Ascot Stakes
Handicap, Ascot 17:00
£90,000 added,
4yo plus,
2m 3f 210y, Class 2    
Tuesday 18th June 2019


1 The Grand Visir 12/1
2 Buildmeupbuttercup 7/1
3. Time To Study 16/1
4 Fun Mac 11/1
19 ran NR: The Cashel Man Distances: 1¼l, 3½l, 2¼l
Time: 4m 28.34s (slow by 8.34s)

Topweight The Grand Visir holds off Buildmeupbuttercup for Ian Williams and Richard Kingscote

Bloodstock agent Alex Elliott had a race at Cheltenham in mind for The Grand Visir when he bought him for 170,000gns at Tattersalls' Horses In Training Sale in Newmarket last year.
Elliott, who became part of the team who own the horse, was therefore shocked and emotional after the five-year-old son of Royal Ascot legend Frankel, grabbed a race at Royal Ascot, namely the Ascot Handicap over two and a half miles. The Grand Visir stayed on strongly to hold off Buildmeupbuttercup, Time To Study and Fun Mac by one and a quarter lengths, three and a half lengths and two and a quarter lengths.
Ian Williams trains the winner - who was the mount of Richard Kingscote - and also third home, Time To Study. 
Elliott said of the day he bought The Grand Visir: "I thought he was the best horse in the sale and a half-a-million pound horse, but he failed the scope [veterinary inspection of the horse's airways], despite having won a race the week before.
"We just had to ask ourselves how much the scope could stop him - we thought he was a Supreme Novices' Hurdle or even Champion Hurdle horse. That didn't quite go to plan [the horse unseated once and was then unplaced over hurdles] and here we are now. Quite unbelievable.
"Ian is the master of this type of horse - the best in the country if not the world, which is why I and two friends, my best friends who have done a lot for me, chose Ian to do the training." Other partners in the syndicate include Sky Sport Racing television presenter Gina Bryce.

Trainers Quotes

Williams said: "The hurdling career is not finished, but it is open to interpretation. We ran him back on the Flat at Newbury last month and fortunately he dropped a pound in the handicap which enabled him to get in here, albeit carrying top weight.
"We weren't sure he would stay the trip, but Richard gave him a lovely patient ride which enabled him to get into the race. Turning for home I thought there was only two who were travelling well, The Grand Visir and Time To Study. The winner stayed all the way to the line, but Time To Study probably didn't quite get the trip.
"It's great for Alex who bought him and also has a good share in him, and it's wonderful to have a winner at Royal Ascot. For a son of Frankel to win a race over this distance is pretty unusual, but if anyone can make his progeny slow it's me!"
Williams was then congratulated by his old boss, Martin Pipe, and during a selfie session with the former master of Jump racing, he declared: "When I worked for him he always said I was deaf."
Williams hopes to pull off a stamina-laden, Royal Ascot double this week, for he will saddle Dr Marwan Koukash's Magic Circle in Thursday's G1 Gold Cup.


Ascot Stakes Handicap
£90,000 added, 4yo plus, 2m 3f 210y, Class 2
19 ran
Going: Soft

1 THE GRAND VISIR 5 9-10 12/1
J: Richard Kingscote T: Ian Williams
J: Ryan Moore T: W. P. Mullins, Ireland
3 TIME TO STUDY (FR) 5 9-6 16/1
J: Jim Crowley T: Ian Williams
4 FUN MAC (GER) 8 9-1 11/1
J: P. J. McDonald T: Hughie Morrison
5 1 COEUR DE LION 6 9-3 7/1
J: Thore Hammer Hansen T: Alan King
6 ARCTIC FIRE (GER) 10 9-6 33/1
J: M. Gallagher T: Denis W. Cullen, Ireland
7 2 MANCINI 5 9-1 13/2
J: Silvestre De Sousa T: Jonathan Portman
8 ½ BATTS ROCK (IRE) 6 9-1 8/1
J: Frankie Dettori T: Gordon Elliott, Ireland
9 ¾ YABASS (IRE) 4 9-1 50/1
J: Hollie Doyle T: Archie Watson
10 1 NOT NEVER 7 9-5 22/1
J: Harry Bentley T: Gary Moore
11 ¾ KEROSIN (GER) 8 9-3 16/1
J: Oisin Murphy T: Denis Hogan, Ireland
12 10 MENGLI KHAN (IRE) 6 9-6 8/1
J: R. P. Cleary T: Gordon Elliott, Ireland
13 7 SNOW FALCON (IRE) 9 9-9 10/1
J: Colin Keane T: Noel Meade, Ireland
14 nk PERCY STREET 6 9-5 66/1
J: Finley Marsh T: David Pipe
15 JUKEBOX JIVE (FR) 5 9-3 33/1
J: Dougie Costello T: Jamie Osborne
16 20 GUNNERY (FR) 6 9-2 16/1
J: Jamie Spencer T: Nicky Henderson
17 7 COSMELLI (ITY) 6 9-2 50/1
J: Daniel Muscutt T: Gay Kelleway
MIXBOY (FR) 9 9-2 28/1
J: Paul Mulrennan T: Keith Dalgleish
ULSTER (IRE) 4 9-2 20/1
J: Edward Greatrex T: Archie Watson




2017 THOMAS HOBSON Willie Mullins IRE Ryan Moore Susannah Ricci 7-9-10 4/1F
2016 JENNIES JEWEL Jarlath Farley IRE Ronan Whelan Andrew McIntyre 9-9-03 6/1
2015 CLONDAW WARRIOR Willie Mullins IRE Ryan Moore Act D Wagg Syndicate 8-9-00 5/1F
2014 DOMINATION Charles Byrnes IRE Fran Berry Carol Cleary 7-9-07 12/1
2013 WELL SHARP Jonjo O’Neill Fran Berry J P McManus 5-9-10 9/1
2012 SIMENON Willie Mullins IRE Ryan Moore Wicklow Bloodstock Limited 5-9-10 8/1
2011 VEILED Nicky Henderson Eddie Ahern Pump & Plant Services Ltd 5-9-03 11/2
2010 JUNIOR David Pipe Seb Sanders Middleham Park Racing LI 7-9-00 17/2
2009 JUDGETHEMOMENT Jane Chapple-Hyam Richard Hughes Gordon Li 4-9-05 13/2
2008 MISSOULA Suzy Smith Sam Hitchcott M Weaver & Pollards Bloodstock 5-9-00 20/1
2007 FULL HOUSE Paul Webber Jimmy Fortune Chamberlain Addiscott Partnership 8-9-01 20/1
2006 BADDAM Mick Channon Ian Mongan Noel Martin 4-9-02 33/1
*2005 LEG SPINNER Tony Martin IRE Fran Berry Bill Moffett 4-8-12 9/1
2004 DOUBLE OBSESSION Mark Johnston John Egan Ron Huggins, R B Huckerby, Atlantic Racing 4-9-02 25/1
2003 SINDAPOUR Martin Pipe Martin Dwyer Mary Burke 5-8-03 12/1
2002 RIYADH Martin Pipe Kieren Fallon Salah Helaissi 4-9-05 7/1F
2001 COVER UP Sir Michael Stoute Kieren Fallon Lord Weinstock 4-9-10 12/1
2000 BARBA PAPA Tony Martin IRE Johnny Murtagh Glen Devlin 6-9-07 10/1
1999 HIGH AND MIGHTY John Gosden Frankie Dettori Sheikh Mohammed 4-9-06 10/1
1998 SAN SEBASTIAN Michael Grassick IRE Eddie Ahern Ricardo Sanz 4-9-05 16/1
1997 SEA FREEDOM Toby Balding Steve Drowne Bridget Swire 6-8-03 20/1
1996 SOUTHERN POWER Reg Akehurst Olivier Peslier Lucayan Stud 5-9-07 25/1
1995 HARLESTONE BROOK John Dunlop Michael Kinane John Dunlop 5-9-08 6/1
1994 SWEET GLOW Martin Pipe Cash Asmussen Marilyn Fairbrother 7-9-01 14/1
1993 BALASANI Martin Pipe Mark Perrett M D Smith 7-9-01 8/1
1992 GONDOLIER Henry Cecil Pat Eddery Lord Howard de Walden 4-9-09 7/1F
1991 CABOCHON David Morley Willie Carson Sir Piers Bengough 4-8-06 15/2
1990 RETOUCH Paul Cole Michael Roberts Simon Wingfield Digby 4-8-02 12/1
1989 ARIZELOS Guy Harwood Steve Cauthen Athos Christodoulou 4-10-00 4/1F
1988 ZERO WATT Guy Harwood Greville Starkey Sheikh Mohammed 4-9-03 7/2F
1987 INLANDER Reg Akehurst Nicky Adams Jeff Daniels 6-7-07 5/1
1986 RIKKI TAVI Barry Hills Willie Carson Alan Boon 6-7-10 7/2F
1985 MEADOWBROOK Ian Balding Pat Eddery Mrs John A McDougald 4-8-06 9/1
1984 KAYUDEE Jimmy FitzGerald Tony Murray Kenton Utilities & Developments 4-8-09 11/2
1983 RIGHT REGENT Martin Pipe Steve Cauthen S Hindle 5-8-08 6/1
1982 POPSIS JOY Mick Haynes Willie Carson Victor Morley Lawson 7-8-11 5/1
1981ATLANTIC TRAVELLER Bill Watts George Duffield C Campbell Golding 4-7-12 7/1
1980 HEIGHLIN David Elsworth Richard Fox Woodside Engineers 4-7-12 8/1
1979 MON’S BEAU Giles Beeson Walter Swinburn M Vine 4-7-07 14/1
1978 MOUNTAIN CROSS Bill Watts John Lowe Mrs A Leggatt 6-9-11 11/4F
1977 MATINALE Barry Hills Ernie Johnson Mrs Olga Thurston 4-7-08 7/1