   Monica Dickinson Graham Bradley  EvensF  4
1984  Burrough Hill Lad   8-11-09 Stan Riley   Jenny Pitman Phil Tuck 10/11JF  4
1983  Wayward Lad   8-11-10 Mrs S N Thewlis   Michael Dickinson  Robert Earnshaw  1/3F  3
1982  Righthand Man   5-11-07 Mrs M Haggas   Michael Dickinson  Graham Bradley 11/10F  10
1981  Gay Return   6-11-10 Mrs R Quinn   Edward O'Grady IRE Tommy Ryan  12/1  11
1980  Manton Castle   6-11-09 Mrs M Pett   Maurice Camacho Gordon Holmes  16/1  9
1979  Sparkie's Choice   6-11-09 Mrs P Brewitt   Neville Crump Colin Hawkins  9/2  8
1978  Fighting Fit   6-11-09 Mrs L Carr   Ken Oliver Ridley Lamb  6/5F  5
1977  Goolagong   7-11-09 H Orde-Powlett   Neville Crump Mr Harry Orde-Powlett 8/1  8
1976  DH Current Gold   5-11-07 A Picken    Gordon Richards David Goulding  4/1  9
  Set Point    8-11-09 Lavinia, Duchess Of Norfolk   Lady Herries Tommy Stack  20/1
1975  Davy Lad  5-11-07 Mrs J McGowan   Mick O'Toole IRE Dessie Hughes  2/5F  5
1974  Tamalin     7-11-09 T Metcalfe   Gordon Richards Jonjo O'Neill  9/4  7
1973  Dunrobin  6-11-05 Wing-Commander R Stevenson  Bill Crawford S P Taylor  4/5F  6
1972  Coxswain   7-11-10 Major E Cliff-McCulloch   Arthur Stephenson  Mr Graham Macmillan 4/5F  8
1971  Abandoned - snow and frost
1970  Kildrummy    5-11-07 Mrs M Milne Green  Bill Crawford Ron Barry  100/30  8
1969  Arcturus     8-11-10 Lady Hay    Neville Crump  Pat Buckley 11/4  3